Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!
As a King fan of too many years, I have no qualms in saying this is my favourite King book so far. It feels like a long, short-story if you get me. It has more of the feeling of the excellent 'The Body' than of 'The Stand' where the main tale is all, and there are no sub-plots.
It is told in an unusual way that is at first hard to get into. But once you have, you...
Published on 2 Oct 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average tale of domestic discord
Though I am not Stephen King's greatest fan I have read several of his novels though I tend to shy away from the horror end of things. Dolores Claiborne was recommended by my friend, and I had no real idea what it was about.

The book is written in monologue form, its protagonist Dolores, is being interviewed by the police regarding the death of her employer,...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by R. A. Davison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A superb mystery - one of the best King novels, 29 Dec 2012
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
I have to say I am the biggest King fan (and I don't mean that in the creepy 'Misery' sort of way) and I have read almost all of his books, except this one which I recently finished. This book is not the usual Stephen King story of horror but is actually more of a mystery kind of story. And what a story it is. From the first few pages I was totally hooked on the book and found it quite difficult to tear myself away.

The story is told by Dolores St. George (formerly Clairborne) and it starts from the present but goes back into the past to tell the tale of how Dolores got into the situation that she is in currently. The story is gripping and the length of the book seems just right to tell it in.

I think this is one of the best King novels I have ever read and would definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "An accident can sometimes be an unhappy woman's best friend" - Vera Donovan, 22 Oct 2012
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Kindle Edition)
To all naysayers that accuse Stephen King of being a commercial-blockbuster machine, this novel is another proof that this artist is instead a great writer. Written as a long monologue, Dolores Claiborne covers the testimony the titular character gives to Sherrif Andy Bissette of Little Tall Island. Over nine hours - if you listen to the audiobook version - she tries to prove her innocence in Vera's recent death, but admits to the 1963 murder of her late husband, Joe St-George, which the Little Tall Island community accused her for years, but never had the proofs to send her to jail. So to put claims to rest, she narrates her relation with Vera Donovan, her husband, her children and the events that brought the death of her husband and Vera.

Apart from a connection Dolores feels from a little girl involved in Gerald's Game, and a newsarticle mentioning the town Derry, involved in the novel IT, this book is not a paranormal story, but a realistic story of a woman fighting a dangerous patriarchal force living in her house.
And unlike conventional novels, this experimental story is in two chapters, the first one is Dolores' testimony, and the last one is the epilogue. So for those who read their books in several sessions, a bookmark is obligatory. As for the Kindle users, don't expect the book to be divided in different forms of chapters, so remember this if you buy an e-book copy of Dolores Claiborne. About the electronic version, I did found a few little typographical mistakes, but they were insignificant details that did not stop me from enjoying this novel, which I heard is going to be soon shown into an opera in 2013.

As such, Dolores Claiborne is an excellent Stephen King novel for its fans and an excellent entry to newcomers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average tale of domestic discord, 4 Feb 2012
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
Though I am not Stephen King's greatest fan I have read several of his novels though I tend to shy away from the horror end of things. Dolores Claiborne was recommended by my friend, and I had no real idea what it was about.

The book is written in monologue form, its protagonist Dolores, is being interviewed by the police regarding the death of her employer, and the words are entirely "her own". There is no descriptive prose and it features no dialogue from the three people in the room with her. Dolores is the storyteller, they, are her audience.

The narrative voice succeeds well, an elderly housekeeper who though not particularly educated is wily, bitchy, and has a don't-give-a-**** attitude. The kind of cantankerous old biddy you wouldn't want to cross. It sounds authentic and effortless, as though King has a good ear for picking up the rhythm of the older woman who likes to tell a good story.

The story itself is pretty simple, told in the present and the past Dolores talks of the difficulties of working for a demanding, nasty boss, and of how the two came to be kindred spirits in more ways than one. The story flicks between the two, when Dolores first began working for Vera as a pregnant young wife, and her days as her carer and companion at the end of her life. It is really two stories as well..the story of how demanding it is to be a carer and the story of how suffocating a bad marriage to a bad husband can be. Despite this, the story holds few surprises, the problems in Dolores's marriage are the usual cliches and Vera's early characterisation as the wealthy domineering boss is cliched too.
What is quite heartwarming is the way in which these two women become the glue that holds the other together, and the way in which they keep each others secrets.

It's a short book, and an easy read. I enjoyed it, but I don't think it's a extraordinary book. I'm glad I read it, it has a potboiler quality that sort of drags you in. It's a page turner, but it doesn't make waves with any originality, except for perhaps in the very well executed use of the monologue form.

Can't decide between a 6/7 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Blah blah blah drone drone nonsense blah blah the end, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
SPOILERS

Dolores Claiborne is being questioned by police over the death of her employer, Vera Donovan, who broke her back falling down the stairs - or was she pushed? But as Dolores tells her story, it turns out she is responsible for a death, just not Vera's.

Stephen King chose to write this novel in the first person voice of Dolores who speaks in a very folksy, colloquially New England style, and it's up to the reader whether or not this voice is something you can handle or not as it goes on for the entire book. At times it feels like Grandpa Simpson telling a story, rambling on and on about something completely unrelated and uninteresting, and Dolores always must comment on anything anyone says. So when she relates a conversation she tacks on her thought on what that person said after it. It makes for an exhausting read.

My real problem was that this book didn't need to be this long. There's an extended section of the novel at the start where she talks about her relationship with Vera and focuses exclusively on her toilet habits. Then she relates everything about her family - bear in mind the framing device of this story is that she is sat in a police interrogation room - and then everything about her boring life.

There is a decent story here, of how she killed her husband after he molested their eldest daughter, but good lord it takes a helluva long time to get there. Most of the time I wanted to throttle Dolores and her endless banal platitudes that didn't add anything to the story and only made me angrier that King indulged so freely in tedious padding to what shouldn't have been longer than a short story of about 75-100 pages.

This is really only for hardcore King fans as it is far from his best work. There's no horror here, except some half-baked nightmares Dolores has, and the folksy nonsense Dolores spouts and her dull existence he seems to hold up as so virtuous because she's working class is nothing more than drivel coming from white trash. "Lisey's Story" is still the worst thing King's written but "Dolores Claiborne" runs a close second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, a clever mix of tragedy and comedy, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
A cleverly written story from a refreshingly different perspective. I liked the use of comedy (mainly the way the main character describes some of her experiences) which, if nothing else, prevents you from being made totally miserable by the not so funny, often quite tragic parts. This is one of King's non-supernatural stories where the only horror is that of real life and what people can do to each other. Nice little twist at the end too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic! Loved the film - love the book!, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Hardcover)
Non typical Stephen King, and then again still Stephen King at his best if you think Misery style.Watched the film first. The film is one of my favorite films ever, and the book just adds a whole new dimension to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Hardcover)
What an unusual book, but one that is full of pathos and hidden meaning. The way that this book tackles issues in the earthy way that we all would, is counterpoint to the strange style that King adopts to relay it. Fascinating to the end, amd this is one that I shall read again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 4 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Audio CD)
Loved the movie (the brilliant Kathy Bates & Co.,) The book is great, too - but then I'm a HUGE King fan! However, I found Frances Sternhagen's rendition of a New England accent extremely grating on the nerve endings after a couple of chapters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is one of his best. i wish it would never end., 27 Aug 1999
By A Customer
what a great book! all the characters are so real! the story leaves you satisfied. when i read this book i thought: thats exactly what should have happened. interesting plot. i think it is his best book. thank you sk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eerie and disturbing, 20 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Hardcover)
This book is masterfully written by King who continutes to prove his brilliant writing skills. Though this book is not outwardly scary it is, in many places, very disturbing. Delores Claiborne takes a cold look at many topics such as sexual and domestic abuse. It is a chillingly good read and I reccomend it heartily for those who enjoy books of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dolores Claiborne
Dolores Claiborne by Stephen King (Paperback - 28 Oct 1993)
£7.19
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews