Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The thrilling conclusion to The Black Jewels Trilogy
With Queen of the Darkness, Anne Bishop closes out one of the best dark fantasy trilogies ever written. The depth and richness of the worlds she created in this series must be experienced to be believed, especially with "good guys" including the likes of Saetan, High Lord of Hell, and his sons Daemon Sadi and Lucivar. Of course, Jaenelle Angelline is the center of...
Published on 28 July 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
5 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe I read the whole thing
The Black Jewels Trilogy is THE most ridiculous series I ever read. The only reason I read all three was that I bought them all in one go. Anne Bishop seems to forget which characters are which and continually mixes them up with one another. In fact, are there any characters in this book who HAVEN'T been raped or sodomized? I feel this book should fall under the...
Published on 23 Jun 2001 by kaseyb@rocketmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The thrilling conclusion to The Black Jewels Trilogy, 28 July 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
With Queen of the Darkness, Anne Bishop closes out one of the best dark fantasy trilogies ever written. The depth and richness of the worlds she created in this series must be experienced to be believed, especially with "good guys" including the likes of Saetan, High Lord of Hell, and his sons Daemon Sadi and Lucivar. Of course, Jaenelle Angelline is the center of attention as always; the young girl we first met in Daughter of the Blood, struggling to find friendship, acceptance, and guidance from those who - unlike her awful family - could recognize her for what she was, has grown up and now sits upon the Dark Throne of Ebon Askavi. She is surrounded by a coven of friends from neighboring realms and their males, protected by the most powerful warlords of the Blood, yet despite her own power as Witch - the almost mythological manifestation of true Blood power, dreams made flesh - sorrow continues to number all of her days. Daemon Sadi, her chosen Consort, has yet to return from the Twisted Kingdom of madness, many Kindred lives have been lost at the hands of the evildoers ruling the kingdom of Terreille, and a cataclysmic war looms on the horizon, a war Jaenelle knows will kill everyone she cares about.
I think the beginning of this novel threw me off stride a little bit, and I was never able to completely recover. As Queen of the Darkness opens, several years have passed since Daemon emerged from the Twisted Kingdom, yet he is nowhere to be found. When he is located, largely by luck or fate, and brought to the Hall alongside the likes of Wilhelmina, Jaenelle's sister, he remembers nothing of the cataclysmic events that closed out the first book in the trilogy. When Jaenelle returns, a definite rift exists between her and Daemon, and Jaenelle has little to do with a sister she once loved. The situation with Daemon becomes clear as the book nears its end (culminating in a very touching scene), yet I felt there was a strong disconnect between the characters. Later, when the evil plots of Hekatah the dark priestess and her hateful ally witch Dorothea must finally be dealt with once and for all, I didn't completely buy into the way things happened. Certainly, there were some surprises, and I could barely stand to see some of the things that took place actually happen, but things just didn't seem 100% right. The pivotal subterfuge around which Jaenelle's secret plans are put into motion seemed especially contrived ? it was as if everyone just decided one morning that they should look at a central character differently, and I never saw any justification for the types of doubts that arose.
Fans of the series will be thrilled to know that justice is finally done, and those who have hurt Jaenelle and the members of her Dark Court over the years get exactly what is due them. Sadly, however, some dear characters are also lost or maimed through acts of villainy and the vindictive lust for power. The Kindred, non-human creatures of the Blood whom we encountered in Heir to the Shadows, are woven into this concluding novel in a beautifully intricate fashion, making for a more complex but at the same time enriching reading experience. At the same time, secondary players in the drama, many of whom I had struggled to truly understand, also emerge in grand fashion as the trilogy approaches its climax.
Even if I wasn't 100% satisfied with this third and final novel, I have nothing but the highest of praise for Anne Bishop's literary genius and for The Black Jewels Trilogy as a whole. No fictional kingdom of dark fantasy has ever seemed so vivid and original, nor have characters as complex as the main actors in this story ever been seen before ? not by my eyes, anyway. The subject matter makes these books unsuited for young readers, but mature readers who appreciate originality and the word-weaving of literary magic will very likely find themselves deeply immersed in this world and come away echoing my final comment here: Anne Bishop is the Queen of Dark Fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book was great, 23 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I only want to say a couple of things about this story. First, I loved Daemon. I loved him because of the depth of his love and his purpose in life. If one wants a romantic relationship, it's that type of love you strive for. Also, even though I knew what the ending was going to be like, I still cried along with the heartbreak Daemon felt. Anne Bishop portrayed this whole story, but especially Daemon's emotions, so well that I couldn't help BUT be sucked into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Black Jewels Trilogy" book 3, 11 Nov 2007
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Queen of the Darkness" is the stunning conclusion to Anne Bishop's "Black Jewels" trilogy; an epic voyage as young witch Jaenelle matures into her incredible power and establishes her court; an act required to legitimately halt the invasion and slaughter of the non human residents of Kaeleer.

Her enemies Heketah and Dorothea strive to destroy the threat Jaenelle poses to their dream of complete power; stirring up a war between the realms of Terrielle and Kaeleer. A gifted Black Widow able to untangle future events, Jaenelle foresees the death of many friends should Terreille and Kaeleel go to war; however another future exists. Instead the war between Terreille and the Queen of Darkness will save many lives; yet many still will mourn the cost; the life of Jaenelle, Kaeleel's Heart. Whilst Saetan with Lucivar and his family suffer in the cruel clutches of Heketah and Dorothea, and Daemon plays his most vicious game yet (and it's truly gruesome well proving how apt his pseudonym "The Sadist" is) to buy time for his beloved Jaenelle, for the first time she gathers the full scope of her power and prepares to purge all those of the Blood tainted by corruption.

With Daemon finally free from the Twisted Kingdom and reunited with Jaenelle, Saetan and Lucivar, he figures far more significantly than in book two "Heir to the Shadows". Again AB proves her talent; as the storyline grips the reader and events occur which could break a heart. Daemon's wooing of Jaenelle is tender enough for anyone looking for any hint of romance; whilst the dark, savage sides of each character is explicitly revealed as each act out of revenge or necessity. AB's characters are so amazingly drawn that at times I actually found myself wishing I too could possibly risk a dance with the Sadist, perhaps pick up an Eyrian warblade and try to match the skills of Lucivar or even sneak unnoticed (as if) into the High Lord of Hell's study to prove whether Saetan's rumoured fits of hysterical laughter resulting from the exploits of Jaenelle and her gifted friends (both human and animal) are true or not.

Even after reading this series for the fifth time now, it still makes my heart beat faster and tears fall in places. I've said it before and will say it again The Black Jewels Trilogy should be compulsory reading (just not for a younger audience). If Peter Jackson is looking for another fantasy epic project, he should certainly be directed towards the marvellous Anne Bishop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best!, 23 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
this book is ten times better than the other two! very very very well written. You can tell that Anne Bishop really enjoyed writting this one. The ending is very good. You almost wish Anne Bishop wrote another book to tell about what happens next. If you've started reading Daughter of the Blood and Heir to the shadows, you'll love this book just as much if not more. If you haven't started reading this series...it is well worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing finale, 20 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
A book that had me laughing and crying with the sheer force of it's prose. An amazing series that screams passion but has the power to make you think. All the ends are neatly tied in this final twisting tale. Oh why did it have to end? A series to treasure for life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any more?, 31 Mar 2001
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I did love this series, the first book in particular was really powerful - couldn't believe it was a first novel. I wonder though if the author was forced to cut parts of her plot out - brilliant though this is, there were several things that while explained, should have had more time spent on them, in particular Lucivar's relationship. However, her writing is excellent, and you can't help but be carried away by this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An unusual book supernatural but clever, keeps you guessing and worth reading, part of a trilogy which once started you have to finish, i would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A favourite now in ebook format...a must read for every fantasy fan., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book in hardback a number of years ago and really enjoyed it then....the re read has not disappointed.. Read the trilogy...well worth the time. Characters and setting brilliant. There are more in the series once the first three have been read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great trilogy. Keeps you wanting to read more. Great characters and story. Will definitely read more of Anne bishops work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne Bishop: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy), 14 Dec 2011
By 
Ms. L. A. Nightingale (blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
absoloutly fab book a defonate MUST buy its fab and i loved reading it its better to have the A% size book as more comfortable to hold but the story in the book istself is great and had muct drawn into it almost instantly was laughing and crying and wouldnt put the book down until i was almost asleep because i just wanted to cary one reading it and wanted to know what was next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy)
Queen of the Darkness (Black Jewels Trilogy) by Anne Bishop (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 2000)
Used & New from: 0.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews