Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
I am always excited to see more from Jacqueline Carey and surprised to see her release a paranormal romance/adventure with the generic kick-ass female cover to boot.

I enjoyed this book. It was a departure from the lush world of Kushiel which will remain my most favourite of Ms Carey's writings to date. I found the world of Dark Currents easy to engage with,...
Published 15 months ago by Sas Amaz

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To expensive!!
I do not understand why I had to pay 13.66 for this book. Its an easy read, cute story line but nothing special.I have read many better eBooks at a more reasonable price. I expected something longer and amazing much like her past novels. I have read all of JC's old books and thought they were amazing, but not this one. Very disappointed and out of pocket !
Published 15 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To expensive!!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I do not understand why I had to pay 13.66 for this book. Its an easy read, cute story line but nothing special.I have read many better eBooks at a more reasonable price. I expected something longer and amazing much like her past novels. I have read all of JC's old books and thought they were amazing, but not this one. Very disappointed and out of pocket !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but not great..., 29 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. S. Payne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (Hardcover)
This book is not my usual sort of story but I am always open to trying something new. When I started this book I didn't really know what I was heading for. I'm not sure if this is written for teenagers but I felt that the language and flow of the story was quite simple and easy to follow. The story follows Daisy as she works with local police to help capture criminals, only Daisy captures criminals from the underworld. These underworld criminals can come in all sorts of shapes and sizes from ghouls to fairies and vampires. Overall, I liked the story and this was probably a good introduction to these types of books. It has been left open for further adventures and I will probably check out the next instalment when it's released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always excited to see more from Jacqueline Carey and surprised to see her release a paranormal romance/adventure with the generic kick-ass female cover to boot.

I enjoyed this book. It was a departure from the lush world of Kushiel which will remain my most favourite of Ms Carey's writings to date. I found the world of Dark Currents easy to engage with, well written without being overly descriptive and loved the rich and varied mythological community (Lamia, Mermaids, Werewolves...)

The story wasn't heavy and I didn't feel weighed down emotionally but enjoyed the action and the unravelling of the mystery as well as the humour, although it was somewhat predictable by the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Agent of Hel" series book 1, 5 Jan 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In the charming little resort town of Pemkowet lives Daisy Johanssen. She isn't actually the spawn of Satan as technically her father is Belphegor, a lesser demon and occasional incubus. He managed to have his wicked way with her mother, yet raised in love Daisy tries to steer clear of the seven deadly sins; unwilling to embrace her demonic heritage and unleash Armageddon.

When a young man is found drowned, the family just want to move quickly past the incident and grieve. Yet Daisy has suspicions that this isn't the straightforward case it appears. There are hints that the eldritch (supernatural) community is involved, and as the special liaison between human and eldtrich, plus the fact she has been personally selected by Hel (the Norse Goddess of the dead) as Her agent to enforce Her laws, Daisy and police officer Cody Fairfax (who just happens to be a werewolf and Daisy's secret major crush) are determined to uncover the truth.

The world building is well down. Pemkowet may be a small town, but is has a vast array of supernatural inhabitants; from traditional Norse mythological figures to vampires, and from ghouls to fairies, ogres and nymphs. This author does a good job of incorporating these different supernatural/paranormal elements together. I also thought Daisy an interesting and entertaining leading lady. She is suitably feisty when required, yet the reader soon learns that it's not good if Daisy loses control of her emotions; particularly anger. There are a few love interests introduced, but there are serious obstacles to overcome if Daisy wants something permanent with any of them. I did however expect a punchier plot line. Despite all the magical elements, the investigation to uncover the truth unfurled at a somewhat pedestrian pace. I also think the reader would have benefited from a little more history surrounding Daisy and her connection to Hel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking great read from a beloved author., 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (Hardcover)
I have found most of Ms. Carey's works to be instant classics, so was especially pleased to receive her new work. As a departure from the world of Terre d'Ange, I was in a state of excited anticipation. I was not disappointed. With all of the authors' trademark character development and pithy dialogue, I found that even though I could anticipate parts of the plot, it still had a most satisfying outcome (sorry - no spoilers here!) I look forward to further installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly humorous, though still dark, turn for Carey, 10 Feb 2013
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (Hardcover)
Many authors have a regular style of writing, and sometimes a reputation for something in their novels that may turn off (or turn on) certain types of readers. Jacqueline Carey is best known for the Kushiel series of books (Kushiel's Dart, etc), which I haven't had the pleasure of reading yet. They have a reputation for being sexually-charged, gritty novels with sado-masochistic themes and explicit sex. The last thing I expected to see from Carey is her latest book, Dark Currents, an urban fantasy that not only moves away from the sex (at least slightly) but is also something I never thought I would hear about a Carey book: funny. It's a great change-of-pace novel, and one I really enjoyed.

The Michigan resort town of Pemkowet is a strange place, full of eldritch beings that live side-by-side with normal ("mundane") people: ghouls, werewolves, fairies, nymphs, even vampires. It's also the hometown to an agent of the Norse goddess Hel, Daisy Johanssen. Daisy's father is a demon, so she's already a half-breed. She even has a tail. Working for the local police force as a clerk, she also takes on tasks for Hel that have to do with the supernatural community. When a young college student drowns in the river, signs point to more than just a drowning, and the local police chief asks Daisy to help with the investigation. What was the boy doing on that fateful night? Will Daisy and friends be able to solve the crime before the resort town is shut down by normal humans who are getting tired of co-existing with the supernatural?

Carey is obviously kicking of an urban fantasy series starring Daisy Johanssen. You can tell if a book is in the genre from the covers and set-up: a young woman with some kind of supernatural ability dealing with all of the other weirdness in town, as well as potential romantic issues with at least two other supernatural guys who also help her out. Inevitably, each cover features the good-looking female protagonist featured alone, staring out at the reader from the bookshelf, tempting browsers to pick them up.

Dark Currents follows much the same line, though thankfully Carey avoids the cliché of having a vampire be one of the romantic interests. It's not a surprise that Carey would move into this genre given its current popularity. What is surprising is that she would do so and turn a couple of its conventions on their heads, writing a very good novel using the standard tropes. I don't really like the genre, though I do like some of the series within it. I can see myself following Daisy's story easily.

From the opening page, Carey defied almost everything that I thought I knew about her. I'm wondering what her fans who have read her other books think of this. The jokes start almost from the first paragraph and continue throughout the novel. The subject matter is quite serious, of course, but the tone of the book is that mixture of light and dark that characterizes the genre. The book is told in first-person, and Daisy is a breezy narrator unafraid to mock herself or her perceptions of what's going on.

She's teamed with her childhood crush, a werewolf cop (the werewolf part is a secret, though the police chief does know and accounts for it) named Cody Fairfax. The sexual tension between the two is pretty blatant, even when both know that it could never work between them. The byplay between these two characters, as well as all of the other characters in Dark Currents, is delicious. Carey has a way with funny dialogue that I never would have expected.

The world-building is solid, though I understand that's also one of her strengths from her other series. The interplay between the mundane and eldritch communities includes a society of ghouls that feed off of the strong emotions of humans, fairies that inhabit the river that flows next to town, and so much else. It's inventive and a joy to read.

Only a couple of small things bring down what otherwise is a great opening entry into the series. Most can probably be attributed to Carey trying to create the world she's writing in. Some spots in the book slow down to a crawl with sequences that have little to nothing to do with the plot of the book itself. They're not even really character development, but instead illustrate how Carey's world works. That's not bad in itself, but in this book, they do get a bit annoying. They may pay off in future novels, or they may just be background. If an author is going to incorporate that, at least make it interesting. Carey doesn't succeed in that here.

Overall, Dark Currents is a wonderful novel, playful and fun though with dark themes. Carey keeps the tone balanced and believable, allowing readers to laugh at one point and be horrified by the truth at another. If this is an example of how Carey's new series is going to go, consider me along for the ride.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book Dave Roy, 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A walk on the gentle wild side, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read previous work by Carey and with the exception of one duff book, found her work entertaining and readable. It's a gentler book than the Naamah's series with the sex simmering below the surface but not in a overly sloppy way, it could so easily degenerate into "teen vampire" mode but thankfully stays just the right side of this (for me!). I found some of the concepts behind the eldritch characters behaviours fascinating and look forward to them being developed. Reminded me of the way Tchaikovsky introduces new apt characteristics based on insect behaviour that is recognisable and, well, apt.

Will buy the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great urban fantasy, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (Hardcover)
I loved Jacqueline Carey's Kushiel series, and this book promises to be the start of another fantastic series.
If you are a fan of the Jim Butcher, Mike Shevdon and Ben Aaronovich's style of urban science fiction, then this book certainly will not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start to a new series, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Theophania Elliott "Theophania Elliott" (Somewhere on this planet, honestly.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dark Currents: Agent of Hel (Hardcover)
From Amazon.com's product description:

Jacqueline Carey, New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Kushiel's Legacy novels, presents an all-new world featuring a woman caught between the normal and paranormal worlds, while enforcing order in both. Introducing Daisy Johanssen, reluctant hell-spawn...

The Midwestern resort town of Pemkowet boasts a diverse population: eccentric locals, wealthy summer people, and tourists by the busload; not to mention fairies, sprites, vampires, naiads, ogres and a whole host of eldritch folk, presided over by Hel, a reclusive Norse goddess.

To Daisy Johanssen, fathered by an incubus and raised by a single mother, it's home. And as Hel's enforcer and the designated liaison to the Pemkowet Police Department, it's up to her to ensure relations between the mundane and eldritch communities run smoothly.

But when a young man from a nearby college drowns--and signs point to eldritch involvement--the town's booming paranormal tourism trade is at stake. Teamed up with her childhood crush, Officer Cody Fairfax, a sexy werewolf on the down-low, Daisy must solve the crime--and keep a tight rein on the darker side of her nature. For if she's ever tempted to invoke her demonic birthright, it could accidentally unleash nothing less than Armageddon.

OK, what did I think of it?

It's not as dark as I expected from Jacqueline Carey, but this is not necessarily a bad thing. I enjoyed the book (hence five stars!) as it is. The above plot summary calls Daisy 'Hel's enforcer', which I don't think is accurate - she's more of a liaison, although in this book Hel makes it clear that her duties go beyond diplomacy.

Pemkowet is an interesting invention: in Daisy's world, some towns have a magical element, and others do not. So Pemkowet has a magical tourist trade, of visitors coming from more mundane towns eager to see a glimpse of the eldritch. However, the magical community is not all about rainbows and unicorns - most if its denizens are dangerous in some way - and careless tourists can get hurt, or killed. You also have the prejudice of the mundane against the eldritch - many of the inhabitants of the neighbouring (non-magical) town, Appeldoorn, want Pemkowet's magical element destroyed.

Daisy herself is an attractive protagonist; we are not told for how long she has been Hel's liaison with the mortal world, but one gets the impression it either isn't very long, or it hasn't been very eventful so far. This is Daisy's first big problem, it seems, and we see her getting to grips with it. She's young enough to be excited by the prospect of working on 'real police work', rather than filing, but is smart enough to know that this isn't a game. Her interaction with Cody the werewolf is well-written; unlike many urban fantasy heroines, she doesn't completely make a fool of herself, and towards the end of the book we see the schoolgirl crush being replaced by an adult friendship. There are also a couple of other handsome males introduced, so I think we can expect Carey to do something with them in future books.

The secondary characters are also well written: her best friend, Jen, who is non-magical and therefore Daisy has to decide whether or not to keep the secrets of the magical community from her. The police chief, who is non-magical but committed to doing the best he can for all the residents of his town - a relief to see a police chief who is committed to his job, not to the furtherance of his political career.

Some of the urban fantasy stereotypes are there (one can see the love triangle, or polygon of one's choice, forming up already) but Carey has stayed away from others. It's nice to have a heroine who isn't a badass lone-wolf type with the social skills of a bull in a china shop. Daisy wasn't born in Pemkowet, but she was conceived and grew up there, and she's well-known in the town. Her mother lives in the town, and she has friends (and schoolgirl-enemies) there. This means that she comes across as a lot more of an ordinary (for hell-spawn) young woman than some kind of superhero.

The plot is a good one; it moves along at a brisk pace, and when the mystery is solved events are revealed that have a certain horrible plausibility. The nature of what happened makes me wonder where Carey is going to take this series, since a number of issues were brought up that would be very interesting indeed if developed. It wasn't as deep and multifaceted as some of Carey's other writing, but then, this book is much shorter. I'm hoping that the complexity will build through the series, and there are signs that this is is a possibility.

In conclusion, therefore, Jacqueline Carey has proved that she most certainly can write urban fantasy. I shall be looking out for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dark Currents: Agent of Hel
Dark Currents: Agent of Hel by Jacqueline Carey (Hardcover - 2 Oct 2012)
15.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews