Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in modern high fantasy., 22 Jan. 2005
By 
L. F. W. Vleugels "aeronef7" (Beek, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hollowing (Hardcover)
Robert Holdstock has managed to create a new universe in which he draws his readers for the journey of their life. Sometimes funny, sometimes disturbing or frightening but always keeping the reader wanting to read on. This book makes a great read for all those that have the imagination to fill in the blanks left by the author. Holdstock's unique setting is based on the fact that in some places undisturbed forest exist that have kept their magic and are places endless in size. Once a human manages to enter this absolutely strange land he or she will start to generate beings "mythago's" that are in fact parts of his memory. Let me leave it at that and for you to find out. This is no run-of-the-mill "knights, princesses and quests fantasy" our bookstores now seem filled with but an absolutely pure, new and unique storyline that keeps you reading.
The Hollowing is the fourth book in a series of books starting with the book that named the series "Mythago Wood". A full list can be found at: [...] . If you would like to understand more about mythago's and how Holdstock's forests work it is handy to read at least "Mythago Wood" before starting this one. If you are a die-hard high fantasy fan, this book offers enough clues to figure out how things work in the world Holdstock has created.
Also recommended The Gormenghast trilogy by Mervyn Peake, "The first, second and last chronicles of Thomas Covenant" by Stephen R. Donaldson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Holdstock., 14 Aug. 2009
Only 4 reviews?! Shocking, as this book is great. Of course it ties in with all the other Mythago books and if I remember correctly its the direct sequel to Lavondyss and has connections with Celtica. Its a few years since I read it but I think Jason from the argonauts features in it. I just think that everything Robert Holdstock does is truly amazing and different from anything thing else. Maybe thats why we have to wait so long for him to bring books out. Its always worth the wait though. And all of the mythago books are really easy to get hold of now so theres no excuses!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Confusing yet consuming, 7 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hollowing (Paperback)
The twists from reality to fantasy require concentration, you can't read this book whilst watching tv! But with a quiet room and a comfy chair you can be totally absorbed by these worlds of myth and time. Robert Holdstock is a genius and his books should be far more easy to find than they are.
Note to publisher: Please issue all the Mythago series, with dates so I know what order to read them in! I can't find a new publication of the Emerald Forest for love nor money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hollowing (Paperback)
This is not a book to be taken lightly. The twists from reality to fantasy require concentration, you can't read this book whilst watching tv! But with a quiet room and a comfy chair you can be totally absorbed by these worlds of myth and time. Robert Holdstock is a genius and his books should be far more easy to find than they are. All the Mythago series are recommended, if you can find them, but try to read them in order to ease the brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hollowing (Paperback)
Mythago Wood series are really worth reading. Strongly recommended to anyone who's still interested in written fiction and definitely to those, who are interested in anthropology and European mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 4 Aug. 2013
By 
D. A. Hardy "David A. Hardy" (Birmingham, W. Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hollowing (Paperback)
I actually knew Robert Holdstock, who was a regular attendee at SF conventions. A lovely man and a unique and highly imaginative writer. This book is a fine example of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Hollowing, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a present for my husband and it arrived on time. He is engrossed in this at the moment so I gather he is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spell binding book that I couldnt put down., 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hollowing (Hardcover)
I had this book for a year before i picked it up. When I started to read the book, it was confusing but as I got further through the book it started to make a little more sense. I found the celtic charcters fascinating. It felt like being pulled into the book and experiencing the adventure yourself, a good book to get your teeth into it. if you havent read any of Holdstocks books before I would certainly recommend that you try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hollowing
The Hollowing by Robert Holdstock (Hardcover - 28 July 1994)
Used & New from: £1.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews