Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional Duke meets his Matlockian destiny!
Another success-story from Jo Beverley, St Raven is a semi-member of the Rogues series. Regular readers of Jo Beverley will have met Tris Tregallows, the Duke of St Raven, in her last book, Hazard. In one of his appearances in that book, he plays the highwayman, Le Corbeau, and that is how we first meet him in his own story. He holds up the carriage in which Cressida...
Published on 1 Sep 2003 by Dr W. Richards

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to the promising start
Had an exciting start that drew me in immediately. However, this wasn't sustained throughout the book. I felt the story dragged in the last 80 or so pages and I began to lose interest.
I like the key characters, Tristan and Cressida, but wished they had resolved their differences sooner. After all that had gone on between them at the beginning, it was very...
Published on 22 Nov 2003 by Peau


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unconventional Duke meets his Matlockian destiny!, 1 Sep 2003
By 
Dr W. Richards "wmr-uk" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
Another success-story from Jo Beverley, St Raven is a semi-member of the Rogues series. Regular readers of Jo Beverley will have met Tris Tregallows, the Duke of St Raven, in her last book, Hazard. In one of his appearances in that book, he plays the highwayman, Le Corbeau, and that is how we first meet him in his own story. He holds up the carriage in which Cressida Mandeville is travelling and is immediately intrigued by what is obviously a lady in distress, travelling under duress with her escort. And yet a lady who does not wish for his rescue.
Cressida, in a desperate attempt to regain her family fortune, has agreed to accompany Lord Crofton to an orgy. In return for partnering him there and sacrificing her virginity to him, he has promised to return to her some ivory erotic statues - within one of which is hidden the precious gems which will recoup her father’s gambling losses. She had a cunning plan to escape becoming Crofton’s mistress too, or so she thought. But all of her plans are destroyed when the highwayman steals a kiss from her and then rides away with her into the night.
When she discovers that her abductor is the Duke of St Raven, she is no less furious. But Tris offers to help her regain the statuette. The only problem for Cressida is that she will need to accompany him in order to identify exactly which statuette it is that she needs. And so she has to dress as a houri and attend an orgy.
This is just the beginning of a chase around different parts of the country, at different times, in search of the statuette, and of course the beginning of Tris and Cressida’s relationship. It’s an exciting, and at times passionate, story, which also - unlike books by other authors set in the same era - faces head-on the realities of life within polite society. Being a duke involves sometimes onerous responsibility. It means not being able to behave exactly as one wishes in every matter. Being a young lady, especially one of not particularly good family, means that one cannot put so much as a little finger wrong, otherwise one is ruined. And never can the duke and the unfashionable gentlewoman meet on anything even approaching equal terms.
I didn’t enjoy this book quite so much as Hazard, and I think part of that was the fact that Hazard focused solely on Anne and Race’s relationship, while in St Raven there is the plot of the statuette and the sub-plot of the highwayman Le Corbeau. For me, these distracted from what I really wanted to read about, although I accept that Cressida and Tris could never have met except under this sort of circumstance. They didn’t move in the same milieu. Cressida is the daughter of a nabob, a gentleman who made his fortune in trade in India and, although now knighted, is certainly not of haut ton. The family normally lives in provincial, unfashionable isolation in Matlock, Derbyshire.
And this is largely the conflict in the story: how can Cressida and Tris be together when he is so far above her in status? How could she cope with being a duchess when she hasn’t been raised to it? It was interesting to see the other side of the coin immediately after Hazard, in which a duke’s daughter finds a way to be allowed to marry a social nobody. I was pleased to see that the example of the Marquess of Arden, who married a governess (Beverley’s An Unwilling Bride) was cited, although it appears that Beth Arden has had some problems being accepted into Society - going to tell us more at some point, Beverley?
It felt to me as if Tris fell in love with Cressida very quickly - too quickly, almost. Admittedly, the main conflict of the book related to their disparity in social standing, but I didn’t really feel that I’d seen them fall in love - not in the way I saw Anne and Race or Lucien and Beth fall in love. This is probably the main reason why St Raven gets four stars rather than five.
I was also hoping for further glimpses of Anne and Race in this book; it seems as if they may well face problems of acceptance, and I wanted to know that their married life has begun well and that they have plenty of friends who will champion them - Tris being one, but the Rogues in addition. However, Anne and Race were only ever mentioned in passing. I would love to see the two couples meet!
Finally, who is Caradoc Lyne? He’s clearly a friend of Tris’s, and possibly someone who travelled on the Continent with him. He appears to be employed by Tris in some capacity, or at least dependent on him; Tris gives him things to do and asks him to find things out. His role in Tris’s life is never explained. Will we see him again? The hero of a future novel, perhaps? This dedicated Jo Beverley reader is waiting with her fingers crossed!
wmr-uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensual and Spicy, 18 Feb 2003
By 
Ms. C. M. Winton "katzw82" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
Cressida Mandeville is already in trouble when she gets kidnapped by a well known highwayman. But when she finds out the highwayman is none other than the Duke of St Raven(Tristan Tregallows)she see a chance for an adventure and a way out of her troubles with some help.
Tristan would never leave a lady in distress especially one he finds very attractive. He decided to educate her a little and take her with him on alittle adventure to a orgy to steal a statue. Only now he wishes he didn't the innocent lady is far to curious and if anyone were to find out Cressida would never be accepted in society. There can be no connection between them or people will start to wonder. But St Raven can not keep away and decides he will do anything to pocess Cressida Mandeville.
I really enjoyed this book but did not find it as good as some of her others. The story is fast paced, fun and very hot. If you are looking for a relaxing story I would not choose to read this one! After reading Hazard and meeting St Raven in that book I have been looking forward to this book for a while and was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to the promising start, 22 Nov 2003
By 
Peau (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
Had an exciting start that drew me in immediately. However, this wasn't sustained throughout the book. I felt the story dragged in the last 80 or so pages and I began to lose interest.
I like the key characters, Tristan and Cressida, but wished they had resolved their differences sooner. After all that had gone on between them at the beginning, it was very clichéd and not believable that Tristan did not tell Cressida of his plans to clear her name, resulting in misunderstandings and the story dragging on. And that was only the beginning of the end!
Not Ms Beverley's best work but I'm still a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highwayman and Houri, 19 Jun 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
Jo Beverley's Historical Romances are definitely a cut above most of the rest with interesting locations, better historical accuracy than the norm and a variety of plots and characters. "St Raven" links in with the 'Company of Rogues' series although not directly referring to the Rogues, and the events in this story are contemporaneous with the book "Hazard", the events of which are taking place at the same time as this book and are occasionally obliquely mentioned. However "St Raven" works entirely well as a standalone novel and might be a good one to introduce new readers to Jo Beverley's work.

Cressida Mandeville, daughter of an India Nabob, has to take some drastic action to save her family's fortunes. Her father has lost everything at a game of cards but Cressida knows that there is a fortune in jewels stored in an ivory statue in their country estate, now won by the unpleasant Lord Crofton. She decides that she will extract those jewels and to do so must put herself in the power of Lord Crofton who believes that she is agreeing to be his mistress at an orgy in the house. Cressida plans to escape before anything happens to her, having secured the jewels, but her plans are interrupted on the journey to the house when the highwayman Le Corbeau holds up the coach and carries her off. She's imprisoned in a cottage but treated well and very quickly recognises her abductor, the Duke of St Raven.

St Raven is playing at highwayman for one night only to help his bastard cousin, the real Le Corbeau, be proved innocent. However he can't leave a poor virginal miss in the clutches of Lord Crofton so whisks Cressida away. Once he has her and hears her story, however, his impulsive nature requires him to assist her to retrieve her jewels, thus starts a strange comradeship between the Duke and the daughter of a man in Trade. Of course events get more and more tangled, the statues seem to be very popular to all who see them, Cressida has to disguise herself as a houri and attend an orgy with St Raven but eventually has to return to her dull, safe life with her parents. However things are continually changing in Cressida's life and she discovers a new, adventuresome side to her nature; unfortunately the Duke is still out of her reach socially and she is unsure of his steadiness and constancy, fearing that she's just one of his whims.

Although a romance story in some ways this book focuses more on the problem of retrieving the jewels for Cressida's family and keeping her reputation safe, the falling in love seems to just happen, and fairly quickly, and without much fanfare. There is a misunderstanding towards the end of the book that keeps hero and heroine apart a little longer but it's not an annoyingly clunky one like so often is the case and is not really central to the plot. Cressida and Tris Tregallows are very different people from very different social stations but they find companionship with each other and I found it a believable basis for a lasting relationship. The initial objections to a marriage between them, mainly that Cressida has no training as a Duchess, are rather glossed over by the end of the story and I was also a little surprised at some of the intimate behaviour between the two but I did find the story a great read and I liked the characters, including the side characters, very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kudos for St. Raven, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Michaela (Cubbington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, hope to see many more of this genre from this excellent authoress.
When do we see Cary's story?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, it had all the elements Love, Passion, Highwaymen, Handsome dukes bring on more Jo I am fast running out of kindle books from your current amazon list
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot story, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Kindle Edition)
great story lots of excitement and a real page turner I will look out for more books by Jo Beverley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great read fronJB, 5 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Kindle Edition)
Every time I read on of the rogues series I think it can not be as good as the last but it is. Every one is a gem on its own . How see manages the variety and quality is a mystery to me but I can not wait to read the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just getting better and better, 6 Sep 2007
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
This series of books is just fantastic.
They get better as the series goes on. This book was just WOW.
Again like Hazard it wasn't your usual "Rogue" book and it actually didn't feature any rogues.
This book is about Tris Tregallows the Duke of St Raven, one night (if u read Hazard u will remember) he dresses up and acts the job of "The Crow" and holds up a carriage, however 1 of the people in the carriage is Cressida Mandville, he sees who she is with and decides to "rescue" her. He ties her up and takes her back to his house where he comes clean about who he really is. There is an instant attraction between the 2. He sort of becomes her protector as she is on a mission. However due to this mission they both feel like that they won't ever be able to be together no matter how much they love each other.
But because its a love story (I dont want to ruin too much) they do eventually get to be together but it takes a while what with circumstances and misunderstandings etc.
The plot to this book was excellent and the characters superb.
If you are like me and loving the series, definately give this a go, I can't wait to start Skylark :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT THAT GOOD, 14 July 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: St. Raven (Mass Market Paperback)
If this is your first book writing by Ms Beverley, you may enjoy the story, but if you have read some of her books recently, try avoiding this one for a while because scenes in previous books are repeated again here: orgies, marks, disguise... which makes the story a bit monotonous and uninteresting. Another disappointment is that the cool, mysterious duke described in Hazard is not more, there is a try to make St Raven vulnerable and profound, but fails. Tris kidnaps Cressida while playing the highwayman and then decides to help her to recover her family's fortune, which takes them to an orgy and the danger of damaging her reputation if recognised. The story is not very original, but help to pass the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St. Raven
St. Raven by Jo Beverley (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Feb 2003)
4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews