Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars63
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 December 1998
When Dolores is found holding a rolling pin over the head of her former employer, her dead former employer she became the prime suspect in what was thought of as a murder investigation but when Dolores tells her side of the story nobody could have imagined the truth, maybe she didn't kill, this time! Stephen King has never written such a moving story of love, loyalty and murder.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
Fantastic book. Best book I've read in a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Only a short review here. Incredibly good characterisation, for not only Dolores but also the others (her husband, daughter, employer). The whole murder scene is done so well, with the eclipse being the setting. The question of whether Dolores is lying right through the inquiry, considering her intelligence and brilliance with language and lies, is something that kept me hooked.
One negative is that things get a bit repetitive here and there, which we all know King likes to do.
As for the quality of the ebook itself, it's grand. The pictures are almost unrecognizable, but I think the physical book was the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 December 2011
SPOILERS

Dolores Claiborne is being questioned by police over the death of her employer, Vera Donovan, who broke her back falling down the stairs - or was she pushed? But as Dolores tells her story, it turns out she is responsible for a death, just not Vera's.

Stephen King chose to write this novel in the first person voice of Dolores who speaks in a very folksy, colloquially New England style, and it's up to the reader whether or not this voice is something you can handle or not as it goes on for the entire book. At times it feels like Grandpa Simpson telling a story, rambling on and on about something completely unrelated and uninteresting, and Dolores always must comment on anything anyone says. So when she relates a conversation she tacks on her thought on what that person said after it. It makes for an exhausting read.

My real problem was that this book didn't need to be this long. There's an extended section of the novel at the start where she talks about her relationship with Vera and focuses exclusively on her toilet habits. Then she relates everything about her family - bear in mind the framing device of this story is that she is sat in a police interrogation room - and then everything about her boring life.

There is a decent story here, of how she killed her husband after he molested their eldest daughter, but good lord it takes a helluva long time to get there. Most of the time I wanted to throttle Dolores and her endless banal platitudes that didn't add anything to the story and only made me angrier that King indulged so freely in tedious padding to what shouldn't have been longer than a short story of about 75-100 pages.

This is really only for hardcore King fans as it is far from his best work. There's no horror here, except some half-baked nightmares Dolores has, and the folksy nonsense Dolores spouts and her dull existence he seems to hold up as so virtuous because she's working class is nothing more than drivel coming from white trash. "Lisey's Story" is still the worst thing King's written but "Dolores Claiborne" runs a close second.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
One of the best Stephen King books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Stephen King on top form!
An unusual, chapterless single narrative does nothing to detract from this fine story from the master of dialogue.
Dolores is a working class heroine with a mouth like a sailor, but you just can't help but admire her.
A wonderful human story that gets seriously spooky. Classic King!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
Dolores didn't kill Vera Donovan but she did kill her husband Joe St George.

Dolores Claiborne is my favourite of Stephen King novels, although the subject matter is sad and to most could be a trigger for the most horrific memories, it has to be said it is a finely written masterpiece.

It covers the relationships among women....mother and daughter, Mistress and maid and what they will do to survive the brutalities and suffering of life, men and marriage.

Dolores Claiborne is the voice in this tale, the reader cheers for her, cries with her and most of all has sympathy and empathy in equal measures. Dolores is a strong woman, and so is Vera. Their 'bitchy' but not so obvious fondness for each other is plain and the fact that Vera leaves Dolores a massive sum of money on her death shows that there was a bond, probably due the fact that both their husbands were not the sort of men either of them needed or deserved, between the two women.

What I found incredible with this novel, is that the softness and the heartbreak is actually written by a man, and even more so Stephen King who is best known for horror and gore.

I highly recommend this one, it is rather fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
another masterpiece by the king!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Very different from his usual books but fascinating to read - I wondered whether it would remain as Dolores' testimony all the way through - and it did! If you like Stephen's books, you really should try this one...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2001
As a newcomer to King, I was expecting this book to be spine-chilling and creepy. It actually turned out to be more of a sociological country crime novel. Quite entertaining in its own way - certainly an untaxing and relaxing book. Dolores' story is interesting enough to keep you reading on - but the continuous chapter business was a bit irritating (how do you decide where to finish a reading stint!?!). Overall, I would recommend this book to someone as a travel book or if they had some time free and wanted something easy on the brain.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.