Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight about a crazy Gambino street crew
I read this book after reading all the reviews at Amazon, and thought it must be worth a go,talk about a world where men are supposed to be living under this code of "Honour" in Roy DeMeo and his cohorts you get a look at a crew that would butcher you (literally), for being in the same vicinity as them at the wrong time.Here is a guy that would think nothing of...
Published on 28 Jun 2001 by MR S Hall

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange!
I read murder machine about 2 years ago and I though it was an interesting story. Recently I read Albert Demeo's book - for the sins of my father - about his life with his Dad, Roy Demeo. It is interesting to get a different perspective on Roy and read about how he was a good Dad. It makes it quite hard to believe he was capable of the acts told in Murder Machine. Murder...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by carolineluvsreading


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic insight about a crazy Gambino street crew, 28 Jun 2001
By 
MR S Hall (Middlesbrough, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read this book after reading all the reviews at Amazon, and thought it must be worth a go,talk about a world where men are supposed to be living under this code of "Honour" in Roy DeMeo and his cohorts you get a look at a crew that would butcher you (literally), for being in the same vicinity as them at the wrong time.Here is a guy that would think nothing of borrowing $100,000 of a loanshark, and then go and kill the guy the next day.No wonder Gaggi and Castellano himself eventually got tired of his gang and put a stop to them, they were almost flaunting the fact that they were breaking all the rules by being involved with narcotics, (there again, who in the mob isnt).Also nice to read about the Gambino family where its not all Gotti,Gravano,Castellano,I found Nino Gaggi to be quite an interesting if somewhat strange character who was from the old school background. Overall i thought Dominick Montiglio gave a good intersting account, but again like all informants, tries to glorify himself too much, and win the readers sympathy,as if it kind of pacifies him for doing what he did. A great success for Capeci and Mustain, defineatly worth a read if you like me want to read about the true life at the very bottom of the mob
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whens the movie coming out?, 3 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
Excellent from start to finish. My one critism of the book is that it maybe focuses too much on the main character Domininc. While being the nephew of a New York Capo (Nino Gaggi) he is not the most intersting character in the book. I would have liked the authors to have gone into more detail about the charasmetic killers, the Gemini twins. But overall a thorughly enjoyable read, this book would make a damn good movie, it would be interesting to see who would play the roles of the DeMeo crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange!, 19 Mar 2008
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
I read murder machine about 2 years ago and I though it was an interesting story. Recently I read Albert Demeo's book - for the sins of my father - about his life with his Dad, Roy Demeo. It is interesting to get a different perspective on Roy and read about how he was a good Dad. It makes it quite hard to believe he was capable of the acts told in Murder Machine. Murder machine is a good read but make sure and read Albert's book to get a different view of Roy, Dominick and the rest of Demeo and Gaggi crew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, a veiw of the mob from a different angle! GREAT!, 24 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
Reading most Mafia books thes days can be quite monotonous, repetative and cliche. Pinky rings, expensive suits, Capo di tutti Capis, classy Cadillacs, another coupe de grace, and so on and so on and so on. THIS IS NOT ONE OF THOSE BOOKS!!!!!!! Its focus is on the rise and fall of a small crew that grew from small time car theifs to big time gangsters. For once we get a close look at mobsters at the bottom and in the middle of a family instead of the tedious stories of yet another Godfather. It reads easily, and for not one moment does it bore. It also develops the characters beyond a paper thin description. We actually see a human side of life in the Mafia, rather than the people involved being just Hoodlums. The authors seemed to have put effort into making sure you see these men as men, who sometimes are genuinely good people or sometimes heartless cold blooded killers. ENGROSSING, UNBELIEVABLE. A TOP NOTCH READ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars some good bits some not so good bits, 17 Nov 2008
By 
James A. Craik "bronzedgod" (north east UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
Not a bad book but not one of the best. As with most mafia books it throws names at you thick and fast so remembering who is who and who killed who can be confusing at times. It could have probably been condensed a bit, some of the middle bits were a bit boring at times. Read it and did enjoy it but not as much as others read lately, Gaspipe and the Ice man to name a couple. The characters in those titles are also in murder machine so if you have not read these, give them a try.
Dont be put off reading it if you are a mafia book fan, it is worth the time but you will read better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reading about mafia in Madrid, Spain., 29 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was seeking on a book about NY mafia. Know something about Luciano and his times. Tried with "Murder machine" and... oh, surprise: it's about more contemporary times. Otherwise, I read it. And I found it impressive, brilliant and complete. It is hard for a spanish born to read in not his natural tongue. There has not been one time I have not readen more than 100 pages in a row. In four times, the book is over.
More, please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book but was expecting just a little bit more, 11 Jun 2008
By 
L. M. STOCKLEY "LMS" (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
I bought this book after reading some positive reviews and have to say that I totally agree with the majority of them. The crossing and the double crossing and the murders that are contained in this book are unbelievable, The Rosenberg Murder sticks in the memory in particular. The book, as good as it was though, was missing something but cannot put my finger on it. A good thing about the book is that it contains details about an individual crew, something that is not always available in Cosa Nostra books and instead they sometimes focus on an entire family. overall worth a read especially if you need info on the Murderous antics of the Demeo crew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars highs and lows, 26 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
Very good book. Just what you want to read if you have any type of interest in the mafia.....

All information seems very accurate and is definitely from a reliable source. The only problem i came across was that only a small bit was about the DeMeo crew and the man himself Roy DeMeo - which was why i bought the book in the first place!! Although the other parts are interesting (so murder machine is still very much worth reading) they aren't what i wanted to read about. Oh well good luck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bar none--the most facinating book ever written on the mob!, 28 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have an extensive library of mob books and some first-hand dealings with the mob, so I think I am qualified to give my opinion that this book will leave a lasting impression on you like no other book of its kind. It dominated my thoughts and dreams during the time I was reading it. My only criticism would be that they should have developed the most interesting characters (Testa and Senter) more. They deserve their own book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A realistic look at life in Brooklyn., 20 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having grown up and lived in Canarsie, where this story takes place, it is good to see that an author has captured what life is really like in Brooklyn, NY.
This story is talked about all over Brooklyn. The description of the events are very close to the facts. The authors capture the personalities of the characters with frightening realism, especially since quite a few were dead when the story was written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx)
Murder Machine: A True Story of Murder, Madness, and the Mafia (Onyx) by Jerry Capeci (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 1998)
Used & New from: £3.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews