Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a bigger story line, complex, entertaining & a great escape.
I found it hard to get my bearings since it has been about a year since the brilliant Shadowlight (Kyndred Novels) came out in 2009, but once it came back to me I could not put this novel down, there is obviously more to come as she introduced more characters and left some tempting threads left dangling. LV cleverly zones in several characters living around America then...
Published on 11 Aug 2010 by sharon

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okish
I am a big fan Of Lynn VIehl, i have all of her Darkyn novels, but this new series is falling short for me a bit if im honest.

Its hard to get into at 1st because there has been such a long gap between the 1st book and this one and the story was okish, hence my title, Rowan is running away from her hellish past and happens to fall in love with a mysterious...
Published on 30 Sep 2010 by Beanie Luck Spud


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a bigger story line, complex, entertaining & a great escape., 11 Aug 2010
By 
sharon "I listen to my books while working, a... (Falmouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I found it hard to get my bearings since it has been about a year since the brilliant Shadowlight (Kyndred Novels) came out in 2009, but once it came back to me I could not put this novel down, there is obviously more to come as she introduced more characters and left some tempting threads left dangling. LV cleverly zones in several characters living around America then interweaves them in a complex plot that leaves you wanting more.

You may remember Rowan from Shadowlight & nursing a broken heart she pulls away from there Kyndred family & strikes out by herself.
Rowan's power is the person she touches will see her shift into their heart's desire. Not only is her power desirable but her DNA as well.

Rowan Dietrich has had a hellish brutal past & on the way through to Boston she stops off at New York City where she ran away from just to look around. She suddenly comes off her bike & crashes outside a French restaurant where she meets Chef Jean- Marc.
While waiting for the bike repairs by Sean (love interest number two) she stays & works at the restaurant. Unbeknowest to Rowan, her obsessive powerful father is looking for her for his own sick gain.
There are several other storylines threaded through the story & you see what the GenHance are upto & their motivations & their plans for the future plus you catch up with the 'moles's that where planted at GenHance previously.
Great story but could not be read really on it's own, great storytelling, enjoyed every page.

The next book in the series is Frostfire: A Novel of the Kyndred (Kyndred Novel) . Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okish, 30 Sep 2010
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a big fan Of Lynn VIehl, i have all of her Darkyn novels, but this new series is falling short for me a bit if im honest.

Its hard to get into at 1st because there has been such a long gap between the 1st book and this one and the story was okish, hence my title, Rowan is running away from her hellish past and happens to fall in love with a mysterious neighbour that isnt what he seems. A bit boring and predictable and didn't grip me as much as the darkyn novels did but maybe the next books that follow will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yup, it's great., 25 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
For starters, I would recommend you read the first book in this series 'Shadowlight' - it just sets things up a bit. This, second, book would be enjoyable without reading the first, but I do think you get more out of it knowing the whole story arc.

Once again LV has written a fascinating story, carefully interweaving the main character's storyline (Rowan, her men, her father) with the overall Kyndred story arc (Genhance and their machinations) and included some other members of the Kyndred (Drew, Taire). There was also a brief intersect with the Darkyn (Cyprien and Alex) - both in terms of them appearing in the novel at an opera, AND with a tantalizing explanation of how Dansart and Sean came to be as they are.

It would be too difficult to explain this book (or series) fully AND briefly, but this book covers Rowan, who is human, but with a few 'luxury enhancements'. She is a member of the Kyndred who are related to the Darkyn - probably through experimentation with Darkyn genetic material by at least one group (The Brethren, or Genhance). Every Kyndred has their talent, like the Darkyn, and Rowan's is to be able to take on the appearance of the person most loved by whoever she is touching - she can also mind-read them to a degree when in this situation. Rowan leaves her friends at the end of Shadowlight because she has been in love with Matthias (who ended up with Jessa in Shadowlight). Rowan is a talented cook (although untrained) and she ends up working in Jean-Marc Dansant's restaurant. Dansant also gives her a place to stay, a flat above the restaurant - the other flat is occupied by a mechanic Sean. Sean is partly a PI, partly a mechanic - Sean has been hired by Gerald King to find and return his daughter. Rowan falls in love with both men ... I'm not going to give anything else away, 1) because the plot really is so complicated that I would end up rewriting the book and 2) because I don't want to spoil the surprise (although bits of it are well-signposted).

Rowan is also being searched out by Genhance for her genetic material - no full explanation is given as to why Rowan and not one of the other women (or maybe I missed it). Taire is also Kyndred, on the run from Gerald King, and intersecting with Rowan outside of the restaurant - Rowan gives Taire food. Just as in the Darkyn series there is a feeling of an overarching story being told - in this series it is a bit unclearer, a bit more mysterious, and you have to pay more attention to the sub-plots.

Suffice to say that this is quality writing: the scene where Dansant teases/seduces Rowan with fruit, cream and sugar is just fantastic - sensual without being explicit (but then LV has always been about the sensual/erotic rather than the overly explicit). Rowan gets her happy ending, the Sean/Dansant 'thing' is cleared up (slightly worried about that one, but it just about 'fit' in the overall Darkyn/Kyndred arc), more characters are introduced, the Genhance plot is carried forward. All great - can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dreamveil, 10 May 2014
This is the 2nd book in the Kyndred Series and one that I was looking forward to, as I liked Rowan from her appearance in Shadowlight.

Did it live up to expectations? Mostly, is the honest answer.

These books are paranormal with a twist, so everything that I enjoy. However, they can be so convoluted and confusing that it can detract from the story (for me).

More characters are introduced in this book so keep your head and remember who is who!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 17 Sep 2010
By 
A. Walsh "AliW" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have enjoyed Lynn Viehl's series and eagerly awaited Dreamveil. Although readable, I was disappointed as I did not feel that this book was of the same quality as the previous book in the Kyndred series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels)
Dreamveil (Kyndred Novels) by Lynn Viehl (Mass Market Paperback - 19 Aug 2010)
5.82
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews