Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and different
Wow. What a different story!

The attention to detail and historical accuracy really helps the tale jog along.

Set in world war 2, the crew of a 4 stack destroyer enter an alternate earth that has evolved somewhat differently. Having watched Avatar, I now have a mental image of those aliens as The People from the Destroyermen series.
Although...
Published on 14 Feb. 2010 by Mike Renshaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read
The concept of other versions of our world existing side-by-side with ours is one much loved by science-fiction and fantasy writers - think Philip Pullman's trilogy and S.M. Stirling's "Conquistador". In this case, an obsolete WW1 US destroyer, fleeing from a vastly superior Japanese force in the aftermath of Pearl Harbor, goes into a squall and emerges in the same world...
Published 20 months ago by Teemacs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and different, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
Wow. What a different story!

The attention to detail and historical accuracy really helps the tale jog along.

Set in world war 2, the crew of a 4 stack destroyer enter an alternate earth that has evolved somewhat differently. Having watched Avatar, I now have a mental image of those aliens as The People from the Destroyermen series.
Although there are never really any big surprises in the book, it's well written and pacey with a different view on the world and really does do character development.

I've written this review having read the three available books in the saga - I had to import book 3 from the US as it's not available here and can't wait for the next one.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant story, 25 Feb. 2009
By 
SJ SMART "Smartie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
I really enjoyed this story - the USS Walker is an old World War one era four stack destroyer with the Pacific fleet in World War Two. Its 1942 and allied forces are being pushed back by the Japanese. The USS Walker is under attack and being pursued by a large Japanese force so hides in a squall, but this takes the ship and its crew to an alternative Earth where their are no humans but two races at war, (and a sea full of huge prehistoric beasts.) The Crew take sides and help fight, and even though their ship is old and out of date in 1942 is better than anything in this alternative world where their are no engines, machines or guns. Just sailing ships, crossbows and swords.

This is the beginning of a very promising series. If you like S M Stirlings or John Birminghams books you will like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice twist in the world of fantasy, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
This felt a very fresh take on fantasy writing or perhaps a fresh take on World War navy action?

The story

An obsolete and outgunned '4 stack' destroyer is fleeing for it's crews survival from a Japanese fleet. In a bid to escape they steer into a storm and seemingly evade danger, only the world they knew before the storm has undergone some drastic changes when they emerge from it and now their obselete ship may be the most powerful weapon on the planet.

What follows did feel very original but at the same time had a definate early star trek feel, as the crew find friends and enemies, and a good old scrap!

The Writing
It's good and played with a very straight bat, so that it feels really like a historical 'Reeman' type book but with monsters. There is a large and convincing cast list, which was initially a bit befuddling but was dropping into place come the end.

Perhaps the writing could have been a bit more tongue in cheek as we are essentially talking fighting lizard men here but did not stop me enjoying the story. My only other critisism is that Bradford the ship's Aussie sounded nothing like any other Aussie I have ever heard and was a bit like having a character played by Dick Van Dyke but I am splitting hairs now!

Should you read it?

Well judging by all these glowing reviews Yes! I certainly enjoyed it and would also like, as a Brit, to ackowledge the little homage to HMS Exeter at the start of the story.

The authors knowledge and enthusiasm for the navy gives this a grounded and authentic base on which I'm sure the series is able to build. So I have ordered part 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 16 April 2009
By 
G. Fergus "jollyjambo" (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
Yes it has been done before but the quality of the writing and an obvious love of the subject matter by the Author lifts this way above average. As well as being a cracking adventure story the book introduces you to an aspect of the Pacific Naval War during the early part of WW2 that is extremely interesting and I had previously been unaware of. Educational,entertaining and a great read. I look forward to reading the sequels in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alternative History & Naval Battles? Yes please!, 10 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. K. J. Santi (South England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have been looking for an alternative history book series for some time, but never seemed to find one that I liked.

I think that I have now found it.

This is the story of the USS Walker, an obsolete destroyer on the run during WW2 from the Japanese in the far east. After some initial scene and charater introductions, we are pitched into a intense naval battle involving a Japanese cruiser, the Walker and a second American destroyer. Close to sinking, the Walker escapes into a heavy rain squall and is then pitched through a "portal" into an alternative Earth

Quickly it is discovered that all is not as it was, and in this reality, there are no humans and instead there are two sentient races engaged in a war for survival. One descended from lizards, the other from Lemurs.

What then follows is a fascinating tale of the crew slowly realising that the world has changed around them, and the choices they need to make in order to survive.

There is no padding or waffle in this book, every word and paragraph move the story along at a fast pace. There are plenty of action sequences in the book and they are well written. The character development, diplomacy and realisation of their predicament is equally enjoyable to read. I liked the authors use of an WW1 vintage destroyer, as although the humans have a technology advantage, it is not a massive one. They have just one destroyer, it is small, badly damaged and limited in firepower. Thus they cannot just steam in and shoot-up everything and install themsevles as Lords and Masters. Tactics, strategy and making alliances will be needed in order to survive.

I have since read the next few books in the series, and I can say that it gets better. I strongly reccomend this book and the ones that follow it to anyone who likes both modern and historical military action novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hornblower meets Anne McCaffery in Fantasy-land!, 5 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. E. Nzegwu "enwezor" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
Ok - a bit of a strange review title but if anyone has read the famous Anne McCaffery Pern stories, there are some really interesting parallels. Not many sci-fi / fantasy books are about just general living in a new place, overcoming obstacles, developing communities, exploring, etc. A lot of sci-fi / fantasy are based around high adventures, epic undertakings, alien encounters, etc. - nothing wrong with this at all and I love many of them but very few books spend the time to talk about the satisfaction of building communities and solving problems with ingenuity; this is one of the best things about this book and the entire series which is why I refer to Anne McCaffery's Pern series which also had a similar focus.
Yes of course this is military-sci-fi-esque set in a fantastical world but for me, what made this book (and series) most enjoyable was the authentic approach to dealing with the practicalities of being marooned in a strange hostile world. Excellent stuff - really looking forward to Book 6. Feels like it could last as long as David Weber's Honor Harrington series! Still, he seems to be quite prolific!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 29 Dec. 2011
By 
Mieczyslaw Kasprzyk (Oldham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was a thoroughly enjoyable read... and quite gripping - I found it difficult to put down. This everyday adventure story about a couple of US destroyers being sucked into an alternative Earth whilst involved in a sea battle against the Japanese Navy is both entertaining and exciting. It has elements of "Island in the Sea of Time" (perhaps my most favourite - can you have "most favourite"? - novel) about it but, rather than being drawn into the past our heroes are drawn into a parallel world where no humans evolved and they get drawn into a war of survival between its two dominant species... the Lemurians and the Grik.
Now I know it is difficult to take a world full of Alexander Orloff Meerkat-type furry creatures seriously but these "goodies" (they're furry, big-eyed and look like Alexander Orloff for God's sake!) somehow take on human form in your imagination. The villains are red-eyed, roaring, murderous, intelligent raptors - obviously! Have I identified the only real flaw in the book?
Flaws apart, it IS a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant read, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
Teemacs (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
The concept of other versions of our world existing side-by-side with ours is one much loved by science-fiction and fantasy writers - think Philip Pullman's trilogy and S.M. Stirling's "Conquistador". In this case, an obsolete WW1 US destroyer, fleeing from a vastly superior Japanese force in the aftermath of Pearl Harbor, goes into a squall and emerges in the same world geographically speaking, but different in that evolution has taken an entirely different course. There are no humans, but there are other species, and they are at war. What should our heroes do?

This, the first book in a series, is an enjoyable opener. It starts to creak and groan a bit at the seams as the improbabilities mount (e.g., the obtaining of fuel for such a ship in a world which doesn't use oil). And of course they just happen to have on board the right people for (a) scientific/engineering expertise and (b) romantic interest. And a Catalina flying boat!

Will I buy more? Hmmmmmm...really not sure....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining alternative history 3.5 stars, 5 Feb. 2011
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
There are plenty of alternative histories about and quite a lot of time/alternative reality stories where a bunch of people are plucked form our universe and history and fine themselves somewhere...else. And yes, this is indeed one of them.

During a WW2 sea battle with the Japanese an elderly US warship (The Walker) is transported into an alternative reality where the landscapes are the same but man does not appear to have evolved. Almost immediately they have to take sides in a conflict between two races...with overwhelming power but dwindling resources, has the crew of the Walker picked the right side, and can they survive?

Although a theme we may have seen before, this is well delivered and more thoughtful then most. It certainly moves with pace and although you can see where it is going and what is likely to happen over the next few books, it is still written with enough intelligence to lift it above the standard for these types of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars alternate history - half good, half mediocre, 15 Nov. 2009
By 
Henk Beentje "Henk Beentje" (Kew, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Into the Storm (Destroyermen) (Mass Market Paperback)
Synopsis: Jave Sea, 1942, and while engaged in one of the real battles of this period, an American four-stacker sails through a time portal and winds up in an alternate world, where they land in yet another war. They are forced to choose sides, and to try and replenish their dwindling stores of everything; but at least they have technological advantage!

My opinion: half the book is pretty good - the Navy part, and the personalities involved (and I include USS Walker here!) are engaging. But the aliens, or alternate world races, are so basic that it made me feel the author consulted his 13-year old daughter to make them up. And that is where the book falls down for me; I like the premise, and the author certainly can write, but half his players are feeble. Pity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Into the Storm (Destroyermen)
Into the Storm (Destroyermen) by Taylor Anderson (Mass Market Paperback - 3 Feb. 2009)
£5.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews