Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, intense, unique and totally without peer.
I was riveted from page one. This is one of Mr. Littles best novels because it appeals to the facts that it could really happen. In the beginning it starts out at a phenomanal pace and rockets straight into pure genius. His descriptions , characters, situations and use of the story tellers gifts are without competition. Clearly the best horror novelist of our...
Published on 3 Mar 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Showing his age....................
Better than Stephen King, eh? I doubt many people will be remembering Mr Little after he's popped his clogs. I used to be a fan of this guy, with his early efforts like the 'mailman' and 'Dominion' and the 'Ignored' proving good fun, with some OTT setpieces and clever (if illogical) ideas played out. Unfortunatly since then, he seems content to put out the same book again...
Published on 15 Oct 2005 by reubenleivers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Showing his age...................., 15 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
Better than Stephen King, eh? I doubt many people will be remembering Mr Little after he's popped his clogs. I used to be a fan of this guy, with his early efforts like the 'mailman' and 'Dominion' and the 'Ignored' proving good fun, with some OTT setpieces and clever (if illogical) ideas played out. Unfortunatly since then, he seems content to put out the same book again and again, with slighly differnt settings and one dimensional characters getting involved in the same old same old. Nothing new here at all. Bentley Little is showing his age and needs to pull some new horrors out of his hat if he's gonna impress me any more. His latest book 'the Resort' I only read twenty pages before selling it on e-bay. For proper scares and better writing check out more consistent authors such as Jack Ketchum, Ramsey Campbell, Richard Matheson, Fritz Leiber, Clive Barker, Richard Laymon, Robert McCammon and Joe Lansdale. These guys really do give the 'King' a run for his money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun!!, 5 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
Not a bad book, but offers nothing new to the genre. Some creepy moments, and a good premise. But as with many horror novels, let down, I feel, by a weak ending. Good fun though and can be read in a couple of days. Read The Store for a better Bentley Little book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Keep Walking If You See This In Your Bookstore., 14 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
As a long-time fan of Bentley Little, I've only really found myself disappointed by two of his novels, those being 'Houses' and 'Guests'. And now the author scores a hat-trick as I find myself being disappointed with 'The Walking', too. Perhaps I've been spoilt by fantastic novels like 'The Association' and 'The Mailman' but, whatever the reason, 'The Walking' just didn't cut it.
The book starts off well enough, with an intriguing idea - a man is horrified to learn that his father has died... despite the fact that the deceased continues to walk around his room in a neverending circle. And it isn't an isolated case - the same thing is happening in various parts of the country. People die, but refuse to stay still. And nobody quite knows why.
Every second chapter delves back into the events of a century earlier, giving the reader more clues as to why the present-day dead are walking. And then, for me at least, the story gets far too ridiculous for its own good, and my suspension of disbelief stretched way past its elastic limit and snapped. But to say any more would be to spoil it for those who are tempted to read it. Although I can add that this isn't simply a zombie story. No, there's more to it than that. Unfortunately, the reason for why the dead are still animate just had me throwing my hands up in near-disgust.
I'm sorry to say that, of the three Little novels that have disappointed me, this ranks as the lowest. Avoid, unless you like your horror as ridiculous and as far-fetched as is humanly possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, intense, unique and totally without peer., 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
I was riveted from page one. This is one of Mr. Littles best novels because it appeals to the facts that it could really happen. In the beginning it starts out at a phenomanal pace and rockets straight into pure genius. His descriptions , characters, situations and use of the story tellers gifts are without competition. Clearly the best horror novelist of our generation (yes, even better than Stephen King). Without Bentley Little, horror would be the same old thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good!, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
The Walking isn't quite as good as The Store or The Association or Guests. But it is a gripping read with some genuine scares. I didn't think there was any need for the epilogue though. The ending prior to that was effective enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Walking - A Review, 5 Nov 2009
By 
sb (Lancaster) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
A fast paced, page turning, plot rich thriller. Contains originality in a well written about genre - the walking dead / zombies. I will definatley be looking for other books by the same author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WALKING...NOT TALKING..., 26 Sep 2006
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Walking (Mass Market Paperback)
Once again, this Bram Stoker Award winning author brings it home with yet another, highly inventive horror yarn. Stephen King is a fan of this author, as he has declared this book "the horror event of the year." This is high praise indeed from this venerable master of the horror genre, and rightly so. This was the first book I ever read by this author and I have been hooked ever since, as this author's books are generally well-written, highly original, and genuinely creepy, as well as full of twists and turns in the plot. This one does not fail to deliver.

This book is really two stories. One takes place in the remote western frontier of the nineteenth century. The other takes place in the present. Both are compelling stories that are inextricably interwoven and intertwined. It seems that during the nineteenth century, an unusual group of people was the focus of ongoing persecution. One man, William Johnson, a member of his group, decided he wasn't going to take it this persecution lying down and secured permission from the United States government to start a colony of his people in a remote place called Wolf Canyon in the then Arizona Territory. This book tells the story of their town and what happened to it and its inhabitants.

In present day small town America, somewhere in the Southwest, something mighty strange is beginning to happen. Some people are dying but they are just not staying dead like they are supposed to. Instead, they begin to walk. They are an unstoppable force, as they do the unthinkable and walk purposefully with a seeming destination in mind. This is the mystery that confronted private investigator Miles Huerdeen, when his dead father decided to trip the light fantastic and begin to walk. Miles soon discovers that the walking dead have a connection to Wolf Canyon, but the reason why is what his journey will reveal.

The author seamlessly weaves these two tales together, creating a highly inventive and entertaining story. As the connection between the past and the present is made clear and the two stories meld into one, the reader is kept spellbound. This author knows how to put together a tale of contemporary horror, making the reader believe the unbelievable. This author is right up there with the best contemporary writers of the horror genre. Those who enjoy this genre will not be disappointed by this book and will, undoubtedly, be looking to read this author's other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Walking
The Walking by Bentley Little (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Nov 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews