Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Done it Again
Yes! Taylor Anderson has done it again, producing yet another "can't put it down" page turner. This is the 6th outing for the 1941 Destroyermen of USS Walker who have been transported to a very different but sometimes familiar Earth. Unfortunately some of their previous enemies (the Japanese) are transported as well and they join the bad guys.

In this book the...
Published on 23 Nov 2011 by J. N. Bullock

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puzzle
Done it again ? I dont know. The promisse of a great writer is still there, the mapwork has definatly improved, the story is imaginative. But...I cought myself putting down the book becuase i got confused over the earlier story, or where a certin person fit in i.e. did this person get in the story with a catalina or submarine or is it an entierly new person ? Maybe a...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Fredrik Johnson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's Done it Again, 23 Nov 2011
By 
J. N. Bullock "JNB" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Yes! Taylor Anderson has done it again, producing yet another "can't put it down" page turner. This is the 6th outing for the 1941 Destroyermen of USS Walker who have been transported to a very different but sometimes familiar Earth. Unfortunately some of their previous enemies (the Japanese) are transported as well and they join the bad guys.

In this book the Americans and their new (and old) allies find themselves at war on two fronts and with an array of new enemies, ranging from giant sea monsters to a fanatical human religious sect.

The twists and turns of the plot are many and varied but the authors skill never leaves the reader wondering about what is going on. Taylor Anderson has shown great creativity and coupled it with an easy style of writing that many authors try for but few achieve.

One warning, this is not a standalone book. Destroyermen is a series and to get the best out of it you do need to read the earlier books in order.

Oh yes! Warning two, this is a very addictive series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great New Entry In The Series, 22 July 2012
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I doubt that anyone thinking of picking up 'Firestorm' will not have already read all the previous books in the Destroyermen series (if you haven't read them then start with Into the Storm (Destroyermen) and work through them in order from there). That being the case all I really need to say is that this latest volume easily maintains the standard of the preceding books.

I will add that Anderson continues to improve as a writer. The prose and structure are better here than in the earlier installments. This makes the reading experience all the more pleasurable.

My only real complaint is that 'Firestorm', rather like a couple of the other books, feels rather like it has been arbitrarily carved out of a far larger story. There is a vague attempt to create a proper finale of sorts, but for the most part the book just ends, with individual stories simply left hanging mid-story, waiting for the next installment. This give the whole book a feeling of incompleteness, and it left me feeling less than satisfied at the conclusion. I understand that this is one part of a continuing story, but some attempt to give each book a feeling of self-containment would be appreciated.

Apart from that, this has more than whetted my appetite for Iron Gray Sea (Destroyermen)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firestorm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
I'm a follower of the saga and enjoying each book, and waiting eagerly for the next ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good romp!!, 9 May 2012
As usual Mr Anderson deliver a good captivating story, the only thing that could be a story wrecker is if the human protagonists becomes even ssmarter, better and luckier than their adversaries. Its a fine line to walk and in my opinion it should not be as if they have a crystalball with wich they can divine all.

Its a really good read and we should hope that it continues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars xmas present, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought for my patner he enjoyed all of the books that i had bought in the series and was well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Puzzle, 12 Jan 2012
By 
Fredrik Johnson "Pop" (Nynaeshamn, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Done it again ? I dont know. The promisse of a great writer is still there, the mapwork has definatly improved, the story is imaginative. But...I cought myself putting down the book becuase i got confused over the earlier story, or where a certin person fit in i.e. did this person get in the story with a catalina or submarine or is it an entierly new person ? Maybe a Persona Dramatis so that one quickly can check up ones hunch. I have sofar read all the books ín the series, and because of how i feel about it, i reread the whole thing, but my confuision stands. Maybe ROC should have an stricter more stringent editor in an overwatch capacity ? I dont know, but as the series now rolls around the whole world, it needs to be firmed up. This got more negative than ment from the start, so i will say this much: i will defently buy the next book i the series . In fact i look forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
tip top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firestorm (Destroyermen)
Firestorm (Destroyermen) by Taylor Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Oct 2012)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews