Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Another win from Anne Bishop
This is the third book set in the world of Ephemera, which gave us Sebastien and Belladona! In true Bishop style, it's emotionally charging, heart-felt and a page turner. I love Anne Bishop's stories. She manages to take me in the minds and hearts of her characters that I can't help but fall in love with them. Lee, Belladona's brother is still dealing with the changes in...
Published on 8 Sep 2012 by D. Garland

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Landscapes of Ephemera" series book 3
Following the events in book 2 "Belladonna", everyone is trying to come to terms with what has happened to Glorianna Belladonna and the impact this has on her family and loved ones. Particularly affected by the change in his sister is Lee, and soon his heart's wish to escape the proximity of Glorianna and not see her is manifested in an unlikely way by a world that...
Published 7 months ago by Book Addict


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb! Another win from Anne Bishop, 8 Sep 2012
This is the third book set in the world of Ephemera, which gave us Sebastien and Belladona! In true Bishop style, it's emotionally charging, heart-felt and a page turner. I love Anne Bishop's stories. She manages to take me in the minds and hearts of her characters that I can't help but fall in love with them. Lee, Belladona's brother is still dealing with the changes in his sister as a result of her battle with the Eater of the World. Almost feeling like a fourth wheel amongst the bond that Belladona has with Michael and Sebastien, Lee doesn't know what he wants, or even what he feels. During this emotional turmoil, he finds himself in the middle of new troubles, and would do anything to protect his sister's landscapes. He is faced with choices that not only give him answer to his emotions, but also give him hope that perhaps his life is not as limited, or as restricted as he thought.

This is a must read for all Anne Bishop's fan, and if you have never read any of her work, now is the time to start. But check out earlier books first. While they are all stand-alone, it would be much better experience to read them from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm an Anne Bishop fan., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great addition to the Ephemera stories which almost approach the excellence of the 'Black Jewels' series. Anne Bishop's imagination truly brings new concepts and her prose flows so smoothly making her a pleasure to read. I would thoroughly recommend to all fantasy enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite author, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once I read one of book could not wait for the next one .Have read all her books on the black Jewels series even stayed up and forced myself to stay awake to finish one and then was disappointed that it was over and I had to wait for the next one to be released
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good continuation of this series, 7 July 2013
By 
Carol Evelin (Misery, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Dreams (Ephemera) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lee's story is the subject of this book and carries on the good work of the previous ones. I like the way Ephemera seems to be changing as different people get added to the character list. I'm not that convinced by the 3 are 1 idea, it didn't really work for me, but certainly added an unusual dimension to the storyline. I would have preferred that The Voice was put before the main story and that the characters in it had been named as it took me a while to work out who the character was who was telling the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "The Landscapes of Ephemera" series book 3, 3 Mar 2014
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Following the events in book 2 "Belladonna", everyone is trying to come to terms with what has happened to Glorianna Belladonna and the impact this has on her family and loved ones. Particularly affected by the change in his sister is Lee, and soon his heart's wish to escape the proximity of Glorianna and not see her is manifested in an unlikely way by a world that listens to your wishes and can thrust you into a new world that reflects your desires.

Several new landscapes are introduced, the most intriguing being Tryadnea and its unique population. I say unique as the trio of personalities sharing the same core but manifesting as 3 different individuals are a new introduction in the world of Ephemera; however this has been done before (my favourite being Fate in Piers Anthony's "Incarnations of Immortality" series). Sholeh Zeela a Zhahar is trying to save her country of Tryadnea; attempting to keep it stable by linking to another landscape. She is the last Triad to remain in Vision City and should she leave, Tryadnea will lose its anchor and become adrift. Yet there are whispers of a 3 faced demon in the city, and suddenly the 3 sisters aren't safe anymore. When an old enemy begins a new wave of corruption, wishes result in Lee meeting Sholeh Zeela a Zhahar and falling in love with her Zhahar aspect. I predominantly liked the new characters introduced and thought they melded well with the established cast, yet the Sholeh aspect of Sholeh Zeela a Zhahar is remarkably childlike, ineffectual and sulky compared to her stronger siblings Zeela and Zhahar. As a result, she tainted my overall opinion of this new leading lady.

This series is a little hard work for me, but I pursue it because I love this author's "Realms of the Blood" books so much. It continues to be a complex read with some new characters that certainly add to the plot. The ideas are again strange, with the usual undertones of dark humour and hints of playfulness as Ephemera responds to certain conversations (how Ephemera warns Glorianna and co. of danger immediately springs to mind). Expect the level of retribution this author is also known to dish out, yet it is not Glorianna Belladonna who is responsible for the more gory deaths in this book. 3½ stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 19 Sep 2013
By 
S. Finn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bridge of Dreams (Ephemera) (Mass Market Paperback)
Lovely conclusion to an enjoyable trilogy. I would recommend these books to anyone who has enjoyed Anne Bishop's other novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bridge of Dreams (Ephemera)
Bridge of Dreams (Ephemera) by Anne Bishop (Mass Market Paperback - 2 May 2013)
£5.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews