Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less frothy than some of the other Wimsey novels
As other reviewers have mentioned, what makes this novel stand out from the usual period crime fiction is the portrayal of between-the-wars London when Armistice Day is still a real reminder of what men endured, when survivors of the first world war still suffer from shell-shock and the after-effects of gassing and wounds, and when having a wife go out to work is a...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Roman Clodia

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Peculiar fourth book in the Wimsey series
When Peter Wimsey finds the elderly General Fentiman dead in front of the fire of the Bellona Club, it seems like an obvious case of natural causes, especially as the General was known to have a heart condition. But then the General's solicitor visits Wimsey with a problem: he needs to establish the General's time of death in order to determine who gets a very large...
Published 8 months ago by I Read, Therefore I Blog


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Less frothy than some of the other Wimsey novels, 19 Nov 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Paperback)
As other reviewers have mentioned, what makes this novel stand out from the usual period crime fiction is the portrayal of between-the-wars London when Armistice Day is still a real reminder of what men endured, when survivors of the first world war still suffer from shell-shock and the after-effects of gassing and wounds, and when having a wife go out to work is a significant slur on a man's masculinity.

The actual murder itself is less satisfying than some of the other novels in this series, and the unveiling of the culprit is a bit of a deux ex machina ending, so in some ways this works best as a novel with an incidental crime rather than the other way round. A good read anyway, though with a significantly darker centre than some of the other Wimsey books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, 6 Sep 2002
By 
Sue Reeves (Burray, Orkney United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Paperback)
Not one of Peter Wimsey's best efforts but an interesting enough puzzle, well though out and satisfying to all fans of Dorothy L Sayers. However what makes this book fascinating for me is the deeply convincing contemporary portrait of upper and middle class post World War 1 Britain.
The Edwardian afternoon still lingers on for those too old to have fought and the Gentlemans club which forms the backdrop for much of this book remains a refuge from a rapidly changing world.
But for the "lucky" ones who return from the trenches their experiences haunt them. There are also the new economic realities of unemployment to be faced.
Dorothy L Sayer has brilliantly and effortlessly evoked the flavour of the period. As reader of detective fiction and a passionate history buff I enjoyed it enormously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: An unpleasant problem for Lord Peter, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Originally published in 1928, this was the fourth novel to feature Dorothy L Sayers' aristocratic detective Lord Peter Wimsey. This review is for the BBC radio adaptation, first broadcast in six episodes in 1975 and starring Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter.

This is a fine drama that revolves around a knotty little question. When an old and distinguished member of the Bellona club is found dead in his chair it becomes a matter of great importance to establish when he died, for his estranged sister died on the same day and if he predeceased her by even a minute then a major inheritance will travel down an entirely different route. Lord Peter bust bring all of his forensic skill to bear and soon he starts to wonder if the old boy's death was as natural as everyone thought.

The book was very much of its time, and dealt in large part with the fall out from the great war, which finished a decade earlier. The mood of the nation viz armistice day and the presence in society of young men still suffering from shellshock are important plot points. Though a decade earlier the war still cast a shadow over the times and over this tale.

Ian Carmichael and co do an excellent job of bringing the tale to life. Carmichael in particular IS Lord Peter, giving the character a casual lighthearted wit but able to see clearly and with a steely determination when called for. This tale has a particularly powerful ending, Carmichael really gives it weight.

5 stars for this excellent radio drama from the BBC. It still stands up well today, nearly 40 years after its first broadcast, and is a joy to listen to. I loved every minute of it, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unpleastantness at the Bellona Club, 4 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Paperback)
I first read this book several years ago, borrowing it from the Library. I enjoy Dorothy Sayers' writing very much even though there are some aspects of her books which indicate a consciouness of class which is very different from that prevailing today: whereby a character will act in a way required by his/her class and not necessarily the way the same character would act if being written about today. Also some of her books indicate that there was a degree of racial discrimination amongst the "upper classes" which is quite disconcerting now.

However, despite the above, suffice to say, I enjoyed this book and the other Lord Peter Wimsey books I've re-read recently, just as much as I did several years ago. I'm very pleased I bought the book "The Unpleasantness at The Bellona Club".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The aftermath of world war 1, 12 May 2014
By 
Aletheuon (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club, published in 1928, is the fourth novel featuring Lord Peter Wimsey.
General Fentiman and Lady Dormer are an elderly brother and sister, but haven't spoken for years. On her deathbed, she sends for him and they are reconciled. If she dies first, he will inherit her fortune, which his grandsons desperately need. But if he dies first, her money goes to Ann Dorland, a distant relative who lives with her.
Lady Dormer dies at 10:37 next morning, 11th November. It is Armistice Day. The General is found dead at his club that afternoon so, of course, it is vital to establish whether he or his sister died first. Lady Dormer's estate would be plenty for all three heirs but Ann Dorland will not share. Wimsey is asked to help solve the puzzle....
There is a sombre tone to this book, set in the aftermath of World War I. The book is full of references to the damage it has done. Even Lord Peter's usual jokey, deliberately foolish and exhibitionist behaviour is much more subdued than in other novels. As ever, we are treated to much more than a whodunnit. Parker, in particular, is illuminated to us in greater depth than ever before. The writing talent that culminated in the brilliant `Gaudy Night' is clearly developing. The story is very well written, tightly plotted and has a few surprises but, for me, much of the real interest also lies in the picture of an era now dead.
I love the portrayal of this bygone era and culture, one struggling to deal with the terrible suffering during and following the Great War and the social change and instability of the post-war era. Sayers writes beautifully about the very posh and privileged and (as a Welsh person) I am fascinated by the Englishness of it all. A particular kind of lifestyle was now under threat, it was becoming more difficult to pay butlers and maids and there is something sad about all this social change, however unfair such privileges may be. Women are moving forward to find jobs and control their own lives (though at a cost to male pride) but in part this freedom stems from the tragic fact that so many women could never marry because the war's death toll had deprived them of potential husbands. These single women had to work but were not given much respect or value. Lack of a man to being them sexual fulfilment was thought to make them strange, even potentially mad. This was a time when many people simply had to endure and this stoic and sad endurance is very much a part of this book.
This is not Sayer's best novel, but she is still a brilliant writer and there is plenty to savour and think about in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining story, engaging time period., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Paperback)
On the book as a literary work: excellent DL Sayers. On condition from seller: not as good as they said; sold as "very good" but I would say it's more like "acceptable". This is the first time I have been disappointed by the condition of a new & used book, always been as described by sellers before, but still a good read for under 3.00 and I don't mind putting it in the charity shop when done! 5 star rating is for the enjoyment of reading, would give 2 stars for the accuracy of the description of the condition of the used book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more vintage stuff, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fab, just love Lord Peter Wymsey, Ian Carmichael is just the best. I love the storylines and the production is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 12 Jan 2014
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love the understatement in the title to start with. This book is typical Sayers and quite complicated but plain at the same time. It is a really brilliant read and I would recommend it to anyone.

5 stars for genious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of DLS's Best, 8 Jan 2014
By 
JMPBS (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a staunch Dorothy L Sayers fan so cannot fault it, great read. I would definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Peculiar fourth book in the Wimsey series, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery (Paperback)
When Peter Wimsey finds the elderly General Fentiman dead in front of the fire of the Bellona Club, it seems like an obvious case of natural causes, especially as the General was known to have a heart condition. But then the General's solicitor visits Wimsey with a problem: he needs to establish the General's time of death in order to determine who gets a very large inheritance. Although one of the potential heirs is a friend of his, Wimsey agrees to take the case only to find himself caught in a sinister plot where everyone seems to by lying ...

Dorothy L. Sayers fourth Wimsey mystery is a peculiar affair. The way the central mystery grows out of the inheritance dilemma is skilfully done but the resolution contains one twist too many and the ending seemed to me to be totally out of keeping for Wimsey's character especially when compared with the ending of BUSMAN'S HONEYMOON. However I enjoyed the depiction of shell shock and the strain it places on George Fentiman's relationship with his wife.

This is a pre-Harriett Vane book but it's made up for with a good helping of Bunter and his photographic skills. One of the things I really love about Sayers books is her approach to dialogue and especially the mini-monologues used to quickly convey what's going on. I also love Wimsey's commitment to get to the truth no matter what and his warning to the solicitor Murbles that this may not be to his liking.

The mystery itself plays along nicely as Wimsey first tries to ascertain when the General died and then begins to realise that murder is involved. However the story falls apart in the final quarter with the plot taking one twist too many and the solution straining to come together. I was also struck by Wimsey's reaction on uncovering the murderer, which is certainly contradicted by his behaviour in later books.

The book comes with the standard Elizabeth George introduction and Delgardie biography of Wimsey at the end, which - if you've bought this series - adds absolutely nothing.

All in all while it's an enjoyable read it's not up there with the best of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery
The Unpleasantness at the Bellona Club: A Lord Peter Wimsey Mystery by Dorothy L Sayers (Paperback - 1 Mar 1977)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews