Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!
Christine Daae has heard the rumours of the hideous Phantom said to haunt the great Opera HOuse, but she alone knows the truth of the man she calls her Angel of Music. For as he tutors her to become a brilliant singer, he also teaches her about hidden passions. He comes to her only in the darkness, awakening her with the velvet timbre of his sensual voice and arousing her...
Published on 7 Mar 2008 by Laura

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Umasqued
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Unmasqued. I loved how the author described honestly the intensity, the passion, the intimacy and physical aspects of Erik's and Christine's relationship in the story. This is how I wanted Phantom of the Opera to end where Erik and Christine are together for the rest of their time.

I didn't enjoy the Raoul, Phillippe and the...
Published on 5 Jun 2011 by DawnS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 7 Mar 2008
By 
Laura (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
Christine Daae has heard the rumours of the hideous Phantom said to haunt the great Opera HOuse, but she alone knows the truth of the man she calls her Angel of Music. For as he tutors her to become a brilliant singer, he also teaches her about hidden passions. He comes to her only in the darkness, awakening her with the velvet timbre of his sensual voice and arousing her with his touch. He is real. Her inspiration. Her Ange de Musique.

But beatuiful Christine has attracted the attention of Opera House patron Raoul, Vicomte de Chagny, and his lascivious brother, the Comte, who has his own reason for hating the mysterious Phantom.

Soon Christine will find herself torn between the luxurious life of the handsome Vicomte and the only man who understands her music and deepest desires. She will have to make the choice between living a life in the light of nineteenth-century Paris society - or spending the rest of her days revealing her love to the Phantom in the shadows of the OPera's catacombs.

When i picked this book up, i thought "ok, sounds interesting". Well, let me tell you, this is definately a keeper!
It's another side to the story of Phantom Of The Opera. You'll epecially love this story, if you always wondered what would happen if Christine wanted to stay with Erik and not run off with Raoul, as you could always sense that Erik and Christine were meant to be together.
You can also really sense the love ties between Erik and Christine, and it draws you into the story, helplessly wanting to find out what happens in the end.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants a really good book, good storyline, with exceptional characters, and good erotica thrown in as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmasqued, 28 Aug 2010
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
I like this version of the Phantom of the Opera. It is both entertaining and exciting. I like the first part best. The latter part about the Chagny mansion is not as good,and the comte seem too evil a character. I like Erik better as an orchestrator than as a victim. Luckily there is justice in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Umasqued, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Unmasqued. I loved how the author described honestly the intensity, the passion, the intimacy and physical aspects of Erik's and Christine's relationship in the story. This is how I wanted Phantom of the Opera to end where Erik and Christine are together for the rest of their time.

I didn't enjoy the Raoul, Phillippe and the Chagny's resident scenes so much. However, those scenes made me appreciate that Erik and Chritine were more determined to make their true love work and whatever situation was thrown at them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Phantastic, 25 Feb 2010
By 
C. Ashpole "old musical buff" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
Seriously, this book amazed me. It was exactly how I always wanted The Phantom of the Opera to end. Also, characterization was brilliant - I really felt for Eric and Christine as they tried to make their love work.

Beuatiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Both brilliant and uncomfortable, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
****SPOILERS**** I am a huge 'Phantom Phan' and so I was really excited to read this book. It was really really good however, I didn't think the Phantom was as mysterious as he could have been. Also, there was a lot of couples involved, it wasn't just the phantom and Christine. Every character has a 'naughty' scene and some more uncomfortable than others (for example Firmin and Madame Giry...). If you're looking for lots of character love then you've got the right book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Erotic Phanfic, 4 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
As a lover of Phantom fiction, I was intrigued with the idea of this book, but was hesitant to pick it up. After consulting with friends who had read it, I decided to give it a go, and was nicely rewarded.

I enjoyed the first half of the novel that detailed the physical relationship growing between Erik and Christine, which was a series of soft-porn vignettes. Christine is much different from Leroux's creation, now an impure (since her sixteenth birthday, we are told), sexually-adventurous woman who knows the ways of men and women. Erik is her mysterious and sensual Angel of Music, striving to bring her to greater and greater heights of passion while delaying and denying her the ultimate sexual experience. The author makes no bones about describing sexual congress, which is to be expected in an erotica novel. At times it is arousing, but at times it is disturbing - Erik's calculating manipulation of the vulnerable Christine, and the slow and insidious way he takes possession of her body and soul.

The characters of Christine, Raoul, his brother Philippe and Madame Giry are in particular altered from the conceptions of Leroux and Kay. Raoul is a selfish knave, lusting blatantly after Christine when he knows she loves another. Philippe is a highly-disturbing sadomasochist, and the scenes which include him border on violent rape, which becomes more extreme as the novel progresses. Madame Giry, no longer the diffident ballet mistress, is a randy, worldly woman who teaches her young ballet students how to deal with men, and she herself deals with the managers in the way that pleases her best. Her scenes are, if a little odd, funny at times as she manipulates the hapless managers.

The second half of the novel is a much more disturbing orgy of violence and depravity at the Chagny estate after the fire at the Opera House. Raoul becomes more and more like his odious brother, who schemes to have Christine at any cost, even murder. Christine descends lower and lower into the pit of depravity and fear, and is at the last moment redeemed in the arms of her one true love - Erik.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 25 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
Everyone who loves Phantom of the Opera wants him to end up with Christine. This book does have the story of the Phantom but the all the characters we know and love have sexuality and express it sometimes pretty graphicly, esspecially the 2nd half at the chateau. The story gets twisted to end in Eriks (Phantom) favor if that's a spoiler the book starts with "For all the women who thought Christine should have stayed with the Phantom", so you pretty much know the ending. But I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible ,smutty and badly written book .STAY AWAY !!!!, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
absolutely terrible book , if your looking for a good phantom based book ,look for susan kays phantom or the return of the phantom or paisley swan stewarts book ,but stay away from this book . the story line is terrible ,the charecters are unlikeable ,( even erik is only remotely likeable and i usually love erik ) the sex scenes are badly written and degrading to women , nothing sexy about them . i read the book to the end and i was relieved when it was done ,i wont be reading it again , first chancei get ill be giving it to someone . terrible .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phantastic, 12 Aug 2008
By 
Laura Best (County Durham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
I adore the phantom of the opera. and this book really didn't let me down. Its said to be taken from he diaries of christen daee. Its sad happy sexy and romantic.the author obviously has a great passion or the phantom if you are like em and do 2 read this book.Well wrote and a great read it now takes pride of place with my fave phantom books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible, 7 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera (Paperback)
This book took over a month to arrive and after all that is was sorely disappointed! It totally degrades all the characters changes the story and uses infantile language. Mon dieuI was so glad when it was over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera
Unmasqued: An Erotic Novel of the Phantom of the Opera by Colette Gale (Paperback - 7 Aug 2007)
8.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews