Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent
Its not often you can get to book 6 and feel you've barely scratched the surface of the characters, plot etc. yet still finish the book in one sitting. This is one of those series that just seems to gain in breadth and skill. As there's no write up i'll give a quick overview:
Harry Dresden is Chicago's only practicing wizard investigator and is listed in the yellow...
Published on 12 Aug 2004 by J. Patterson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting addition to the series
I am a big fan of the Dresden Files but I have to say that this book left me a bit flat.
First a lot of family information gets revealed - but its just too easy. If you've read the rest of the books you understand that Harry has been trying directly and indirectly to find out about his parents for years and suddenly it given to him on a platter; its just not...
Published on 11 Nov 2004 by K. Griffin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent, 12 Aug 2004
By 
J. Patterson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood Rites (Dresden Files) (Mass Market Paperback)
Its not often you can get to book 6 and feel you've barely scratched the surface of the characters, plot etc. yet still finish the book in one sitting. This is one of those series that just seems to gain in breadth and skill. As there's no write up i'll give a quick overview:
Harry Dresden is Chicago's only practicing wizard investigator and is listed in the yellow pages. Thomas (white vamp) wants him to investigate a case for him. A movie producer is being cursed, and people around him keep on dying in strange ways. Harry jumps right in and there's plenty of action on every page. Demons, puppies, vampires, police, mysterious assassins, wizards, succubi, it's all there.
We get to see more of his growing relationship with Murphy, Ebenezer and Kincaid ome back in and there are a few twists that were definitely a surprise and an ending that seems to move Harry in a different direction to where he has always been left before. This time his life will have changed forever.
Its hard to say more without ruining it - suffice to say if you liked any of the other books you'll love this one. If you're new start with book 1 and work through. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greater than the sum of its parts, 3 Feb 2006
I have had the luck to discover the Dresden files series after Mr. Butcher was well underway with it, which means I got to read five of them in a row.
The series is characterised by workmanlike prose, a terrific protagonist, and complex plots. Best of all, Mr. Butcher is master of the backstory. Each of the books further unwinds the history of the main character, while not burdening the reader with much repetition. And he is adept at restraining himself from too much explanation; he gives the reader credit for being able to put the pieces together.
Very enjoyable reads, very inventive, fast paced, and well constructed. Note to Mr. Butcher: Write more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 25 Aug 2004
This review is from: Blood Rites (Dresden Files) (Mass Market Paperback)
Harry's back for the sixth book in the series along with the familiar faces of Murphy, Ebenezer, Bob and a very cute new puppy! If you're new to Jim Butcher's books, do yourself a favour and buy Storm Front first(and the rest too!) as they follow on from each other and it does help to have the history as you're reading. This series is simply class though and is one of the few I've read that gets better with each book. All I can say is Write faster Mr Butcher and give us more Dresden!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting addition to the series, 11 Nov 2004
By 
K. Griffin "K." (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Rites (Dresden Files) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan of the Dresden Files but I have to say that this book left me a bit flat.
First a lot of family information gets revealed - but its just too easy. If you've read the rest of the books you understand that Harry has been trying directly and indirectly to find out about his parents for years and suddenly it given to him on a platter; its just not satisfying.
Second, the stakes in this novel are much lower than Summer Night and Death Mask. I just didn't get the same level of urgency from this novel. I have feeling that this book is a launching point for another story arc.
That said it was still much better the dross that LK Hamilton has descended to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another big hitter from Butcher, 22 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. N. J. Hickman (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blood Rites (Dresden Files) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another fantastic book in the Dresden file. Blood Lines delves much deeper into Harry's family past, which is something i have been waiting for since book 1, and it does it with style. Vampires, Blood Pacts, surprising twists, all the staples of the fantastic series are present!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Each better than the last, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I avoided reading any of The Dresden Files books having been put off by seeing the appalling TV series with its dreadful miscasting. Thankfully after a few years the memories had faded sufficiently for me to try the first book and I am so glad I did. And I now wonder even more whatever the studio and casting director were thinking! If they were thinking at all. Anyway. Moving On.

The first five books were thoroughly entertaining. Well-written, beautifully crafted plots and a great cast of characters, not least the wizard himself. This one (Blood Rites) is the first for which I have written a detailed review, inspired through the brilliance of certain character developments and revelations. Very clever. I will not post any spoilers but the twists (all of them) were thoroughly satisfying and seamlessly woven into the series. Well done Mr Butcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really good book and a fantastic series as well. I love the Dresden files books and will continue to read the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dresden files, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Overton "sheila" (milton keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
yet again another brilliant Harry dresden book I am really enjoying the. and is looking forward to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to meyhem and melodrama., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a relief after the grim agony of the last book. I like it when it is funny as well as all the blood and vampires and Harry being a fabulous wizard again. I suspect that Jim was teasing me with just a teeny hint of romance? Onward to the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars same s--t, different day!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sometimes its good to escape into Harry's world, and get away from the stress of the day! its good to let Harry have all the worries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Rites (Dresden Files)
Blood Rites (Dresden Files) by Jim Butcher (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Aug 2004)
Used & New from: 1.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews