Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher in Space?
Although there are many writing military scifi now, I liked this book because the heroine is like someone out of a greek tragedy. I really didnt spot the ending, tho looking back maybe it was inevitable, though there werent clues thrown out to catch anyway. No one is in white or black hats (should that be helmets?) and the current vogue in present day thrillers for the...
Published on 2 Mar. 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I drink to forget
This is the first in a new series of military science fiction novels. It runs for 336 pages and is pretty much complete in itself but it does leave the door open for further novels to follow.

The main character is major ariane kedros. she works as a spaceship pilot for an asteroid prospector called matt. But he doesn't know about her past. And her guilty...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Paul Tapner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I drink to forget, 12 April 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the first in a new series of military science fiction novels. It runs for 336 pages and is pretty much complete in itself but it does leave the door open for further novels to follow.

The main character is major ariane kedros. she works as a spaceship pilot for an asteroid prospector called matt. But he doesn't know about her past. And her guilty secret. Years before she was part of a mission that destroyed an entire solar system. There are those who would like to get their hands on her and the other members of that mission. And she's also still a military reservist. So when she's sent on a special mission by them, and when her former comrades start to die, she has fight to survive on her hands. And matt has the same if he wants to see her again.

This book thus has a fair bit of story to set up and there are a fair few flashbacks early on which start to do this. Added to which being introduced to a whole new setting and cast of characters at the same time means there's a bit to take in. and whilst the writing is quite decent it's merely good rather than great or very engaging.

However it is worth hanging on in there because some of the ultimate resolution to the plot really is a great surprise. And it also doesn't pull it's punches in discussing the nature of addiction and of guilt. A couple of bits of strong langugage and some adult situations mean it may not be entirely suitable for young readers.

a promising debut more than a great book. but now the backstory has been set up and dealt with subsequent books may be worth a look. I shall give them a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overly complex, 27 Dec. 2010
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
I feel guilty for the two stars I normally reserve for poor books, but I did struggle with this one and had two previous abandoned attempts before I managed to finish it. I also feel guilt because there is a good story in here trying to climb out but gets swamped by the complex 'world' that the author is trying to build.

Major Ariane Kedros has been given a new identity but is occasionally called back to serve the Intelligence Corps. Here she is trying to find out who is killing off ex colleagues while having significant problems of her own and keeping her past a secret.

Maybe I am dumb, but the complexity of the environment, the politics and the history were a real struggle to grasp and the author lost me more then a few times I have to say. However, when the focus was on Kedros herself, the story worked okay and had potential, but overall only two stars for me - it was just far too much hard work and not rewarding enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher in Space?, 2 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Although there are many writing military scifi now, I liked this book because the heroine is like someone out of a greek tragedy. I really didnt spot the ending, tho looking back maybe it was inevitable, though there werent clues thrown out to catch anyway. No one is in white or black hats (should that be helmets?) and the current vogue in present day thrillers for the good guys to be bad underneath edges in here too. I look forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No peace for the Peacekeeper, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Military science fiction fans might find the cover of this debut novel from Reeve somewhat misleading, as it isn't merely some high-octane, shoot-`em-up kill fest. Not that I've got anything against such books - they're great escapist blasts. But Peacekeeper is something more.

This adventure story is set in a complex, multi-layered world, with the mandatory tough-yet-vulnerable female protagonist. But what sets it apart for me are the themes explored within all the non-stop action. The guilt Ariane Kedros feels over her part in the obliteration of the Ura-Guinn system is doubtless a useful plot twist to give the character extra depth and interest - but it also raises the issue of when a serving soldier should turn around and say `no'. None of the Kedros' team did so - and they all pay a high price. Can remorse redeem such a terrible act? One of the characters is convinced it can...

Reeve also explores the idea of revenge and at what point it stops being a natural reaction to a terrible wrong and becomes something a lot darker - or maybe that's what it always is. And before you go away with the impression that this book is full of declamatory rambles about these ideas (let's face it - we've all read `em...), I'd like to reassure you that Reeve manages to embed her themes within the story such that neither the pace or narrative tension lets up for a nanosec to accommodate them.

All in all, this is a cracking, enjoyable read that manages to raise some interesting issues along the way, making it a cut above much of this sub-genre. I've already gone out and bought the sequel...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. I found the characters and plot convincing and the pages full of interesting concepts and ideas. Plenty of hi-tech - some of which was for me rather complex - and an interesting take on addiction. I have read all three Kedros novels, and I am looking forward to the next Kedros novel or any new novel from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 8 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel (Mass Market Paperback)
Nice concept of a soldier overwhelmed by the guilt of having used a WMD, however the story is cliched, predictable and a chore to get through. There is much better out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel
Peacekeeper: A Major Ariane Kedros Novel by Laura E. Reeve (Mass Market Paperback - 2 Dec. 2008)
£5.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews