Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has discovered mankind's history prior to Sitchin's work
Have just finished reading From the Ashes of Angels by Andrew Collins. I am the founder of a study group on ancient man and our roots and read a lot of books on the subject. Collins has broken into new territory, and discovered a civilization prior to the Mesopotamian civilizations of Sumer that Sitchen covered so well. The further one goes back, the more difficult the...
Published on 2 July 2000

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where does history start and mythology end?
This is a very thought provoking book.It draws many different strands of mythology and biblical sources together to make a series of cogent arguments suggesting that mankind's earliest remembered beginnings were guided and nutured by an advanced species of watchers. The only disappointment for me was that the origin of the watchers themselves was not further...
Published on 23 Sep 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has discovered mankind's history prior to Sitchin's work, 2 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
Have just finished reading From the Ashes of Angels by Andrew Collins. I am the founder of a study group on ancient man and our roots and read a lot of books on the subject. Collins has broken into new territory, and discovered a civilization prior to the Mesopotamian civilizations of Sumer that Sitchen covered so well. The further one goes back, the more difficult the research must be, so Collins must be considered to be one of the premiere researchers today. This book is a must read for anyone searching for mankind's roots and to learn the truth of our history, and where man might have learned the skills and tools allowing civilization. It seems the Mesopotamians did not just pop into existence as a full fledged civilization as some historians would have us believe, but there were precusors, prior civilizations the Mesopotamians learned from. Collins calls this race the Watchers, because that what they are referred to in the Book of Enoch, and he has done an excellent job of discovering evidence that these Watchers were a highly advanced civilization long before circa 3,800 when the Mesopotamians began to rise as a civilization, and that the Watchers seemed to have been present in many areas of the globe. An absolute must read. I look forward to more work from this talented author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race, 30 Sep 2004
By 
D. J. Franklin (kingdom of wessex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
Angels...what does that mean to people today. Guardians sent by god to watch over us, spirits that inhabit a parallel dimension or is there a more substantial explaination to their appearance in our history. Andrew Collins seems to think there is. Unlike most of the books that are published on Angels, this is not a New Age search for something to enrich our shallow lives, this is a pure historical detective work, a search for a historical reason for the existance of Angels.
A basic recap of the Biblical angle on these characters is in order. The Angels, known more often as Watchers, were the messangers of God, some of whom fell from grace by "knowing" mortal women. The offspring of this union was known as the Nephilim, giants who walk among men. Nowhere does the Bible state that the Watchers had any special powers, not un-natural ones at least. Nor does it state that they where immortal, in fact it almost implys they had a limited life span. Noahs birth is of interest, he is described as being a Nephilim, with caucasian features rather than the dark appearance of his kin.
The problem with any work of this nature is trying to remove the later gloss of Christian dogma to try and find the original story. Angels have been made into some chubby little Cherubim by medieval artists and the realities of what they represent has been lost. Once you manage to separate embelished religious nonesense from the fragments of the original mythology a different picture begins to emerge. Appart from the bible itself Collins has found some useful sources. The book of Enoch, for example is a book that although was once part of the original teachings of the christian way, fell out of popularity and was eventually lost. It never became part of the "official" bible and was rediscovered and finally translate in 1821. The Book of Enoch is an account of a mortals journey to the place where the Angels live in the sky. That all sounds a bit fanciful if we believe that they are some sort of spirit guardian of the Christian paradise. If however they where just a slightly advanced but secretive culture living in the mountains, it becomes a lot more plausable. Babylonian mythology comes under scrutiny from Collins new interpretations as does the later writtings of the Angel cults which still thrive to this day amongst the Kurdish tribes of the area.
Before you dismiss this as a load of old von Daniken, at no point is Collins suggesting that there where aliens or some super race living unnoticed in the vicinity. More a race of what we call Culture Bringers, a common phenomenon through out ancient history, operating at a respectful distance, but imparting some of its knowledge on the budding civilizations on the plains below. Could this be the origiinal Eden, or paradise itself. Collins study of linguistics from the area shows us the stem of many of the words we now use in a mystical sense that link into the story in a very matter of fact way.
The conclusions of the book are fascinating and hold up well to close scrutiny. Any book of this nature can only be the results of one interpretation of the facts, but after reading this I am quite prepared to fight from his corner of the ring.
Biblical re-interpretations are always a brave thing to undertake, but what Collins manages to do is unravel and re-examine facts with out in any way undermine anybodies faith. So are the Angels of the Bible a real race, up until now hidden from the distant gaze of modern historians. I think that they just might be, but I`ll let you draw your own conclusions. Anyway Angels as a forgotten race is far more beliveable than a bunch of babies with blond curly locks, wings and harps, don`t you think?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where does history start and mythology end?, 23 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This is a very thought provoking book.It draws many different strands of mythology and biblical sources together to make a series of cogent arguments suggesting that mankind's earliest remembered beginnings were guided and nutured by an advanced species of watchers. The only disappointment for me was that the origin of the watchers themselves was not further developed.
The book is primarily the developement of ideas, tangible evidence to support the interpretation is extremely thin. Nevertheless the conclusions are as plausible as any that exist at this period of human evolution and I hope the authors further develope their ideas in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immensely enlightening and thought provoking, 2 Dec 2004
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
I'm not going to add much on the good reviews on the history aspect.
I have never ever been one for history...used to make me fall asleep in school but my mind has been opened on reading this to the point I am now reading a number of the titles highlighted within the book
From the Ashes of Angels kept me intrigued from cover to cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting reading, thought provocative, 13 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
I have read similar books on the subject and I must admit that this is one of the better ones. The problem I have, however, with all the books that deal with the distant past is that the authors use myths and legends any way the see fit in order to make the point. The most often quoted book is the bible. The bible tells tales for some people and the truth for others depending of course on the point one is trying to get across.
This book is well researched, well written, easy to understand and my favorite parts are the closing chapters. I would recommend this book to those who are interested for another point on view on the roots of humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work, 2 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
Well written and researched work. This book is like a breeze of fresh air in a subject plagued by either elusive aliens or moralizing speeches of would be modern witch hunters. It does has its mistakes (I for one would like to see more photos of the places or information in which the writer bases his theory) but the author manages to keep an unbiased and unattached point of view to the information about a very conflictive subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Work, 2 Jan 2004
By 
David J. Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
I was impressed by the authors explicit connections between recurring themes / language. Ok, there is speculation here but he tells us about it rather than hiding it. This book is of course only a fragment in a much bigger picture, with historical revisionism springing up everywhere, but it is a book inspiring enough to be read by itself and left there. This kind of work can be culturally dangerous unless handled sensitively and I beleive that the author managed to stear clear of any diffusionist tendencies. Fascinating stuff and written with a captivating spirit; I read in a small number of sittings, eager to get back into the thread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mithology and fantahistory ... a good speculative book, 12 Aug 2001
By 
Ventura Angelo (Brescia, Lombardia Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
The mythological part is fascinating...here is an exploration of a very controversial and obscure myth.I also noted that the author's line of reasoning steps short of the absurdities of Von Daniken and the likes (except for the ludicrous paragraph in which he implies that "a face that shine like the sun " means that the Fallen Angels used total UV protection creams.Gimme a break!Has Andrew Collins ever heard of metaphors and poetic exaggerations? ) I was somewhat disappointed when the Author mentions the Maya and piramidology,and when he shifts to New Age themes. Still,I found it a worthy read and a very interesting speculation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very much interesting and very well written, 12 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
the book has connections to Bible, apocryphs, history, Graham Hancock's theories, revelations on culturies dating 8000 b.C. It is very easily readable, and has connections to several antique culturies. It has a high degree of interdisciplinarity. (I read the Italian translation).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No suprises for the "Ancient Mysteries" reader, 19 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race (Paperback)
As any reader of romantic fiction knows, there is a certain satisfaction in knowing how the story goes. Andrew Collins provides a well researched piece on the theological/mythological background to the concept of Angels. This isn't your airy-fairy "Get in touch with your Angel" book, which is a point in it's favour. He seems a little confused as to whether Angels were shamans with snake, vulture and lion totems or a superior race of humans (or one leading to the other). The race through "freaky" literature at the end is at once disappointing - he admits he has no mindblowing answers, and useful - I've discovered I'm a goth at heart which will astound and amuse my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race
From the Ashes of Angels: The Forbidden Legacy of a Fallen Race by Andrew Collins (Paperback - 26 Jun 1997)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews