Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an unoriginal concept done originally
what can I say? well lots of things, this books is great. when I picked it up I was expecting your typical "vampire" novel i.e. lots of gore, brooding vampires and perfect good guys with all the depth of a puddle. what you actually get is a cynical look at the vampire myth, the vampires are real, garlic doesnt work but ramming a bloody big steak through them and dragging...
Published on 19 Feb 2003 by Ben Black

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
Nothing like the film but still a good vampire book. Took a while to really understand the main character though
Published 14 months ago by Mrs. L. J. Foden-bonnar


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an unoriginal concept done originally, 19 Feb 2003
By 
Ben Black (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
what can I say? well lots of things, this books is great. when I picked it up I was expecting your typical "vampire" novel i.e. lots of gore, brooding vampires and perfect good guys with all the depth of a puddle. what you actually get is a cynical look at the vampire myth, the vampires are real, garlic doesnt work but ramming a bloody big steak through them and dragging them out into sunlight does. the vatican knows about the vampires and does support "Team Crow" (even sending a well trained well armed priest along to help (imagine Rambo in a confessional ;)), he kills of major characters with seeming abandon (always good), hell its a fun read all the way, literature it isnt but it will pass the time, doesnt descend into farce (with the good guys taking on a huge seemingly unlimted army of super strong vampires etc) and is resolved well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 1 Feb 2013
By 
D. K. Banerji (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
Very professional and highly competent. Arrived earlier than promised and kept me informed when they had posted the book and when it would arrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked the film LOVED the book, 16 May 2003
By 
Kevin Turrell (Waterlooville, Hants England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
I picked up this book after seeing the film and it blew me away. So good in fact that it takes away some of the enjoyment from watching the film. The book has so much more going on, better characters and a much different ending. It cracks along at a phenomenal pace with plenty of action, laughs and a real "human" element that the film just couldn't re-create. A truly great concept given the execution it deserved. It's hard to believe John Steakley has done such few novels when this one at least is SO good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What happens , when the hunter becomes the hunted ?, 22 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampires (Roc) (Paperback)
Well , I have to say that although Vampire$ won't tax the brain too hard,it is a great read.Its a tale of modern day Vampire hunters set in mid-America.
Surprisingly though , the Catholic Church know about the existence of the Vampires and fund the hunters in their work . The team is lead by Jack Crow (readers of Armor will know of him) and when a job gets botched up , the team ends up becoming the hunted. This establishes the setting for the book.
The difference between Vampire$ and other vampire novels is that its more of an action thriller and that provides an interesting twist to the genre.
As I said at the start of the review , Vampire$ wont tax the brain , but it is the coolest novel in my collection and my favourite. Read it if you like a different type of action/horror novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible reading, 24 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Vampires (Roc) (Paperback)
This has to be the best book that I have read since I finished reading the Belgariad, Mallorean, Tamuli and Elenium by David Eddings. It is certainly the best vampire book I have ever read. Although I did not want to put it down, the sheer attention to detail that I found forced me to. Beware, this book is gruesome. But the way that John Steakley addresses the issues raised in this book is both expert and sensitive. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone, even those who are not interested in the world of the vampire or the occult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fang-tastic, 11 Aug 2000
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
this book is one of the best i have read, it has an action-packed start and never weakens. the film was awful, but the book is 100 times better. well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 8 May 2013
By 
Mrs. L. J. Foden-bonnar "Lyndy" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
Nothing like the film but still a good vampire book. Took a while to really understand the main character though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Different, but not great, 6 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Vampires (Paperback)
This book is a little different in that it is a little more action packed than most of this genre, but the plot is somewhat weak and the characters lack any real dept. However, apart from the first few pages, it takes some time before this action actually gets going.

The first hundred pages centres around the long winded introduction of a gang of vampire hunters, who appear to be more of a bunch of manic depressive alcoholics in need of anger management than a professional team. When the action does get going, its fast paced, but more like the narration of a movie than a book, and the dialogue between the cast members is appallingly lame and clichéd.

An interesting read for a lazy afternoon in the park, but I can't but feel this book would be more appealing to teenagers than a serious reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vampires
Vampires by John Steakley (Paperback - 1 Aug 2008)
8.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews