Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shout about Hush
Hush is a great read. It has a common theme of social misfit who becomes twisted and dangerous pursued by a cop that has almost as many issues as he does, but it does have some unique twists which makes it stand out from the hundreds of hybrids out there. It's a real page turner. Not for the faint hearted!
Published on 18 Mar. 2012 by Mrs. K. Parker

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hush
New name to me, had not heard of Anne Frasier. However ,after a slow start the story grew on me and I had to keep turning the pages. Don't know if I will get anymore of her books but worth thinking about.
Published 15 months ago by Jtudor


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shout about Hush, 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Mrs. K. Parker "Book Worm" (Blackpool England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
Hush is a great read. It has a common theme of social misfit who becomes twisted and dangerous pursued by a cop that has almost as many issues as he does, but it does have some unique twists which makes it stand out from the hundreds of hybrids out there. It's a real page turner. Not for the faint hearted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUSH - DON'T READ THIS ALONE, 25 July 2004
By 
Ap Nj Dorrall "nicky0512" (plymouth,devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Mass Market Paperback)
IT'S CRIMINAL PROFILER IVY DUNLAP'S JOB TO UNRAVEL THE PSYCHES OF THE MOST DANGEROUS MEN ALIVE. NONE HAUNTS HER MORE THAN THE KILLER WHO TOOK HER SON'S LIFE SIXTEEN YEARS AGO, THEN SILENTLY DISAPPEARED INTO THE DARK. NOW AN URGENT REQUEST FOR HELP FROM THE CHICAGO POLICE HAS REAWAKENED IVY'S GREATEST NIGHTMARE. THE MADONNA MURDERER HAS RETURNED TO FULFILL HIS CALLING.
THIS TIME IVY UNDERSTANDS THE KILLER INSTINCT. SHE KNOWS WHAT MAN IS CAPABLE OF. THIS TIME SHE'S READY TO CONFRONT HER DEEPEST FEAR, FACE-TO-FACE. FOR THE VERY LAST TIME....
THIS IS ANNE FRASIER'S FIRST BOOK AND WHAT A FABULOUS BOOK IT IS. DEEPLY GRIPPING, GRUESOME AND FRIGHTENLY COMPELLING.
IT IS AN INTENSE BOOK ABOUT EMOTIONS,DARK EMOTIONS. THERE'S A SERIAL KILLER ON THE LOOSE, POLICE ARE BAFFLED, PEOPLE ARE TERRIFIED, FOR IVY IT NEVER STOPPED.
NEW MOTHER'S AND THEIR NEW BORN SON'S ARE BEING MURDERED. AT TIMES IT IS SUCH A DISTURBING BOOK, IT REALLY PULLS AT YOUR EMOTIONS.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and absorbing. Loved it!, 1 Dec. 2014
By 
Susan May (Perth, Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
I love serial killers. I love reading about them. I love writing them. I wouldn’t want to meet one, and I don’t glorify them, but there’s something delicious about getting inside the mind of one via a good book.

Anne Frasier released the thriller Hush in 2002 and it went on to become a bestseller alongside many other bestsellers among her 24 books published so far. Frasier writes a serial killer with the best of them, just as creepy and absorbing as Thomas Harris’s Silence of the Lambs and as tense and satisfying in its conclusion as Michael Robotham’s 2012 Say You’re Sorry (named by Stephen King as one of his top three reads of that year).

The Madonna Murders as the press have named the killings is back again after a break of almost two decades. He brutally and mercilessly kills mothers and their babies. And now it seems the killer is back.

Ivy Dunlap, the only survivor of the Madonna killer, her son murdered by the killer, comes back to assist with this new outbreak of killings. She’s now a skilled FBI profiler with a degree in criminal psychology. However, Chief Homicide Detective on the case, Max Irving, is not welcoming. In fact, he doesn’t understand why they need her or whether these fresh murders could really be the Madonna Killer after all these years. Meanwhile, Max is also dealing with his teenage son, Ethan, who has changed in recent months and become distant from his father.

There’s depth to this story and the last hundred pages you can barely turn quick enough. The twists and turns and view into the mind of the killer are intriguing and the characters wonderfully imagined.

This is a story about a particularly horrifying killer; killing babies is a terrible spectacle, even in words. However, Frasier handles this well and with respect. If you love your thrillers dark and absorbing, HUSH has got to be your next read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping!, 8 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
When Ivy gets the phone call she's been waiting for for many years it means that she has to go back to the United States, to Chicago. She's a criminal expert and the police need her help to solve a difficult case. The Madonna Murderer is back. At first Max isn't happy with Ivy's assistance. He's a good detective and he doesn't want to take anyone by the hand while he has so much work to do. When he finds out who she really is his opinion about her changes drastically. Together they go after the killer. He's smart, he doesn't leave any traces and he keeps killing innocent single mothers and their babies. It has to stop and Ivy's understanding of his character and personality is probably the only advantage they have. She has to use it well, but that also means she's taking dangerous risks...

In Hush the reader sees the story from different points of view. I admire the fact that it was never chaotic. In this story it actually worked rather well. I got to know both Ivy and Max, plus some other members of the police force and Max's son. Every situation has more than one side and it was great to read about all of them. The Madonna Murderer is such a creepy guy and it was sometimes uncomfortable to get to know more about him. Which is exactly how it should be, it made the story gripping and it constantly kept me on the edge of my seat. It's clear who has committed the murders as the murderer has his own voice. The tension is in the when, the where and the how. I kept wanting to protect all the good guys. I sometimes even forgot to breathe while I was reading. The cover does the book justice, I think it's eerily beautiful. If you like thrillers about serial killers Hush would definitely be the book for you. I've read quite a few and I think Hush is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read!, 22 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
Just as the description says!...If you like books featuring serial killers then this has to be a must...Had me turning the pages as quick as I could!Really enjoyed this book. Tess x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
Superb reading. Next to John Connelly she is now my favourite author Couldn't put the book down as it capture the imagination and is full of tense, detailing narration that after reading you will know that is how a good book should be written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hush, 8 April 2014
By 
Jtudor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
New name to me, had not heard of Anne Frasier. However ,after a slow start the story grew on me and I had to keep turning the pages. Don't know if I will get anymore of her books but worth thinking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good page turner, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book it kept me turning the pages and reading them all. This is the first time I have read Anne Frasier I will be reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, easy read., 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
Hush is a fairly run-of-the-mill serial killer plot with all the familiar elements except that the victims are always a mother and baby. Although the terrain is much-visited this is nevertheless a very readable book and both Ivy and Max are likeable and believable characters.
Not at all sure how valid the progression of the killer's actions are but this is not a book you want or need to go deeply into. An easy read where the plot flows along and the writing is very competent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a brilliant read., 21 Nov. 2012
By 
A. Harrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hush (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading hush, and enjoyed it immensley. The plot was good and continued at a good pace, never once did I find it boring. I liked the description of the killer, and the characters of the other lead characters were well written and described, with the twist about Ivy's true identity.

I haven't written a review before, but felt that I wanted to let readers know that this is a good thriller, and well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hush
Hush by Anne Frasier (Mass Market Paperback - May 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews