Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great revisiting of the old characters!
This book brings back major nostalgia, revisiting characters first written back in the early nineties. Anyone who is a fan of Simon R Green's work will want to read this to see how the story ends with Hawk and Fisher. This is not his best book. His recent series have lacked the originality and punch of his earlier books, but its absolutely great to revisit the Forest...
Published 12 months ago by MR LUCAS C BOYS

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly but not quite, padding padding padding
Good book, oh but the padding. Simon we don't need there or four pages on what a room looks like, it took so long to get into the story and it was so bity, jumping from one thing to another, I thought this was a Hawk and Fisher book, half way through and I've only read a chapter or two with them in it ...
Published 15 months ago by Strivz


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great revisiting of the old characters!, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
This book brings back major nostalgia, revisiting characters first written back in the early nineties. Anyone who is a fan of Simon R Green's work will want to read this to see how the story ends with Hawk and Fisher. This is not his best book. His recent series have lacked the originality and punch of his earlier books, but its absolutely great to revisit the Forest Kingdom again after so long (last book Beyond the Blue Moon written in 2000). For any fan, old or new of Simon R Green, this is a must read, but will be more appreciated by the long time fans who have been enjoying these characters since the beginning (now feeling old!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Green with a bit of padding., 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
As we get older, we all seem to get that extra bit of padding. It would seem that Mr Green is no exception to the rule and the myriad of typical characters draw the story in a dozen different ways that fleshes out what would have been a 5* star rating.

However... remove the padding and you will get vintage Simon R Green, with amazing heroes that you will grow to love in the space of a few pages and dastardly villains who tread the thin line between right and wrong. And, of course, excellent actions that range from epic battles between heroes to great armies clashing in the night.

One gripe that i have to point out and which I hope other readers also find confusing is that the blurb on the back has nothing to do with the actual story.

Semi-Spoiler ahead

From the back of the book:
"Hawk and Fisher's adult children, Jack and Gillian, have been kidnapped." At no point in the story are they kidnapped.
"They were taken by the Demon Prince... who challenges the couple to one final battle for their lives" No they weren't
"But Hawk and Fisher believe there's another motive... one connected to a case they worked in Haven - a case they refuse to discuss" Unless I completely missed this one, at no point at all do they mention any case!!

Hopefully someone can post some comments and enlighten me or otherwise the publishers should be lining up someone for a disciplinary.

Anyway, that little gripe apart - if you are a Green fan and have enjoyed the previous Blue Moon books then you will feel perfectly at home with this, as long as you can put up with a bit of padding. If you've enjoyed the divergent character stories found in the Deathstalker books then you'll enjoy this all the more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the last for Hawk and Fisher, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
I've read all of Simon Green's books and I think that the Blue Moon/Hawk and Fisher are some of his best. However this one is padded, still very good but padded nevertheless. Anyone familiar with Hawk and Fisher knows the basic plot (even if the back cover does not relate to this story, maybe it was an earlier plot synopsis that slipped through? ) but to be honest that doesn't matter it is still a great read If you haven't read some of this series don't start here, this is the end, go back and get Blue Moon Rising - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly but not quite, padding padding padding, 20 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
Good book, oh but the padding. Simon we don't need there or four pages on what a room looks like, it took so long to get into the story and it was so bity, jumping from one thing to another, I thought this was a Hawk and Fisher book, half way through and I've only read a chapter or two with them in it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hawk and Fisher return again., 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Patrick Mullane (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
This is the third Hawk and Fisher book set in the Forest Kingdom. A while has passed since they had to flee Haven and in the interim they settled down ... however a dark enemy from their past has returned.
Overall, I enjoyed this book - Mr. Green has easily returned to the easy banter and partnership of the heroes with plenty of new characters providing an interesting back-story. However the book is over 500 plus pages and does then at times to re-hash prior storylines, so style rather than innovation was to the fore. Still a cracking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book too far, 7 May 2014
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
I found the first Hawk and Fisher book in my local charity shop and loved it. I ended up buying and readign the whole series and loved them all.,
I have to say that Oncde ina Blue Moon just isn't quite up to the standard of the others. One feels that Simon Green couldn't leave them alone at their peak and just had to go one one more,
While good, it is not as gripping at the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once I picked it up..., 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
I'm a big fan of Simon R Green and this book lived up to his standards - I started reading it and, hackneyed though it is to say it, I couldn't stop until I finished in the small hours of the morning! Now waiting for the next one....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
I enjoyed finding out what happened to Hawk and Fisher in the end (probably)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Sept. 2014
By 
Derek Nash (East Bergholt England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
Great. Hawk and Fisher back again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once in a Blue Moon (Paperback)
fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once in a Blue Moon
Once in a Blue Moon by Simon R. Green (Paperback - 7 Jan. 2014)
£10.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews