Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Sebastian is My New Favorite Hero
I just began reading the St. Cyr Mystery collection a couple of weeks ago and I. Am. Dialed. Apparently, the author only churns out one book each year and although there are currently a total of 8 completed books, the next one isn't due to come out until March 2015. I am so hooked, last night I was trying to figure out how in the world, I could wait until March 2015. Ah...
Published 1 month ago by Judge Tabor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GET OVER HER SEBASTIAN
On every page of WHY MERMAIDS SING, C.S. Harris presents her readers with scenario after scenario that captures the imagination and keeps you riveted. Each of her characters, no matter how minor, adds yet another tantalizing layer to the tale and provides clues to aid in the solution of the multiple mysteries.

Sebastian St. Cyr (Lord Devlin) is a man on a...
Published on 2 Aug 2012 by Red Rock Bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Sebastian is My New Favorite Hero, 23 July 2014
This review is from: Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
I just began reading the St. Cyr Mystery collection a couple of weeks ago and I. Am. Dialed. Apparently, the author only churns out one book each year and although there are currently a total of 8 completed books, the next one isn't due to come out until March 2015. I am so hooked, last night I was trying to figure out how in the world, I could wait until March 2015. Ah well, I have no choice.

In "Why Mermaids Sing," Sebastian is called upon by local magistrate, Sir Henry Lovejoy, to assist in his investigation in what appears to be ritual killings of several young lords whose bodies are then dumped in very public areas. As Sebastian works his way through the clues and meets up with the various family members of the victims, he begins to see a common thread running through the families involved.

As is often the case in this set of books, there are subjects that are distasteful in nature - subjects we don't like to talk about or think about and yet, people are abused and murdered because of the darkness that resides in the hearts of humans. In this book, the reason behind the murders is indeed dark and dreadful.

On the personal front, Sebastian begins in earnest to interview for a valet. There's his every-present relationship with Kat Boleyn in which a huge revelation is made in this book. Some readers may be shocked by the reveal and dislike it. Others may see this as paving the way for a relationship in Sebastian's life that might actually be fulfilling.

We get small glimpses of Hero as more of her character, intelligence and ability to do some analyzing and sleuthing of her own is made known. One is made to wonder exactly what her part will be in the next few books - certainly, she is in Sebastian's life to stay and I for one, look forward to seeing this relationship make some headway.

What can I say? I am hook and Sebastian is my new hero in this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GET OVER HER SEBASTIAN, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Red Rock Bookworm (St. George Utah USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
On every page of WHY MERMAIDS SING, C.S. Harris presents her readers with scenario after scenario that captures the imagination and keeps you riveted. Each of her characters, no matter how minor, adds yet another tantalizing layer to the tale and provides clues to aid in the solution of the multiple mysteries.

Sebastian St. Cyr (Lord Devlin) is a man on a mission. A man of unrelenting single-mindedness, Devlin ignores threats to life and limb in his pursuit of the truth. His assistance has been requested in the investigation being conducted into the brutal murders of several innocent young men. Devlin gradually uses his deductive powers to ferret out the connection between the victims and the motive behind their deaths.

A man of principal who is not easily dissuaded he is bent on solving the murders as well as overcoming the obstacles to his personal happiness. His all consuming desire to make actress Kat Boleyn his wife has been met with resistance by not only his family but by Kat herself and his search for his mother has, to date, been a failure.

Capturing the flavor and history of Regency-era London, this book attempts to have it all; Romance, mystery, accurate depiction of class divisions, and a number of plot twists and surprising revelations. It could just be too much of a good thing, but I, for one, cannot understand this supposidly intelligent man's tunnel vision when it comes to Kat. Perhaps I am not "romantic" enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
After reading the first 2 novels, 'What Angels Fear' & 'When Gods Die' a few years ago, I've been wanting to get hold of more. Just bought the next 5 and am going through them when I get the chance to sit down and read (not as often as I'd like)
Engaging characters with great back stories and I love the period.
Nice to come across a writer not afraid to give us all the filth and degradation of the times along with the incredible privilege lived by the wealthy.
I look forward to reading the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent period piece, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Jeffrey L. Palmer (Zagreb, Croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
As usual, C.S. Harris does a great job of developing the characters and keeping the plot going at a great speed. St. Cyr is a great character, and the sense of time and place is fantastic. One of those books that you look forward to getting back to each evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why or why miss harris, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Ms. C. N. Sweeney "book wrrm" (manchester england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First off loved this book. Loved the previous books - adore the characters and adore the way i want Lord devlin to be with Hero even though i love the kat sebastien relationship. Why did u do this miss harris.
Other than that a fab utterly fab mystery - just gory enough, if you like James Mcgee hawkwood mysteries u will love this.

Have already preordered the next one - bring on november
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries)
Why Mermaids Sing (Sebastian St. Cyr Mysteries) by C. S. Harris (Mass Market Paperback - Oct 2008)
4.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews