Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Finale for Company of Rogues
Lady Mara St. Bride with the telling hair of the more adventuresome St. Bride's was ripe for an adventure. Sneaking out of the house to experience a gaming hell with an older family acquaintance she never thought to later find herself barefoot, wearing nothing but a chemise, and wrapped in a blanket while running through the streets after escaping unwanted amorous...
Published on 30 Aug 2006 by M. Rondeau

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To resuce a rogue by Jo Beverley
Not very impressed. The author seemed to have a very limited knowledge of the Regency period. Whilst I sympathised entirely with the main character, who, having beeen injured at Waterloo had become addicted to Opium, I do not wish to read an entire book which concentrates on the hero trying to break free of it! There was obviously so much research had been done for it...
Published on 3 Aug 2010 by ebonysoxy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous Finale for Company of Rogues, 30 Aug 2006
By 
M. Rondeau (West Springfield, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
Lady Mara St. Bride with the telling hair of the more adventuresome St. Bride's was ripe for an adventure. Sneaking out of the house to experience a gaming hell with an older family acquaintance she never thought to later find herself barefoot, wearing nothing but a chemise, and wrapped in a blanket while running through the streets after escaping unwanted amorous attentions. It was providence that the person who came to her rescue was none other than Lord Darius "Dare" Debenham - bosom friend of her brother Simon and a fellow `rogue'.

After the battle of Waterloo, Dare had been presumed dead. Instead he'd been rescued and kept prisoner of sorts by a bitter enemy of the founder of the `Rogues'. Mortally wounded he was initially given laudanum for the pain but was then given larger amounts than needed for a longer period of time to purposely turn him into an addict. Now two years later Dare, once one of the more carefree and boisterous of fellows, fought a tortuous battle to free himself from the `monster within'. The battle would be laden with many pitfalls, least of all rumors that Dare had cowardly fled the battlefield. As Dare fights his addiction, Mara appoints herself to be the one who brings the `old Dare' back into the light, redemption, and land of the living and loving.

*** Jo Beverley has always pushed the envelope with her edgy historicals and has concluded her "Company of Rogues" with one of the more powerful and compelling reads in a tremendous finale of this exceptional series. The last unmarried rogue, Dare Debenham's battle to overcome his addiction was extremely well done giving the reader an unforgettable experience of the ravages of addiction and the tortuous journey one needed to free oneself from the beast. Additionally, Mara was developed as an inspiring and outstanding heroine whose strength of purpose and determination in supporting Dare through his addiction and battling for his love made for an unforgettable heroine.

In a masterful stroke Beverley scores a big hit in bringing all the rogues back to rally around one of their own. Additionally, she shores up this impressive story by filling the pages with wonderful secondary characters and some poignantly emotional moments. Suffice it to say, Jo Beverley remains at the top of her game as one of the true Queens of Regency romance with this fabulous Rogue finale.

Marilyn Rondeau, RIO - Reviewers International Organization
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars To resuce a rogue by Jo Beverley, 3 Aug 2010
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
Not very impressed. The author seemed to have a very limited knowledge of the Regency period. Whilst I sympathised entirely with the main character, who, having beeen injured at Waterloo had become addicted to Opium, I do not wish to read an entire book which concentrates on the hero trying to break free of it! There was obviously so much research had been done for it concerning the opium but ALL of it seemed to have been used to fill the book at the expense of the story! By the time I had read half the book I was very bored of it. The main heroine, Mara, I found to be extremely annoying! She invariably opened her mouth and promptly put both feet in! By the end I was hoping he would jilt her just to get rid of her!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old, 3 Oct 2006
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
This book (the plot of which is detailed in the review below) was ok. Not great, not awful, just ok. The author seems to have relied on the opium addiction of the hero to give the book that little something extra. Frankly, sometimes it worked but others it really didn't. I'm not quite sure what it was about the book that turned me off. Maybe it was the lack of chemistry between the protagonists. One second, Dare was trying to get rid of Mara, the next he was begging her to wait for him. I actually put this book down at one point and started to re-read my last book, that's how bored I got half-way through! However, if all you want is a few hours of escapism & run-of-the-mill romance, then this book will do the trick. Just make sure that you have a good one lined up for after!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Irritating, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally found this book very irritating especially the heroine but other readers might enjoy it. I will not read it again and wish I had gone with my first instinct and not bothered to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Beverley at her best, 6 Oct 2006
By 
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
This eagerly awaited finale in the Rogues series is Jo Beverley at her best.

She has the knack of creating a story in which the reader feels the emotions of the characters - you will suffer with Dare as he struggles to fight his dreadful addiction, but he always has the support of the other Rogues, and their loyalty and love is felt throughout. Lady Mara is convinced that he will succeed and determined to be by his side as he tries - if he will let her!

A truly lovely story which brought tears to my eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great story in the rogue series, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Jo Beverley's rogue book series. It is great reading, cleverly thought out and you certainly keep in touch with characters who were mentioned in other books in this series. Keep the Rogue books coming I have nearly read all of them now and I don't want to stop yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To Rescue a Rogue, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating as I found this story enjoyable and compelling reading. I will have no hesitation recommending it to friends and relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love finding out more about the rogues and their wives ..., 21 July 2014
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
The story continues...I love finding out more about the rogues and their wives and lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting better and better, 14 Sep 2007
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Rescue a Rogue (Mass Market Paperback)
I was really looking forward to reading Dares' story and it was fantastic!
I was sad after reading in "An Unwilling Bride" that Dare was dead and then when it was realised he was actually alive and being held prisoner by Therese Bellaire (An Arranged Marriage) and the Rogues and the Georges rescued him in "The Devil's Heiress".
This story is about Dare trying to get over his opium addiction (thanks to Therese Bellaire) and strugging with trying to make the final hurdle with give it up once and for all.
Enter Lady Mara (Simon's sister) she falls madly in love with Dare and wants to help him, but at first he tries to keep his distance, it doesn't work cos he falls madly in love with her.
There are a lot of issues dealt with in this book and I think that the story about his being addicted to opium was very well written and Jo Beverley really put the character through the mill in order to get better from the addiction.
Dare and Mara was very suited to each other and this book left me feeling really good afterwards.

The only bad news it that I only got 1 book left until the end of the series and this series of books have been some of the best books I have read and I will be disappointed when they are finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Rescue a Rogue
To Rescue a Rogue by Jo Beverley (Mass Market Paperback - 25 Jan 2007)
£5.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews