Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey back to the Oxford of 1935
About her book "Gaudy Night," Dorothy L. Sayers had this to say:

"It would be idle to deny that the city and University of Oxford (in aeternum floreant) do actually exist...." But, "Shrewsbury College, with its dons, students and scouts, is entirely imaginary; nor are the distressing events described as taking place within its wall founded upon any events that...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by L. E. Cantrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
Worth a go. Discussion of role of women in terms of the dilemnas and lives of the female characters (Oxford Dons) between the world wars is the most interesting aspect of this book, ( as mentioned on BBC4 series on the hsitory of the detective novel, which is why I got a copy, but fast paced it isnt, and it feels overlong. Just about managed to sustain interest in who...
Published 2 months ago by Leonie Potter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey back to the Oxford of 1935, 26 Aug 2010
By 
L. E. Cantrell (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
About her book "Gaudy Night," Dorothy L. Sayers had this to say:

"It would be idle to deny that the city and University of Oxford (in aeternum floreant) do actually exist...." But, "Shrewsbury College, with its dons, students and scouts, is entirely imaginary; nor are the distressing events described as taking place within its wall founded upon any events that have ever occurred anywhere. Detective-story writers are obliged by their disagreeable profession to invent startling and unpleasant incidents and people, and are (I presume) at liberty to imagine what might happen if such incidents and people were to intrude upon the life of an innocent and well-ordered community.... Certain apologies are, however, due from me: first to the University of Oxford, for having presented it ... with a college of 150 women students, in excess of the limit ordained by statute. Next, and with deep humility, to Balliol College--not only for having saddled it with so wayward an alumnus as Peter Wimsey, but also for my monstrous impertinence in having erected Shrewsbury College upon its spacious and sacred cricket-ground."

That passage will give you a feeling for Sayers' rather grand, even lofty (by detective story standards, anyway) prose style, as well as the tongue-in-cheek, in-your-eye amusement that lurks behind her formal persona.

When I first encountered Sayers and fell into a binge of reading her works, I was a teenager. With the breezy assurance of that age, I confidently ranked "Gaudy Night" as her feeblest work and "The Nine Tailors"--or maybe "Murder Must Advertise" as her best. If anyone at the time had asked me why I had done so, I would have pointed out that the mystery element was only a strand among many in "Gaudy Night," and far from the most important one. Moreover, I'd have said, it's a Lord Peter Wimsey novel and Wimsey doesn't even turn up until Chapter IV, after which he promptly disappears for a couple of hundred pages.

And yet, over the years when, for whatever reason, one of these books came to mind, I might think, "Murder Must Advertise," yes, very clever, Lord Peter writing ad copy and all that, or "The Nine Tailors," yes, very clever, those bells and all that. But for "Gaudy Night," my thoughts would more likely take this sort of turn: that Harriet Vane has some very odd ideas and notions. We certainly are beyond that sort of thing today--but I know some people who share most or all of those very some ideas and notions. They are walking anachronisms and yet, here they are, unquestionably my contemporaries. On some days, I even find myself agreeing with her and concluding that the lunatics have taken over our Twenty-first Century asylum.

Or consider Harriet Vane as a fictional character--amusing, humorless, witty, ponderous, brilliant, too often plodding Harriet. She is, of course, Dorothy L. Sayers (in every aspect that Sayers, herself, would regard as significant), pinned on the pages of the book like some strange sort of moth, a specimen preserved and displayed for the examination of the ages.

I recently encountered a 1944, wartime edition of "Gaudy Night" in a bookshop window. On its copyright page, it proudly bore the motto, "Books are weapons in the war of ideas." The book was published in an era of tight paper rationing and extreme austerity, but what a wonderfully sensuous volume it was with its thick, creamy paper, exquisite printing, wide margins and excellent commercial binding in dark blue book cloth. I snapped it up (how could I not?), and read it that evening. It was, I suppose, my fifth or sixth journey through the book.

I am no longer a teenager (alas), and I no longer consider "Gaudy Night" to be Sayers' feeblest work. It might very well be her best: better than "Murder Must Advertise," better than "The Nine Tailors" and certainly much better than the workmanlike (but no more) translation of Dante for which she abandoned her true literary vocation in her final years.

Some mystery fans downgrade "Gaudy Night" because it is a weak mystery novel. A couple of such fans are to be found right here among the Amazon reviewers of the book. They are quite right. It is a weak mystery novel. It is, in fact, just a novel, but a very good one.

The true peers of "Gaudy Night" are not such classic mysteries as Christie's "The Murder of Roger Ackroyd" or Marsh's "A Man Lay Dying," but English academic novels, the likes of Amis' "Lucky Jim" or Snow's "The Masters." If the literary arena is widened to include plays, then "Gaudy Night" shares space with "The Browning Version" and "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?"

Here is Dorothy L. Sayers again, this time as Sayers the novelist:

"Harriet Vane sat at her writing-table and stared out into Mecklenburg Square.... A letter lay open on the blotting-pad before her, but its image had faded from her mind to make way for another picture. She saw a stone quadrangle, built by a modern architect in a style neither new or old, stretching out reconciling hands to past and present. Folded within its walls lay a trim grass plot, with flower-beds splashed at the angles, and surrounded by a stone plinth. Behind the level roofs of Cotswold slate rose the brick chimneys of an older and less formal pile of buildings--a quadrangle also of a kind, but still keeping a domestic remembrance of the original Victorian dwelling-houses that had sheltered the first shy students of Shrewsbury College....

"Memory peopled the quad with moving figures. Students sauntering in pairs. Students dashing to lectures, their gowns hitched hurriedly over light summer frocks, the wind jerking their flat caps into the absurd likeness of so many jesters' coxcombs. Bicycles stacked in the porters' lodge, their carriers piled with books and gowns twisted about their handle-bars. A grizzled woman don crossing the turf with vague eyes.... Tall spikes of delphiniums against the grey, quiveringly blue like flames. The college cat, preoccupied and remote, stalking with tail erect in the direction of the buttery."

Five stars (with flower-beds splashed at the angles, of course.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great - intelligent and deep, 12 Jan 2001
By 
Raina (Vienna, Austria) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
well, I simply loved this book. But the ones out there who need corpses and action, turn back now. This is a character-piece. Also, if you haven't read "Strong Poison" and "Have His Carcase", I recommend you read them first. You don't need it to understand the story, but it is necessary to understand both Harriet and Peter Wimsey, and more importantly, their relationship. And if you don't like Harriet Vane, don't bother either. I, for one, liked Harriet a lot, and it was great to see her develop from love-interest in "Strong Poison" to an independant, strongly-built character in "Have his Carcase" and this book. The fascination of this novel is not driven by the crimes committed, but by the atmosphere of the place and Harriet's state of mind. Psychology, philosophy and an entire world-view are examined and presented. One really would like to be part of this community, as it is depicted. But what clinches it for me is again, the romance, if you can call it that. Harriet's relationship with Peter Wimsey at it's best and worst. The developement of Peter is also quite clear,he is given a depth he never had before So, conclusion: a great book, lots of atmosphere, lots of romance, lots of character. I hated it when this book ended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crime has consequences, 26 Dec 2009
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
I first read `Gaudy Night' about 40 years ago and I have re-read it many times since. It's a book which can be read on many levels. First for the mystery of who is writing the poison pen letters; second for the growing relationship between Harriet Vane and Peter Wimsey; thirdly for the position of women in 1930s society; and fourth for the consequences of a crime on those connected with both criminal and victim.

Set in a fictitious Oxford College - Shrewsbury - the story features an outbreak of graffiti and poison pen letters sent to students and staff at the college. Shrewsbury is Harriet Vane's alma mater and she is asked to try and help the dons unravel the mystery. Harriet returns to Oxford to attend the college Gaudy (reunion) and finds no one pays attention to her own chequered past (see `Strong Poison'). When she receives an unpleasant anonymous letter the thing becomes personal and she feel compelled to get involved.

There is tension around the issue of married women not putting their jobs before their families and much ill feeling between certain members of the college on this issue. Should women have careers or should they have families? Can they have both and do both well? There are examples, good and bad, of all situations in the novel. Truth and honesty are also philosophical questions which are involved in the story. Should people be punished for suppressing facts which interfere with their theories especially if the punishment adversely affects their dependents?

Relationships between men and women and the proper basis for these are also explored. Harriet values honesty in herself and others and does not see her role in society as looking after a man and bringing up his children. Should women always put their husband and children first? This is a novel way ahead of its time as it foreshadows the questions posed by the second wave of feminism in the 1960s and 1970s.

If you read this novel solely for the crime element you may be disappointed as there is no murder and the crimes involved are relatively minor. The book needs to be read in the context of the mores and morals of the 1930s rather than applying the standards of the 21st century to the behaviour of the characters. That said, there is much in this complex novel which is still of relevance in today's world and it is well worth reading several times in order to appreciate its structure and the way the clues and red herrings are placed. It is a masterpiece of plotting and its sheer craftsmanship far outweighs the odd jarring note which may be apparent to modern readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best philosophical novels ever written., 2 May 2002
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
Warning: This is not an Agatha Christie puzzle book!!!!! If this is what you want as a reader don't buy it. However if you are looking to find a great book with a brilliant plot then get this.
Not only is this a fantastic crime novel it is also one of the best philosophical novels Sayers wrote. If you have any interest in Wimsey, in womens position in society or in the movement of women into academia this book is definitly for you! The suspense is gripping, will Harriet's heart over rule her head? Can a women have both a career and a meaningful relationship based on honesty? For perhaps the first time this writer has shown that the solving of the crime is not the end of the story, there are always consequences. Without a doubt this is one of the best books Sayers ever wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a great crime novel, a great novel by any standards, 28 Mar 2002
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
Intellectually rapacious, heartstoppingly romantic, and fiendishly clever, this is Sayers' finest hour. The full blooming of Harriet and Peter's romance is handled so beautifully - we see LPW as he really is, stripped of the Woosterish facade he has always adopted in the past. And we realise just why he loves Harriet - she is an intellectual partner for him in every way. The Oxford setting is perfect - the all-female college is brilliantly handled - and Sayers manages to be feminist without drumbeating. And still creates a swooningly old fashioned romance where the hero - finally - gets the girl ... There are better Lord Peter mysteries, if that's what you want (the Nine Tailors, for example), but give me this any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A splendid examination of women's role in early 20thC academia, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Seren Ade (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite of Dorothy Sayers' Lord Peter Wimsey novels, and has continued to be since I first came across it in my teens.

It doesn't have much in the way of a crime plot, but is very much a story of its time: one which provides a rather wonderful picture of women in academic life, written with the real understanding of someone who has been part of this environment. The book also gives Sayers' best and most sympathetic depiction of Harriet Vane, who (as in `Have His Carcass') is the focal point for much of the novel.

In this book, Harriet has returned to her former Oxford College (the fictitious Shrewsbury) in order to engage in some serious research and academic reflection. As well, perhaps, as to puzzle out what she ought to do about the attentions of a certain, persistent, aristocratic suitor. She seems to be fitting back in quite well with her quiet, intellectual surroundings. Until a series of vitriolic stunts, accompanied by venomous quotations citing female academics as unnatural and unwomanly harpies start to make themselves known.

To put the setting of this novel into perspective: women had only been permitted to obtain degree qualifications from Oxford since 1920 (Sayers herself having been one of the earliest granted a degree), just 15 years prior to the book's first publication. High-ranking and respected women academics, whose qualifications were equal to those of their male counterparts were thus a relatively recent phenomenon.

In academia, women were breaking through into serious careers - though it's clear from the rather cloistered environment of the Shrewsbury Senior Common Room that a woman's decision to pursue this path in the long term could only be at the cost of family. As academic opportunities re-appear for Harriet there is a very real sense of Peter's understanding that she might choose to follow this path and be lost to him, but that if this is her honest, intellectual choice then she must be allowed to make it.

Sayers' stance on the importance of equality in women's educational opportunities rings true throughout this book, though her pro-women platform is not blind to the kinds of cattiness and jealousies that can arise amongst groups of women. There's even some criticism of the university: Sayers evidently opposed the quota restricting the number of women who might enter the institution (introduced in 1927), her fictitious college suppressing the caps imposed by university statute. In this she was ahead of the university by over 20 years.

The courtship between Peter and Harriet also takes a somewhat intellectual turn. There's wooing in the form of Metaphysical-style poetry, and a lyrically-written scene where Harriet sees Peter for the first time as an attractive man. It's a moment of mutual awareness in an idyllic setting - a picnic on the banks of the Isis.

Overall, a rather splendid novel that's perhaps better viewed as a piece of social and educational commentary than as a work of detective fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My second favourite book ever, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
If you're a Wimsy fan, this is a great book, not least because Wimsey doesn't actually appear in person for a very long time! The silly-ass character of the early novels is convincingly allowed to develop into a fully-rounded person through the medium of his romance with Harriet; Harriet herself struggles out of her past and the whole takes place amongst the lyrically described groves of academe in Oxford. If you're new to Wimsey read "Strong Poison" and "Have His Carcase" first to get the whole history of Peter and Harriet. Critics say that Harriet is Sayers, who'd fallen in love with her own literary creation, but so what ? I'm in love with him too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much a fascinating character study as it is a twisting mystery, 20 Jun 2007
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
Set five years after the events of Strong Poison, the fascinating thing about this book is that whilst there is a strong mystery element to it, it's essentially a character study of Harriet Vane who is struggling to come to terms with her friendship with Peter Wimsey and his continued proposals of marriage. In fact, for a book labelled on the front as "A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery", he doesn't appear in person until three-fifths of the way through - until then we have Harriet's thoughts about him, a couple of letters and the appearance of Wimsey's nephew, Lord Saint-George (a kind of 'Mini-PeterWimsey') who effectively subs for his uncle.

You may think that a book that's essentially there to be a 'will she-won't she' would be boring and self-indulgent wankery on the part of the author, but you would be completely wrong because Sayers mixes Harriet's dilemma in with the plot and various philosophical and social theories about the role of the genders, which far from being a dry academic exercise, really brings out Harriet's confusion and intelligence. In fact, the denouement serves as a means for both characters to step back and evaluate what's been happening between them over the previous years and is a catalyst for the happy ending that fans were undoubtedly longing for.

Mixed in with this is a strong contemporary feel to the writing - Sayers deliberately brings in the politics of the time and we see in the background Wimsey's involvement in international politics on behalf of the Foreign Office, as well as some side discussion as to events in Germany (from one Don's protest against the Kinder, Kirche, Kuche regime in Nazi Germany to a very uncomfortable statement from the Porter that "what we need is an 'Itler").

Sayers references the previous adventures of Wimsey and Vane throughout the text, but you don't need to have read them to understand the plot or the nature of their relationship.

My only criticism of the book is that the publishers should really be offering some kind of footnote or endnote translating the Latin/Ancient Greek/Hebrew sections for those of us unable to understand them.

I would also take issue with the publishers New English Library, who are getting money for old rope by reprinting the "new introduction by Elizabeth George" in every addition, along with a postscript on Wimsey, written by Sayers in the character of his Uncle Paul. Personally, I find it cheap and insulting and given the back quotes from a wide variety of well-known mystery writers, it should not have been difficult to find different people to give different introductions to each book. Bad show, New English Library. Bad show indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty Wimsey wins world-weary Writer, 31 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery) (Paperback)
Intelligent, complex and emotional - the characters and the plot. I long for Oxford (& I've never been there). Play Bach while you read this, and delight in the fascinating shenanigans of cloistered academics and the blossoming of the most delightful 5 year romance ever to appear in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Adaptation of a great book, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Phillips "seagull" (south coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dorothy L Sayers can be wordy and obtuse but this adaptation cuts through the nonsense and, whilst retaining the intellectual feel of the original, tells a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb341d1ec)

This product

Gaudy Night: A Lord Peter Wimsley Mystery (A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews