Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second in the Darkyn Series
Private Demon picks up virtually where If Angels Burn ended, with Thierry Durand on the run from the other Darkyn. He has come to Chicago to pursue Luisa's attackers and it is here that he meets Jema Shaw - an heiress who doesn't yet know the part she will play in the Darkyn world. Unbeknownst to Thierry, Valentin Jaus (the suzerain of Chicago) is also interested in...
Published on 27 May 2007 by Lesley70

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not your average romance (but that's not a bad thing)
This book continues from the first one in the series (If Angels Burn)

and is about the story of Theirry (a supposedly Dreanged Darkyn) and Jema ( a newbie to the series). Thierry happens upon Jema decides shes his saviour and starts to visit her in her dreams.

To be honest the the underlying stories were far more interesting than the romance of the...
Published on 18 Oct. 2006 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Second in the Darkyn Series, 27 May 2007
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
Private Demon picks up virtually where If Angels Burn ended, with Thierry Durand on the run from the other Darkyn. He has come to Chicago to pursue Luisa's attackers and it is here that he meets Jema Shaw - an heiress who doesn't yet know the part she will play in the Darkyn world. Unbeknownst to Thierry, Valentin Jaus (the suzerain of Chicago) is also interested in Jema's welfare.

I found Jema to be a fragile heroine, she has an underlying strength, but she is more passive than Alex (the heroine from the first book). Without Jema or them being aware of it, the two male Darkyn - Thierry and Valentin - are competing for her. The relationship between Valentin and Jema is sweet and you can understand why so many readers are on his side. As Alex notes on p157 'Valentin has a way of making you fall in love with him'. Jema's interactions with Thierry on the other hand are brutal, vivid and intense. One subject this book deals with (beautifully) is how we don't always get to choose who we love or whether they will love us back.

Unlike some series The Darkyn really needs to be read in order, so I would recommend you read If Angels Burn first. Several plot threads from the first book are picked up in Private Demon - the attack on Luisa, Michael and Alex's relationship (one of the major subplots through the series) and John Keller's quest for meaning. There are also new storylines started here, it's very much a multi-layered series and as such the paranormal romance tag is a bit misleading. This is more of a complex urban fantasy tale, focusing on the relationships between the various characters and their struggle for survival against not only their enemies, but also their own natures.

Also available

Book 1 - If Angels Burn

Book 3 - Dark Need

Book 4 - Night Lost

Coming in January 2008 Book 5 Evermore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not your average romance (but that's not a bad thing), 18 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book continues from the first one in the series (If Angels Burn)

and is about the story of Theirry (a supposedly Dreanged Darkyn) and Jema ( a newbie to the series). Thierry happens upon Jema decides shes his saviour and starts to visit her in her dreams.

To be honest the the underlying stories were far more interesting than the romance of the main characters and it is evident that the book is part of a series rather than it being a stand alone. Having said this the lack of romance can be forgiven because everything else about the book is good. The relationship between the characters in the first book gets more exposure (although maybe that should have been in the first book) and the love scenes in this book are much better.

The Brethren storyline contains the same amount of intrigue and I often found the book hard to put down as I wanted to know what was going to happen next. All the stories tie up well at the end and you find yourself waiting for the next book.

All in all this was a good book but if you are looking for pure romance then I wouldn't reccomend it as romance takes a backseat. If, however, you are looking for a can't -put-down book with a few steamy scences thrown in then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The preview raised high expectations that weren't met, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
It was better than the first book, but not as good as I hoped it would be. My mouth fell open in horror when I turned a page to find the author had resurrected that boring John Keller character and given him even more page time. If I'd known he was going to be in the book I would NOT have bought it. Once again he was allowed page time to bore the reader with his backstory and his whatever life. To be honest I thought his sister (the heroine of the first book) turned out to be freaking annoying in this book too. That whole aspect of the story was pretty much pointless and culminates in a...WTHeck moment at the end that adds nothing to the story but a convenient winding up end scene.

I like the author's word flow. She has created some captivating characters. I admire her creative concept for the story (I wish I'd thought of it). She has a lot of talent (she held me as a reader even though I had to skip the boring character sections), but her talents are overshadowed by the plot which feels forced. It felt wrong.

Spoiler Alert:

Why was it wrong? The big reason is the heroine ends up with the wrong vampire. According to the author's lore as outlined in the first book, the human who ingests/imbibes a particular Vampire's blood becomes that particular vampire's sygkenis (vassal) and the Vampire will be their master. You can't have Vampire blood lore and then not bloody use it! The Vampires apparently believe (according to the first book) that there isn't any choice in the matter. The author might argue Jema hasn't fully transformed, but she has her talent, she has her scent...so she's a vampire! Why wasn't Jema drawn inexplicably to her "master"? In the first book the not fully transformed Alex is drawn to her "master" almost against her wishes so that excuse doesn't wash. Yes, I'm picky.

Strangely, the Vampire condemned to unrequited love for eternity or until someone shops off his head or shoots him with a copper bullet, is (I think) the more engaging hero. The short blonde Germanic Val should have ended up winning the heart of Jema, but no, happiness is dangled before his eyes only to be snatched away by the big French long dark haired muscular Thierry (Because why? Thierry resembles the stereotypical Alpha male and he got into bed first?). That bugs me, but not as much as the fact that the tortured Thierry didn't seem tortured at all. It was like...maddness was so last month! I've recovered my sanity and why would I display even the slightest emotional trauma of having been tortured body and soul? Why would I show even the slightest anger issues towards women after learning my beloved wife betrayed me to my enemies and encouraged them to torture me?

The heroine's mother and the doctor were under-developed characters who were pivotal to the story who should have had more page time.

It's like there are two stories colliding in the book. It would have made more sense if Thierry had remained a troubled soul throughout the story and used his gifts in some way to support the romance between Val and Jema and remained what he originally was...a soul who needs time to heal in his own story.

I read the book because the preview at the end of the first book in the series raised high expectations. I won't be buying any more books in the series (if only to avoid any future reference to that stupid John Keller character). If anything the book has reminded me that I love reading character development and I hate pointless subplots. The book didn't deliver what I love so for me...it's a two, but if you're one of those readers who loves endless subplots and hates reading about character development you'll probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for the next in the Series, 6 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the second book in the Darky Series (following "If Angels Burn") and don't let the blurb on the back of the book put you off it is not all "dreams fulfilling deepest darkest desires" there is the story of Jema Shaw who lives with a domineering mother and tries to cope with a debilitating illness! and Thierry who we met in the previous book - has he gone mad and is he completely dangerous? The story of Thierry's struggle with madness after being tortured and betrayed by his own wife! and the story of Jema are well worth the reading along with the development of our previous characters introduced in "If Angels Burn" this is a series to rival Christine Feehan but with a different slant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good enjoyable story., 7 Mar. 2012
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
In the second book of'The Darkyn Series'we meet Jema Shaw,an antique expert who moonlights as a police forensic consultant.Every night her dreams are taken over by Demon Thierry Durand,fulfilling her deepest,darkest fantasies.
Thierry was tormented body and soul by his peoples'greatest enemies and by his wifes' betrayal.His only hope for healing lies in Jemas' heart.
Unfortunately Thierrys'visits has placed Jena into the crossfire between two ancient enemies,a religious order known as The Brethren and a cadre of immortals known as The Darkyn.
I enjoyed this book more than the first in The Darkyn series If Angels Burn as there was more of a story,more action and definately more passsion.I took to Thierry in the first book and eagerly awaited for his story to be told.I originaly bought this book in 2006 but reread it recently and enjoyed it as much as the first time.4* because as much as i enjoyed it i have read better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Between a 3star and a 4star., 20 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was much better than the first book in the series, 'If angels burn'.There is much more romance. And I could sympathise with both the hero and heroine. Very quickly you realise that Thierry is a sane 'man' once more. Maybe the one sore point was when will Jema, the heroine, realise what's going on, this seem to take forever.
This is a much warmer book than 'IAB', not as dark as it either.
Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars private demon, 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another brilliant story from the Darkyn series. Thierry (a very disturbed vampire) and Jema (antiques expert come csi) get it together. Fighting and sex happen often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse)
Private Demon: A Novel of the Darkyn (Signet Eclipse) by Lynn Viehl (Mass Market Paperback - 9 Oct. 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews