Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cycle of the Werewolf has begun...
A curio by King standards - originally a concept for a calendar - with each month featuring a chilling attack in the town of Tarker's Mills, Maine, by a monster whose bloodlust cannot be sated...

The calendar ultimately wasn't made (and I think the story was a bit too long for the calendar if memory serves), but this is an entertaining short story, which...
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by Azz McMahon

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just plain odd
This book is not at all what you expect from a novel. It is very short (could be read in a couple of hours or less), and the story is very simple. It feels like a children's book, albeit a very gory one. For all that, however, it is a strangely satisfying little book, with nice illustrations, and a King fan would enjoy owning it.
Published on 10 Aug 2006 by Sarah Kay


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars its okay, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
I am a fan of Stephen King & had never read this book its a gripping short story.Typical King .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A short expensive read, 18 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
I had been after this book for a while as I am a huge fan of both Stephen King and the artist Bernie Wrightson I was disappointed by the page count (there are twelve chapters one for each month of the year) the story itself is about a town where a series of grisly murders take place and of a young boy in a wheelchair who knows the truth. As for the illustrations they are beautiful but gory typical Wrightson.....all in all a cracking read but do not look at the illustrations first as they give away the identity of the werewolf.....shame it's so short and not cheap!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long time waiting to read this, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those Stephen King books that isn't always readily available. Unless of course you are willing to pay an unfair price on auction sites.
I'm a big Stephen King fan and I am glad to have finally read this one. It is not one of his best works but still enjoyable. The illustrations are really just there to pad out the book (in my opinion) and are completely unnecessary, but on the other hand King likes to do things differently. He split one of his books up and sold it in parts (Green Mile) he wrote a story strictly for the internet (Ride the Bullet) he is currently involved in transferring his Dark Tower books into comic books so he probably had a hand in this.
My only real problem with the illustrations is that they served as spoilers to the storyline. But it was a basic werewolf storyline anyway so probably a tad predictable.
The film Silver Bullet was based on this book, but it's not really a straight take on the book, just someone taking liberties so if you've seen the film, expect to read a different story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Less a horror novel and more a horror novel's highlights, 20 May 2012
By 
Jack Heslop - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
Cycle of the Werewolf is a long series of violent episodes which soon grows tiresome. It has too much setup, no middle and not enough climax. The beauty of King's novels is that they create sympathetic characters and detailed places which make us care about the threat. Cycle of the Werewolf reads like a horror novel with all the exposition cut out, leaving just the action scenes. This may explain why it's one of King's shortest books, clocking in at 127 pages (and quite a few of them containing no prose).
The plot can be described in one sentence: a werewolf stalks a small town and Marty Coslaw, a ten-year old crippled boy, plans to stop it. In concept Marty is a fascinating character. I liked that the hero, who succeeds where gun-happy locals fail, is wheelchair-bound. However, he's underused and should have been older. Call me cynical (or naive) but could a ten-year old devise and calmly execute Marty's plan at the end?
The illustrations by comic book artist Berni Wrightson are very good. Bursting with colour, they leap off the page, and it's hard to not spend more than a few seconds looking at them. Some, it should be said, are gruesome and disturbing.
The prose is fine, if melodramatic and a bit corny. There's an early scene in which a spinsterish young woman is attacked, and the way the beast is shown approaching her as she sits on her bed has weird sexual undertones. I get that "weird" and "creepy" are the orders of the day in a Stephen King story, but that scene felt scuzzy, like one from a cheap slasher film. The aforementioned length of this book may also explain its jarring narrative shifts. One moment a character's having a shave at a barber shop, the next he's being ripped open one night in his car.
Ultimately, Cycle of the Werewolf feels underwritten. It made me appreciate why King's novels often exceed several hundred pages. It's hard to care about a supernatural threat when its victims aren't developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycle of the Werewolf, 26 April 2012
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
I was a little disappointed with this book, it was not up to the usually white knuckle read put out by Mr. King, a lot different from his other writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good story...though spoiled by the drawings, 29 April 2006
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
I am a HUGE Stephen King fan, though I still have not read all of his books. I got this collector's edition and started reading it right away. I think it is a good story for King-begginers: the book is short, not boring, and creates a fearful environment from the 1st page to the last. I truly loved the book for its simplicity and great gore. For those who find this tale TOO simple or TOO predictable, I think you must think of the year this was written: 1984. Good horror stories were like this, without the stupid effects nor the idiot plots we see today...I think this book reflects its time, and is a mark of good horror. Read it and you'll see what I mean.

It doesn't get the 5 stars because I think the drawings spoil a very important part of the tale...I knew it before I read it(sigh...). DO NOT look at them before reading.

Anyway, it may not be his best book, but still an AWESOME read. Try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not woth it, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
Not worht the money I spent on this only 127 pages and I read it in a day, story line was ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 15 Sep 2014
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
The story is minimal - it's the images that make the book worthwile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual yet scary book from King, 19 Feb 2001
By 
Roman Hochuli (Brussels, Waloon Brabant Belgium) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cycle of the Werewolf (Paperback)
This is a GREAT book. This book is for all Stephen King fans, it is the usual werewolf that you always see in the movies but the way King describes it that you feel as if you're watching this werewolf just brutally kill someone right there in Tarker's Mills. I am on the third book he has written and the first 2 have been great, I hope this one is even better. The illustrator did a great job. His pictures were so realistic, it was like he had seen someone being killed like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cycle of the Werewolf
Cycle of the Werewolf by Stephen King (Paperback - 1 Oct 1985)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews