Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars15
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£5.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2000
With this book, S.M. Stirling wraps up his "Nantucket Trilogy," in which the Island of Nantucket is transported to 1250 BC along with a nearby Coast Guard training windjammer. If you liked the first two books (and I did) you'll like this one. A lot of plot points from the first two books are resolved in this one, so I'd recommend reading the first two to get an idea of what's going on before tackling this book. Stirling has left room for sequels and other books in this universe, and I await them eagerly.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Books one and two of this series were bawdy, frenetic page turners. Bursting with vivacious inventiveness, bold characters, sweeping plot lines and impeccable realism. I was glued to the previous books as 20th Century Nantucket battled to preserve it's values and influence against the bronze age world.

What on earth happened here? Minor characters from the earlier books are endlessly and formulaically revisited, always in the same fashion. E.g someone is going somewhere, they aren't there, but they're going there. What can they see? What do they think about it? What else is going through their head? What can they see now, what do they think about that? What is the person next to them wearing, does it have pleats? On, and on, and on.

Little of it moves the exciting denouement of 'Against the Tide of Years' forward and by the time I had got 300 pages in I had basically forgotten what the point of any of it was and did something I hardly ever do with fiction books; I started scanning and skipping ahead. Just to see if anything, something, was actually going to happen.

Well the book ends, one gets the impression with the ending that Stirling had had about as much fun writing it as I found reading it and just wanted it over. There was little satisfaction for the reader who had tracked the travails of Marion Alston, William Walker et al over three books and expected a tumultuous climax.

Its been 12 years since this came out so I doubt there will be any more, in any case I dont think its a journey many readers would want to accompany him on now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I love the 1st two books in this series. Absoloutely 1st class, which makes it all the more dissapointing that this book is amongst the most boring and pointless I have ever read. Mr Stirling should be ashamed of himself.

Only bother to spend money on this book if like me you feel you need to read all the books in the series, but prepare to be bored. Hardly anything happens all the way through the book :(
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2015
fast pace, and well written. Stirling returns to theme of worlds ending and the start of a new history this time with people from 3500 years ago.
sexier with less repeated violence he handles the change in time through the eyes of the people who have to lead the survivors through the challenges and difficulties of being thrown back in time.
The leading characters are well crafted and strong and unusual in that the war leader is a black feminist lesbian, who he creates with a thoroughly crafted and detailed pen. All the characters were thoroughly researched and believable with exception of a demented Sado- Masochist doctor who is frankly badly written and boring. She will not spoil your enjoyment of excellently crafted novel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2008
I love this series, the first book is excellant and worth 5 stars, the second and third 4 stars as is inevitable in sequels where the idea and setting are already established and the wow factor missing.

There are clear indications to me that a further book or more could be written as there is the open ended sections regarding the crew of the lost airship, and the surviving daughter who intends to rebilud her fathers empire away form the sea where the nantucknians can't easily get to her?
the "Dies the fire" trilogy has spawned a follow up series based on the children of the main characters from the first series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
An excellent end to the series!
although i must say, you can tell he was running out of idea's in this last one, it is still an excellent book but i do feel one part is particularly ripped off from a certain 60's film with Michael Cane and it does end somewhat abruptly, however it is still a very enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
A tour de force by Stirling, one of the best alternative history series out. This is the last in the 3 book series. I had the paperback versions & decided I need the hardback as the others wore out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
Not bad, but the poorest of the trilogy.Worth getting if you enjoyed the first three.
Too long, too many characters and too many situations. The whole west coast expedition should have been cut out and stuck in a novella like the Pern series does from time to time.
Started to skip pages towards the end as I was getting bored, but to be fair I had come on to it straight after reading the middle book.
Look for the tribute to Rorke's drift, its one of the best bits.
Finally,...stop criticising these books cause they dont fit your view of how people should live their lives. The writer does not 'shove lesbianism down your throats' any more than a writer whose main character is straight, would be shoving heterosexuality down your throats. The books show a fair representation of human frailties and actually serves to show the importance of community, integrity and family...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2012
I ordered this book for my brother and his feedback is: Good book, but a slightly weak ending to a great trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
This second (and final - so far) sequel to Island in the Sea of Time was unfortunately rather what I was expecting. There was no invention here, and secondary characters brought in to this volume were two-dimensional and lacked motive. The end felt rather inconclusive too. I was also irritated by the way the story skipped about. It is broken into chapters, but they seem to be fairly arbitrary. Each chapter is preceded by a short list of the places in which the action happens, and then within the chapter those jumps happen with no warning whatsoever. I found it quite jarring - there should be a sub-heading at the jump. Stirling might have done this in the earlier books too, but if he did I don't remember, so he must have done it better than in this one. So I'm rather disappointed. Still worth reading if you enjoyed the previous two books, but only to tie up the loose ends.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.