Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best But Still Great
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by C. Green

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best entry in the series
Warning: Likely spoilers ahead for Books 1-8 of The Dresden Files…

Fool Moon and Blood Rites still take the ‘crown’ for my least favourite Dresden books, but this certainly wasn’t Butcher’s finest hour. Unlike Fool Moon, it wasn’t boring. So there’s a tick. And unlike Blood Rites, it wasn’t silly, convoluted and...
Published 8 months ago by Idlewilder


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best But Still Great, 7 Jun 2007
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are up to date however, I can highly recommend this latest book. Its not quite up to the very high standard of my favourite Dresden adventures such as Summer Knight, Dead Beat and Proven Guilty, but its extremely good none-the-less.

I will not risk spoiling things by going into too much detail regarding the plot, except to say that it revolves around the ongoing war between the White Council of Wizards and the Red Court of the Vampires and sucks (if you'll pardon the pun) in the Vampires of the White Court. Beyond that its the usual mix of neo-noir detective story and gory supernatural violence. Putting in an appearance are many familiar characters, including Harry's half-brother Thomas, Chicago PD Detective Karrin Murphy and Mouse, the giant Temple Dog, along with some less familar ones such as gangster Johnnie Marcone, warden Ramirez and Lara, Thomas' sister and head of the White Court.

It all makes for a further satisfying adventure for Harry. If I have any criticisms of the book its the fact that, having set up a host of new plot strands in his previous book, Proven Guilty, Jim Butcher doesn't really progress the overarching story a great deal. Yes, some bad guys from the past reappear and in one excellent flashback we get to witness firsthand the sharp end of the Vampire/Wizard war, but for all the action involved, by the end wider events haven't progressed greeatly. Whilst its a pleasure to have an ongoing backstory developing behind more immediate events in each book, the speed at which it is doing so is becoming a tad frustrating. Sooner or later Butcher will have to deliver the goods and give loyal readers resolutions to at least some of the plots he has set up.

Apart from that White Night maintains Jim Butcher's batting average and fans will not be disappointed. Now if only they could make the TV show just as good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have followed the saga of Harry Dresden, 3 Feb 2008
then you will find this an excellent addition to the series. This book is very important to the background myth-arc, with real development among the characters and a clever resolution to a one or two plotlines. (IMHO such resolution is a very good thing.) The writing still snaps, and there are one or two set scenes that come off very well. Harry continues to grow, and is dealing with the conflict between his anti-authority nature and his inevitable development into an authority figure himself.

If you are new to the series, then this is *not* the place to start. Butcher's work is superior to a lot of that in the field in that his character actually goes through changes and learns things. He's a supernatural private detective that actually tries to think once in a while. Things start dark and get darker in the first few novels, and now the protagonist is growing and learning. The series has excellent supporting characters and tries to deal with the moral choices the hero is forced to make, and their consequences. Do yourself a favor and start at the beginning ("Storm Front") and follow the saga!!! I'd recommend The Fates by Tino Georgiou to those who might have missed this bestseller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Satisfying Adventure, 22 Jan 2008
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are up to date however, I can highly recommend this latest book. Its not quite up to the very high standard of my favourite Dresden adventures such as Summer Knight, Dead Beat and Proven Guilty, but its extremely good none-the-less.

I will not risk spoiling things by going into too much detail regarding the plot, except to say that it revolves around the ongoing war between the White Council of Wizards and the Red Court of the Vampires and sucks (if you'll pardon the pun) in the Vampires of the White Court. Beyond that its the usual mix of neo-noir detective story and gory supernatural violence. Putting in an appearance are many familiar characters, including Harry's half-brother Thomas, Chicago PD Detective Karrin Murphy and Mouse, the giant Temple Dog, along with some less familar ones such as gangster Johnnie Marcone, warden Ramirez and Lara, Thomas' sister and head of the White Court.

It all makes for a further satisfying adventure for Harry. If I have any criticisms of the book its the fact that, having set up a host of new plot strands in his previous book, Proven Guilty, Jim Butcher doesn't really progress the overarching story a great deal. Yes, some bad guys from the past reappear and in one excellent flashback we get to witness firsthand the sharp end of the Vampire/Wizard war, but for all the action involved, by the end wider events haven't progressed greeatly. Whilst its a pleasure to have an ongoing backstory developing behind more immediate events in each book, the speed at which it is doing so is becoming a tad frustrating. Sooner or later Butcher will have to deliver the goods and give loyal readers resolutions to at least some of the plots he has set up.

Apart from that White Night maintains Jim Butcher's batting average and fans will not be disappointed. Now if only they could make the TV show just as good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Butcher is the best, 27 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like contempary Fantasy and I can honestly say the King is currently Jim Butcher. Ignore the Anita Blake series, the inital books were fantastic, but the latter ones are soft porn, here is the true King.

I now have every one of his books, and can say that each one of them is a quality read.

I would sugest you ignore the TV Series which is rubbish, but get the books.

As for this one I will not go into detail, but its off good quality.

My only minor quibble is he is starting to put minor ploy hints in for future books which I find slightly annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another topper for the collection, 11 Sep 2009
This novel is one of my favourites in the series so far.
Once again Jim Butcher provides an interesting murder case with a healthy dose of intrigue stirred in. Although parts of the case point to obvious conclusions, others provide good plot twists.
I loved how many characters from previous books made a comeback in this one - which is all I can say about them without spoiling. I had also been looking forward to seeing some more of Molly in this book, which you get as bonus. Definitely a must-buy for any Dresden Files fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this series and it just keeps getting better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent read if you like down to earth wizards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband and I are both reading are way through this series - this is a good instalment, and can't wait for the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome as always, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another fantastic book. can't wait for the next one. I would definitely recommend this to any jim butcher fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 2 May 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Overton "sheila" (milton keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again another fantastic book about Harry Dresden am now caught up with the author and am waiting for next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover))
White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover)) by Jim Butcher (Hardcover - 3 April 2007)
Used & New from: £1.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews