Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discrete, but it's all there if you read between the lines!
Grace Coddington was born in 1941, and raised in Wales, and she has worked in fashion all her professional life. Did some readers think this would be a "heart on sleeve " tell all of her private life? Did they expect a "bitch fest" on the business she is still deeply involved in?
The truth of the matter is everything is there in this book if you take time to listen...
Published 20 months ago by A. M. Glenville

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grace: A Memoir
British-born Grace Coddington, creative director of American 'Vogue' became a celebrity almost by accident when she appeared in RJ Cutler's film entitled 'The September Issue', a documentary which was intended to be about the making of the 2007 September edition of 'Vogue', but when the film was released, was more about the dynamics between the legendary and rather...
Published 3 months ago by Susie B


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Discrete, but it's all there if you read between the lines!, 25 Nov 2012
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Grace Coddington was born in 1941, and raised in Wales, and she has worked in fashion all her professional life. Did some readers think this would be a "heart on sleeve " tell all of her private life? Did they expect a "bitch fest" on the business she is still deeply involved in?
The truth of the matter is everything is there in this book if you take time to listen to her "voice" and the throw away treatment of her personal affairs; as well as some sharp asides regarding a fair number of her fellow fashion workers BUT, and it is a big but there is no "drama" and very little exaggeration. This is simply Grace Coddington, her story as she tells it.
In my opinion - and that's all any review can ever be how ever objective we may think we are being - this is a humdinger of a memoir, to read perhaps in tandem with Alicia Drake's "The Beautiful Fall" a book which covers a certain amount of the same period of time but which contains more dramatic revelations!
Grace Coddington is unique in that her deep and abiding love for her business has seen her take on roles which include top model, working for a brand - Calvin Klein, and her current job -Creative Director of American Vogue. She has worked with the top professionals from hair and make-up to great assistants (Julie Kavanagh a great biographer) Grace Coddingotn inspires a younger generation with her creative vision and longevity, as well as her personal image and approach to her recently found fame within the fashion world through the documentary film "September Issue".
Her book encompases all the key players from her lifetime in fashion from the unforgettable Lady Rendlesham to Mario Testino. Her sharp observations may only be two or three words but they are the right two or three words, and she also applies this rigour and editorial eye to her private life and her personal events, both in family and in love.
In spite of creating extraordinary stories through her image creation Grace Coddington is at pains to make her life NOT extraordinary but simply her life.
Thank you Grace Coddington for showing graciousness, charm, wit and discretion in your autobiography, the cutting comments are so throw away they are easily missed, which is in itself very, very amusing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just part of a life, 19 Feb 2013
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Very easy to read, almost a list of who's who in fashion today, but you are very much aware that there are parts of her life that she is not going to write about.You do want to know how she felt when her marriage failed, the frustration and anger she must have had trying to adopt her sister's child. We want to know more about her relationship with her mother, and the very poignant sentence on loosing her baby, 'that was the only time I could get pregnant' the reader is howling in agony for her, and she deals with it in one sentence. So it is a memoir about her life with fashion not a biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Artistic Director, 13 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I have seen the film 'The September Issue', so I am very well aware of Grace Coddington. She is the artistic director of Vogue, and this is an extraordinary role. In 'the September Issue' ,Anna Wintour was the supposed subject, but Grace ended up being the star of this documentary. Grace at first, refused to be part of the documentary , but was dragged in, and she found she liked it. She was fresh and truthful and whipped around with the air of someone who knows what is going on.

Grace was born in Wales, had a wonderful childhood, and at age eighteen decided to go to London to try modeling. She has many photographs in this book, and Grace was a beauty. Tall, thin and redhead. She was one of the first women to have a haircut by Sasson Vidal, and she started to make a name for herself. She traveled the world, made money and spent it. She had two husbands, divorced each. She had one miscarriage after an accident, and never had any more children. She adopted a nephew. She made a new life for herself with Vogue..

This book is not a gossip tell-all. It's more a record., based on Grace's diaries. Grace says, 'I've kept a diary since I was a tiny kid trying to find my way, and going through all my written records reminds me of shoots and jogs my memory." After spending decades in the fashion industry, she spent the majority of her career at Vogue. Grace is the woman Anna Wintour depends upon. This memoir mentions a great many names, fly by night, not too many concrete memories with real stories involved.

This is not a memoir of the personal Grace. It is more superficial, filled with her comings and goings . Sometimes it is interesting, and often it is not. This is a book most pertinent to those in the fashion business. Grace knows them all, I assume she has many really good stories to tell, but not many of them appear in this memoir.

She currently lives in New York and Long Island with her partner, Didier Malige, and their two cats, Bart and Pumpkin. The photographs and pen and ink drawings are quite lovely to look at. What is really missing, is Grace. What is she all about,,what does she believe?

Recommended. prisrob 06-14-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Grace: A Memoir, 26 April 2014
By 
Susie B - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
British-born Grace Coddington, creative director of American 'Vogue' became a celebrity almost by accident when she appeared in RJ Cutler's film entitled 'The September Issue', a documentary which was intended to be about the making of the 2007 September edition of 'Vogue', but when the film was released, was more about the dynamics between the legendary and rather daunting editor-in-chief, Anna Wintour, and her creative director, Grace Coddington. In her memoir, Grace writes of this documentary in her introduction, telling us that she was in total shock when she saw the first showing, feeling there was way too much of her in the film, and is always surprised that people who have seen the movie, respond to her in such a positive manner, explaining that perhaps this is because people find her a more emotional and spontaneous character than Anna Wintour who, in contrast, she tells us "is by nature much more determinedly and quietly controlled." Having dealt with the film that brought her into the eye of the general public, Grace presents her memoir in a mostly chronological format, starting with her birth in 1941 in Anglesey, Wales, and moving on to her schooling at Le Bon Sauveur convent school in Holyhead, where she wore a grey worsted wool tunic, a flannel shirt and thick lisle stockings, and the nuns spent their lunch-breaks roller skating on a flat roof where their robes flapped about them making them look "like crows on wheels".

At eighteen, Grace left Wales, telling us that if you stayed in Anglesey, you would end up working in either a clock factory or a snack bar, and she arrived in London to attend a two-week course at the Cherry Marshall Modelling School, working part-time as a waitress in a bistro to pay the rent. After entering a competition in British 'Vogue' in 1959, where she won the Young Idea section, Grace tells us that suddenly everyone began asking for her and she was later photographed by Terence Donovan and David Bailey. Nicknamed 'The Cod' (not as attractive a nickname as Jean Shrimpton's 'The Shrimp' she admits) Grace had a special hairstyle created for her by Vidal Sasson, the Five Point Cut, and she goes on to tell us how she and her friends would drink and dance until dawn and then rush off the next morning to another modelling job. However, life was not fun all the way: as a passenger in a car accident during the 1960s, her left eyelid was sliced off ("Luckily they found my eyelashes") and she had to undergo five plastic surgery operations in the following two years; she lost the only child she was ever able to conceive when, at seven months pregnant, Chelsea football fans turned over her Mini and she suffered a miscarriage as a result; and her older sister, Rosie, sadly died from an overdose leaving two small children behind, one of which, Tristan, Grace tried immediately to adopt, but was unable to due to her single status at the time. Over the following forty plus years, Grace married, divorced, met Didier, the man she has now spent more than thirty years with, left modelling and started working for British Vogue; she then worked for Calvin Klein and finally for American 'Vogue', where remains to this day and is still working creatively at the age of 73.

Although Grace Coddington has undoubtedly had an interesting and, at times, a rather exciting life, in common with many memoirs/autobiographies, she only tells us what she wants us to know - which is fair enough, but I do feel that this could have been a deeper and more interesting memoir if we had learnt a little more about her feelings and motivations. Understandably there are areas in her life that the author does not wish to dwell on as they are most probably too painful to revisit, but I was a little surprised that some of the most important and life altering events were dealt with so very briefly. That said, this is a very easy book to read; Coddington writes in a chatty and informal way and for fashionistas and those interested in 'Vogue' magazine, there is plenty to interest and entertain. I must confess that I did not buy this book - it was on the coffee table of a friend I was babysitting for and I picked it up just to flick through the photographs, however once I started reading, I was interested enough to carry on until the end of the book. Attractively presented with almost four hundred pages of text, drawings and scores of beautiful photographs printed on good quality paper, this is one of those books that you can easily dip into, or read, as I did, in one extended sitting.

3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stylish book by a stylish lady, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Bought as a gift for my daughter who works in the fashion industry and she has thoroughly enjoyed this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful biography., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
I bought it for my daughter, and she LOVES it!! She says it's brilliantly well written, and very interesting for anyone interested in fashion and the magazine world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grace Coddington, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
Brilliant book, but the paper quality is poor, photo plates a little disappointing but only due to the poor quality of the paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
She should stick to styling and not writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Grace never understood Diana Vreeland., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace: A Memoir (Hardcover)
She has her moments but she is self absorbed in the wrong way. She has turned Vogue away from the dreams women had about themselves with Diane Vreeland, into nightmares and oddities, and I hate that. Women have lost their allure in Vogue with Grace and the little page cut Director, I do not remember her name.

I did not care to read more than the beginning of the book. I was disappointed, because she seemed more interesting in The September issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such an insightful and interesting read!, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grace (Kindle Edition)
Great book, got through it so quickly and couldn't put it down. Grace is an inspiring woman who has so many interesting life experiences. So much more to it than fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grace: A Memoir
Grace: A Memoir by Grace Coddington (Audio CD - 20 Nov 2012)
24.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews