Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2010
This is the third book in this series. The first two were excellent. However, I get the feeling someone was looking over the authors shoulder and saying "how does the reader know that? Can't you add a reference?" And so it begins, the constant reminders about characters, settings etc which makes this read a bit more drawn out than the first two.

It's still a good read, but I am getting fed up of books that keep reminding the reader what's what. Do they think we are all stupid with the attention span and memory of a goldfish? Kevin Anderson's Saga of the Seven Suns did the same after about book 3 or 4. Maybe the book needs to stand on its own, but I'd prefer to read a great series.

Not sure I can be bothered to read beyond book 3 if in the first 100 pages all I get is references back to the previous books with almost no new story.

Sorry, but the book on its own would be great. The series has been great too. But the dumbing down after 2 books, not great.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 April 2010
From the first page to the last Taylor Anderson has created a true gem.

A WW2 destroyer that is swept through a "time warp" into a world that is very very different. The basic story line isn't new, William Forstchen wrote the excellent "Lost Regiment" series some years ago and it has echoes in Destroyermen. This is not a cloned story however and it would do a great dis-service to the author to think that.

Taylor writes in a gritty style and with realism that grabs the reader. I found it difficult to put down.

JNB
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
Whilst not reaching the same heights as the previous two books, this is very good read and gives a satisfying end to what could be called "The Grik storyline arc".

Suffice to say all the main elements are present, namely the Americans, loads of Grik, the cats, the boats, the Amagi etc. The main characters are not developed as much as in earlier books, but thats not a particular problem. They are well rounded characters already and in this book are focussed on the task at hand.

Pleasingly, there are also several new story threads seeded throught the book which hint at what may lie beyond the small geographical sphere that the story has been set in.

I also noticed that as the story progresses, the author has carefully compressed a number of skirmishes and encounters between the good guys and bad guys into a few paragraphs, rather than a 40 page chapter. The more routine ship v ship and army v army stuff that has been covered in considerable detail in earlier books is skipped over. More time is spent in certain key battles and incidents that show how the characters are learning and developing tactics, strategies and technology. This is good, keeps the story moving along and avoids the reading getting bored with what could have been fairly repetative content.

One criticism though is that the author is becoming inconsistent with the levels of damage that ships dish out and can absorb. Certain ships appear to be more resistant to damage than others, the author needs to be carefull to not push the envelope on this any further.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
If you enjoy alternative history/reality this is for you, it's in a similar style to Harry Turtledoves work, The story begins in world war 2 and ends up with you being transported to an alternative reality, I look forward to the others in the trilogy which I have just purchased.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
Here we are, back in that parallel Earth occupied by cute and intelligent Lemurs (who turn out to be quite efficient soldiers) and those murderous, mindless, marauding lizards, the Griks. Our US sailors are doing a grand job defending the right whilst those nasty Japs have, logically, allied themselves with the dark side. All sarcasm aside, this is a very good read... what was initial entertainment-tinged-with-a-little-disbelief has, over the series, turned into engrossing and exciting reading. I thoroughly enjoyed the tension and the build-up that Anderson created; the final battle was genuinely edge-of-seat stuff and left me wanting more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2009
This is the third volume of the series, which was excellent all round. Good story telling, excellent character building, and despite the (literally) unbelievable premise, all quite plausible :-)

I'm looking forward to more from this author, and I hope he writes some more books building on this series, and dealing with 'unfinished business'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2015
From Hornblower through Harrington to Reddy, this is navy storytelling of the first order. These stories are about the people and a sense of honour that stirs the blood and makes you want to read more. Great stuff and I can't wait for the next instalment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2010
Part two in a very interesting series. If you like alternative universes then this is for you - highy recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
I loved this trilogy and hoping that it is extended.

Its a great story of an ancient US destroyer from World War 2 ending up on an alternative earth fighting evil. The irony is that in our timeline the ship is ancient, weak and vastly inferior to most other ships. However in the alternative world this dstroyer, the Walker, is the most powerful weapon afloat, but is it?

A great story, fast, action packed, exciting and original, I cant recommend it enough!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Don't read this book unless you've read the two previous 'Destroyermen' volumes, Into the Storm (Destroyermen) and Crusade (Destroyermen). It is a direct continuation of the same story covered by those two books and therefore events will make little sense for anyone who hasn't read them.

If you have read them and enjoyed them then there's a good chance that Maelstrom will appeal to you too. Its a little unevenly paced, with too much inaction in the book's first half followed by an action packed denoument that goes on too long, to the point where it becomes a tad wearisome. Anderson's writing style also leaves a little to be desired. His love of extremely long descriptive paragraphs and slightly clunky internal monologues also hasn't abated. These are minor issues however, and are easily outweighed by some great world building, interesting plot developments and the generally satisfying tying up of various plot strands.

In fact, despite there being more Destroyermen volumes to follow and plenty of subplots left unresolved (plus a few new ones started) Maelstrom has the feeling of a proper denoument to Part 1 of the USS Walker's adventures. This makes it a more satisfying reading experience overall.

Of course if you didn't enjoy Into The Storm or Crusade then you're very unlikely to enjoy Maelstrom either, and I'm not sure why you're even reading this review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.