Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best But Still Great
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by C. Green

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best entry in the series
Warning: Likely spoilers ahead for Books 1-8 of The Dresden Files…

Fool Moon and Blood Rites still take the ‘crown’ for my least favourite Dresden books, but this certainly wasn’t Butcher’s finest hour. Unlike Fool Moon, it wasn’t boring. So there’s a tick. And unlike Blood Rites, it wasn’t silly, convoluted and...
Published 6 days ago by Idlewilder


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best But Still Great, 7 Jun 2007
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover)) (Hardcover)
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are up to date however, I can highly recommend this latest book. Its not quite up to the very high standard of my favourite Dresden adventures such as Summer Knight, Dead Beat and Proven Guilty, but its extremely good none-the-less.

I will not risk spoiling things by going into too much detail regarding the plot, except to say that it revolves around the ongoing war between the White Council of Wizards and the Red Court of the Vampires and sucks (if you'll pardon the pun) in the Vampires of the White Court. Beyond that its the usual mix of neo-noir detective story and gory supernatural violence. Putting in an appearance are many familiar characters, including Harry's half-brother Thomas, Chicago PD Detective Karrin Murphy and Mouse, the giant Temple Dog, along with some less familar ones such as gangster Johnnie Marcone, warden Ramirez and Lara, Thomas' sister and head of the White Court.

It all makes for a further satisfying adventure for Harry. If I have any criticisms of the book its the fact that, having set up a host of new plot strands in his previous book, Proven Guilty, Jim Butcher doesn't really progress the overarching story a great deal. Yes, some bad guys from the past reappear and in one excellent flashback we get to witness firsthand the sharp end of the Vampire/Wizard war, but for all the action involved, by the end wider events haven't progressed greeatly. Whilst its a pleasure to have an ongoing backstory developing behind more immediate events in each book, the speed at which it is doing so is becoming a tad frustrating. Sooner or later Butcher will have to deliver the goods and give loyal readers resolutions to at least some of the plots he has set up.

Apart from that White Night maintains Jim Butcher's batting average and fans will not be disappointed. Now if only they could make the TV show just as good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Satisfying Adventure, 22 Jan 2008
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While Night is yet another great volume of the on-going Dresden Files. As always however, I'll start with an advisory for those who haven't read any other books in the series or have only watched the (substandard) TV adaptation; don't start here. Go a start at the beginning with Storm Front. This is not a series you just dip into and enjoy.

For those who are up to date however, I can highly recommend this latest book. Its not quite up to the very high standard of my favourite Dresden adventures such as Summer Knight, Dead Beat and Proven Guilty, but its extremely good none-the-less.

I will not risk spoiling things by going into too much detail regarding the plot, except to say that it revolves around the ongoing war between the White Council of Wizards and the Red Court of the Vampires and sucks (if you'll pardon the pun) in the Vampires of the White Court. Beyond that its the usual mix of neo-noir detective story and gory supernatural violence. Putting in an appearance are many familiar characters, including Harry's half-brother Thomas, Chicago PD Detective Karrin Murphy and Mouse, the giant Temple Dog, along with some less familar ones such as gangster Johnnie Marcone, warden Ramirez and Lara, Thomas' sister and head of the White Court.

It all makes for a further satisfying adventure for Harry. If I have any criticisms of the book its the fact that, having set up a host of new plot strands in his previous book, Proven Guilty, Jim Butcher doesn't really progress the overarching story a great deal. Yes, some bad guys from the past reappear and in one excellent flashback we get to witness firsthand the sharp end of the Vampire/Wizard war, but for all the action involved, by the end wider events haven't progressed greeatly. Whilst its a pleasure to have an ongoing backstory developing behind more immediate events in each book, the speed at which it is doing so is becoming a tad frustrating. Sooner or later Butcher will have to deliver the goods and give loyal readers resolutions to at least some of the plots he has set up.

Apart from that White Night maintains Jim Butcher's batting average and fans will not be disappointed. Now if only they could make the TV show just as good....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have followed the saga of Harry Dresden, 3 Feb 2008
then you will find this an excellent addition to the series. This book is very important to the background myth-arc, with real development among the characters and a clever resolution to a one or two plotlines. (IMHO such resolution is a very good thing.) The writing still snaps, and there are one or two set scenes that come off very well. Harry continues to grow, and is dealing with the conflict between his anti-authority nature and his inevitable development into an authority figure himself.

If you are new to the series, then this is *not* the place to start. Butcher's work is superior to a lot of that in the field in that his character actually goes through changes and learns things. He's a supernatural private detective that actually tries to think once in a while. Things start dark and get darker in the first few novels, and now the protagonist is growing and learning. The series has excellent supporting characters and tries to deal with the moral choices the hero is forced to make, and their consequences. Do yourself a favor and start at the beginning ("Storm Front") and follow the saga!!! I'd recommend The Fates by Tino Georgiou to those who might have missed this bestseller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeps getting better and better, 12 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is rare that by book 8 in a series it keeps its momentum and freshness but these just get better and better and this one is my favourite. He becomes a little darker and mean in this book, but his humour improves too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best entry in the series, 14 April 2014
Warning: Likely spoilers ahead for Books 1-8 of The Dresden Files…

Fool Moon and Blood Rites still take the ‘crown’ for my least favourite Dresden books, but this certainly wasn’t Butcher’s finest hour. Unlike Fool Moon, it wasn’t boring. So there’s a tick. And unlike Blood Rites, it wasn’t silly, convoluted and full of very eyebrow-raising twists. The biggest problem I had was that we are now 9 books into this series, and White Night felt almost entirely like a stop-gap. Like Butcher wanted to hit his one book per year quota (or had to) and so came up with White Night.

Most of the ongoing plotlines are barely touched upon in favour of a tenuous and thinly stretched mystery involving the return of Elaine (a character who Butcher seems to have randomly decided he’d rather didn’t stay in Harry’s past, and yet is entirely dull and predictable) and some past villains, including one that I still don’t know what was doing there, and the White Court, who are generally a lot of fun, but were involved in one of the longest and most confusing climaxes in the series so far.

There are twists anyone would see coming a mile off, returning friendlies who add very little and could ultimately have had their roles filled by almost any of Harry’s allies, and nowhere NEAR enough progression of the stuff I want to be reading about at this stage, namely: the Black Council, Molly’s apprenticeship, the Outsiders and/or anything involving the Knights of the Cross. The only ongoing plotline to really get any form of conclusion – Lasciel – is disappointing and probably not really the conclusion. And the final scene of the book is cringe-inducingly bad, though luckily not a game-changer – just another pithy, throwaway attempt at humour.

It may sound like I hated this book, but that’s not true. It was still a fun read (or rather, listen – as always, James Marsters was fantastic) and some characters are getting better and better (Harry himself, Molly, Marcone and, surprisingly, Murphy) but it really is a filler book, and if I’d have been reading these books as they were released, I can’t help but think I would have been even more bitterly disappointed.

Apparently Small Favour is a series high point and things really take off from there – I can only hope that is the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jim Butcher in fine form, many late nights turning pages. A joy to read and a fine addition to the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top reading, 20 Feb 2014
By 
c.ewing@tesco.net (WEST MIDS, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book from an excellent series can recommend the dresden files from start to finish which i hope is a long way away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I think this number nine, 13 Feb 2014
Not quite as strong a story as previously. Please can you get your proof readers to stop putting Rodriguez when they mean Ramirez. It is very off putting and disrupts the flow. I enjoyed the end section very much. See you in the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Coleve (Angus,, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this cool guy and his weird adventures and all his cool pets and mates and have just started to watch the new tv series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Urban Fantasy, 8 Jan 2014
By 
J. Rowe "Jorana" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love urban fantasy with a harder edge, the Dresden Files are definitely for you. I have read through the entire set in the last six weeks - can't put them down and can't wait for the next one. Jim Butcher writes up a storm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9cf1cab0)

This product

White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover))
White Night (Dresden Files (ROC Hardcover)) by Jim Butcher (Hardcover - 3 April 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews