Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read
I really enjoyed this book but didn't think it was quite as good as her first - The Great Pretender. It started so well with excellent description for both lead ladies which gave the reader a sympathetic warmth for each of them and a feeling of "they'll be all right now" once they'd met each other. The book always held interest but the obsession of secrecy of having...
Published on 20 April 2007 by A. Rose

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmm....
this book was a good read, though I thought it wasn't as good as The Great Pretender. It does have a big surprise in store for the reader.
It wasn't believable that someone who abandoned her daughter as a newborn and NEVER looked back suddenly gets this urge to stablish a relationship with her 16 years later, after receiving a phone call, neglecting her second...
Published on 18 Mar 2008 by CC7


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 20 April 2007
By 
A. Rose (Devon & Menorca) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Betrayal (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book but didn't think it was quite as good as her first - The Great Pretender. It started so well with excellent description for both lead ladies which gave the reader a sympathetic warmth for each of them and a feeling of "they'll be all right now" once they'd met each other. The book always held interest but the obsession of secrecy of having lost your husband with both lead characters seemed a bit unreal - surely two women in very similar situations would talk openly with each other. As I've previously said, there was always interest to keep you reading and WOW - the betrayal was the worst sort of betrayal but would that really happen ? I'd guessed who and what the betrayal was way before halfway through the book but dismissed it because it was so unbelievable.

All in all this was a great read and I think if I hadn't been waiting with such anticipation since reading her first book I would have said this one was brilliant. Having said that, I am eagerly awaiting her third. Expect too much and you ask for a little disappointment !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it in one evening, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent and exciting. Literally couldn't put it down. Almost as good as the great pretender. Would definitely recommend this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it....., 17 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book in a day. I loved the book, the characters & the story. I haven't yet read the first book by this author - but have just purchased it. I felt the story was a believable one, given Leslie's start in life. I won't give anything away,but she had no counselling following Jeff's death, had a rubbish early life & had kept herself hidden from Husband 2 & his family for fear of being hurt rejected etc.

Looking forward now to reading Milenia's first book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For the sex alone!, 6 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Great Betrayal (Paperback)
This writer is so good at writing love scenes! I blushed while reading.

This is the story of Leslie Cavanaugh and how she ran away from her past and it caught up with her still. I was up until the wee hours with this one. A rousingly good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis, 7 Oct 2006
This review is from: The Great Betrayal (Paperback)
Book Description

By all appearances, the Cavanaughs of West Palm have an ideal marriage and family life-the perfect home with few complications. Leslie, the beautiful mother, shines brightly in corporate America. Her adoring husband, Luke, is movie-star handsome and an award-winning architect. Their privileged daughter, Kathryn, enjoys the best that life has to offer.

But castles built on sand are eventually washed away by the sea.

Leslie Cavanaugh is not who she claims to be-she's a woman with a painful secret that's about to shake the entire family to its core. And she's not the only one playing a game of deception. Her daughter is risking more than the family's good name with her search for love and attention in all the wrong places, and Leslie finds the unmistakable clues that her husband is having an affair. As she struggles to hold her family together, nothing can prepare her for the most intimate betrayal of all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me ..., 26 May 2009
This review is from: The Great Betrayal (Paperback)
Not as good as The Great Pretender, pleased i read that first or it would have put me off Millenia Black ,..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmmm...., 18 Mar 2008
By 
CC7 (Berne, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great Betrayal (Paperback)
this book was a good read, though I thought it wasn't as good as The Great Pretender. It does have a big surprise in store for the reader.
It wasn't believable that someone who abandoned her daughter as a newborn and NEVER looked back suddenly gets this urge to stablish a relationship with her 16 years later, after receiving a phone call, neglecting her second daughter in the process. Not a single birthday card or a phone call to see if the baby was alive in all these years and all of a sudden she cannot live without her firstborn?

Furthermore, and as nother reviewer pointed out, two women who had gone through the same experience of losing a husband at a young age would find solace by talking about it with each other, whereas here it was all about secrecy, as if the late husbands would have been criminals.
All in all, an ok read, you can get it from your local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great Betrayal
The Great Betrayal by Millenia Black (Paperback - 2 April 2007)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews