Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars536
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2015
excellent book, greater insight than the film, recommend reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
love it, two weeks straight I had to sleep with the lights on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
Thought I give this a read as the sequel is coming out later this year. I had seen the film many years ago, but know that books often differ from the film.
If you haven't read this, I recommend you give it a go.
It is different from the film in so many ways. You get a depth if character from the book that you don't see in the film.
I can't say anymore without giving away spoilers, but read it. It'll be worth it. It'll leave you disturbed and relieved by turns as only Steven King books can.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2014
Still one of Stephen King's greatest works. A thrilling read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2003
This has to be one of the best Stephen King books that I have read. I think it is true when they say 'read a book before you see the film' as the book goes into so much more detail than the film - (which didn't seem to mention Jack's abusive father, or actually go into depth about the theme of the film - the fact that Danny has 'the shining') If you are a devout Stephen King reader, buy this book!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
The film is one of my favourite movies.The book, is SO much better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Still reading this book but its one of his best, loving every page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
I've never read Stephen King before, so I'm guessing this is impartial really....
I bought this because it seemed to be his best rated work, and apparently very scary......
I have to admit I found it to be neither...
I personally didn't find one section of this book scary at all, and after reading the Amityville horror by J Anson ( which was very scary), I have to admit I was left very disappointed, so much that I had to make myself finish the book.
I have to admit however that the last quarter of the book is by far the best bit, it had me engrossed at that point, but was it worth the rest of the time, I feel it probably wasn't.
The one thing I must add is that I did put the film on, as I hadn't seen it in years, and I had to turn it off, as the book was better at least that the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
Slow build up to be sure, but well worth it in the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Great story. Arrived as stated, in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.