Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet
The collection of short stories in this book, focusing on Dresden-except for two-are excellent examples of just how madcap and dangerous, as well as how funny, in an almost demented way, Dresden's world and life are. An early case, before he became a Private Detective officially, sees him working with a former Partner who's teaching him the ropes. Unfortunately, in this...
Published on 20 Dec 2010 by Jon Doe

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Dresden fans only
Okay as a fan of the series i still struggled to complete this book. though it does state that these are first attempts and hastly written stories they do not have the polish of the main series. If you have read the dresden files i would highly recommend this book as a back story to various incidents mentioned in passing through out the series. i would give four stars for...
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by Nighthawk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 20 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Side Jobs (Dresden Files) (Hardcover)
The collection of short stories in this book, focusing on Dresden-except for two-are excellent examples of just how madcap and dangerous, as well as how funny, in an almost demented way, Dresden's world and life are. An early case, before he became a Private Detective officially, sees him working with a former Partner who's teaching him the ropes. Unfortunately, in this case its involved him in the search for an eleven year old girl who's run away from home-and who is about to find out that there really are things which go bump in the night. Thankfully, Dresden is there to bump right back-and a pre-SI Murphy jumps in to help while still a uniformed cop. That's the start. Then Dresden has to deal with the chaos which ensues when he tries to take a day off, an attempt by the Fay to kill the leaders of the Alpha's-his Werewolf friends and allies-someone tampering with Mac's beer-Dresden's favourite-the attack on a live action RPG by a Black Court Vampire and her minions, where Harry has to join up with Thomas Raith-a Vampire playing a Vampire-to save the gamers... He keeps busy, so we keep reading and very much enjoying.

A special treat is the story focusing on Thomas Raith, who has to stop Harry from causing catastrophe, maybe even the end of the world, without even being aware of it-all while making sure Harry never knows it's him doing it. It's always interesting to see Dresden through someone else's eyes and, despite their connection, Thomas Raith is still a White Court Vampire?

Another is a story centering on Karrin Murphy, hours after "Changes", where Murphy has turned up at Harry's new "home"-a boat-dressed and made up for a Date with Harry, only to discover blood everywhere and Harry missing. SI get involved and pull every string they can to find out if Dresden's alive or dead, but Murphy-Suspended and almost certain to loose her job as of "Changes"-is unable to stay and help. However, when she gets a panicked call from an Alpha stating that his Wife-who's Pregnant-has gone missing, along with two other Alpha's and, worse, he's sure they were taken by force... And Dresden told him to call Karrin's number if ever he needed help and couldn't reach Dresden himself.

Murphy's obviously been hanging around with Dresden for too long, because she ignores her current predicament, gets out her motorbike and guns and investigates, uncovering a trail which leads to first of all John Marcone, then someone new in town. Only she discovers that, without Dresden, she just might not be enough to put a stop to what's going on-even with the help of the remaining Alpha's. Anyone who likes Murphy NEEDS to read this story to find out just how Murphy's life is likely to turn out after "Changes"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 24 April 2011
As I don't tend to buy anthologies, all but one of these stories were new to me and I enjoyed them all. The stories were varied enough to keep me interested and Harry's character is like an old friend. The final story, "Aftermath", was extremely engaging seeing as it was set directly after the events of the last book "Changes". It didn't contain any spoilers, which was equally a positive thing and frustrating (I can't wait for Ghost Story to come out!. It was told from the previously unseen point of view of Karrin Murphy and I found it refreshing and appreciated the extra insight of a beloved character. All in all a fun collection!

(This is the first review I've written, hope it's ok!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tales of Dresden, 27 Oct 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Side Jobs (Dresden Files) (Hardcover)
Like most successful urban fantasy authors, Jim Butcher has written a number of short stories and novellas over the years. And at long last, they're collected in "Side Jobs: Stories From the Dresden Files" -- all the short stories and novellas that Butcher has penned about his wisecracking wizard, plus some new material.

The stories include "A Restoration of Faith," a prequel story in which Harry tries to rescue a little girl (named Faith -- get it?); "Vignette," which is basically a conversation between Harry and Bob the Skull; "Something Borrowed," in which Billy and Georgia's true-love wedding is turned upside-down by a malevolent fairy; and "It's My Birthday Too," in which Harry follows his brother Thomas to a rather unusual gathering, and immediately runs into vampiric trouble.

"Heorot": a young woman is abducted right before her honeymoon, and Harry has to join forces with Miss Gard to find her. "Day Off": Harry's attempts to relax are thwarted by Slytherin wannabes, supernatural fleas and other problems. "Last Call": Beer starts inexplicably causing riots, and Harry suspects a supernatural cause. "Love Hurts": people are dying after falling madly, passionately in love/lust. And "The Warrior," in which Harry confronts some of the religiously-based problems in his life -- including a certain archangel.

Additionally, there's Butcher's brilliant novella from Thomas Raith's point of view, "Backup," which was previously published by Subterranean Press. Basically Thomas is called on to do some heroic behind-the-scenes stuff against an old enemy, hopefully without his little brother knowing about it.

And then... there's the new, previously unpublished story. "Aftermath" is from Murphy's perspective just after the end of "Changes," as she grapples with the loss of Harry Dresden and the messy Chicago disasters left behind.

I've honestly been waiting years for Jim Butcher to put together a collection of his short stories, some of which were put straight on his website and never included in a book. These stories are like the icing on the cake -- if you've read and enjoyed Butcher's full-length novels, then these mini-adventures will really entertain you.

And most of them have the well-rounded Dresden formula: grotesque supernatural baddies, snappy writing ("The Dim Lord tried for his dramatic dialogue again"), slam-bang magic, and lots of fun genre-savvy jokes (Thomas has "some awfully nerdy hobbies"). But Butcher also inserts some darker stories into the mix -- "Aftermath" is bittersweet and a little painful, and "Backup" has some darker parts when Thomas wrestles with his inner demon.

Butcher also contributes a new foreword to each story, which explains a little about why he wrote it ("Vignette" was something he knocked out for promotion) and for what. F'rinstance, Charlaine Harris is so nice that "I can't even bring myself to be jealous. She's that nice."

Collecting all of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files novellas and short stories (including those not formally published), "Side Jobs: Stories From the Dresden Files" is a must-have for anyone who adores the Chicago wizard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Dresden fans only, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay as a fan of the series i still struggled to complete this book. though it does state that these are first attempts and hastly written stories they do not have the polish of the main series. If you have read the dresden files i would highly recommend this book as a back story to various incidents mentioned in passing through out the series. i would give four stars for fans of the series I have deducted one for the lower quality of the proes and another because new readers would not have a true experience of the characters and quality of writing in the main books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice little bonus to the main series, 24 Oct 2011
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you havent read the rest of the Dresden files series you wont have a clue as to whats happening in this book of short stories- they are scattered at various points between the main books. If you have though they answer all sorts of questions about events in between- and also handily fill time in until next one is published! (NOW PLEASE mr Butcher!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Compendium, 7 July 2011
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a fan of Harry Dresden then chances are you'll enjoy Side Jobs, a compendium of the various Dresden short-stories and novellas Jim Butcher has penned over the years, along with a new piece that bookends Changes (Dresden Files). If you're unfamiliar with Dresden's world or have only read a few of the novels then probably best not to tackle this collection until you've finished Changes as most of the stories are set late on in the series' time-line.

There's nothing here that will rock your world, uber-Dresden-fan or not, but the stories are generally pretty entertaining and offer a different spin on Chicago's favourite fictional wizard. Depending who your favourite supporting character is some stories will appeal more than others. Personally my favourite was 'Heorot' if only because focusing on the very minor character of Ms Gard seemed such an off the wall choice but worked so well. I hope we get to see more of her in future Dresden novels.

Now roll on Ghost Story: A Dresden Files Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dresden review, 28 Jun 2011
By 
Dr. Nicol J. Murray (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unusually, referring to a "collection" of short stories, I found this to be completely in keeping with the style to which, when referring to the Dresden books, I had become accustomed. The whole, presented as stories, came with the same attention to detail as one will find in the full length novels. I delighted in the content and I am sure that for those who enjoy this authors work, a similar level of pleasure will be the reward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new friend Harry., 27 Jun 2011
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
To date, all the reviews on this page have been written by already established fans; allow me to offer a different perspective...
I was in a high-street bookshop idly leafing through the same old sameo, as you do. I lifted a Jim Butcher novel, read the words "wizard", "Harry" and put it back pronto. A certain wizard by that name and the accompanying bandwagon just aren't my cup of Earl Grey. Ten minutes later, some unaccountable force drew me back to the shelf; this time I picked up "Side Jobs". So. A collection of short stories, tales written to slot in with the existing chronicle - what better way to assess a new author and gain a feel for the breadth and depth of his oeuvre?
Half way through the collection I was hooked; I`ve picked up four more volumes and just need "Storm Front" and "Fool Moon", then I`m good to go.
Magic - it can get a guy skint.
I see there is some consternation over the appearance of this volume given that some of the material has appeared elsewhere or at a premium price and I`m sorry to hear that; if it's a cynical marketing device the mojo worked on me - I probably wouldn`t have bothered about Butcher otherwise and I`d have missed out, so I can only recommend this volume - it has been a good introduction to Dresden`s world for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I can never think of a witty title for these things, sorry., 20 April 2011
By 
While I do have many of the short stories that appear in this book I do feel it was a good buy. The various short stories are all excelent, I'd rate them all as 3-5 stars, and give more insight of the Dresdenverse including several aspects that wouldn't fit into a normal Dresden novel. The new novella is superb (5/5) and allows (forces) Murphy into the spotlight. This book is a must for any fan of the Dresden series, but is not a starting point for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great if you need a Dresden fix!, 7 Aug 2014
By 
Read this after Changes as the last story has major spoilers. A good selection of shorts based around the Dresden files. Nothing here is particularly outstanding but each of the stories is well written, solid and the book serves as a great fix if you are a fan.
So why a 4*? Well, with the exception of the first story which is a prequel, there is nothing here really that moves beyond the main series; each is a standalone, and action rather than character driven (even though the focus is on secondary characters - Murphy, Will, Mac, Michael and Thomas).
I particularly enjoyed the author's introduction to each of the tales, explaining the context to each story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Side Jobs (Dresden Files)
Side Jobs (Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher (Hardcover - 26 Oct 2010)
Used & New from: 2.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews