Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L Is for Lawless
I think that out of all of the Kinsey Milhone Alphabet Mystery books that I have read, and than includes ones that come after this one in the series, "L is for Lawless" remains as one of my personal favourites. The mix of puzzling mystery, thrilling danger and almost slapstick comedy makes for a real page turner of a book.

Kinsey is settling down to a quiet...
Published on 23 April 2006 by Rich Milligan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another great read
Have enjoyed all the other books in this series so far, my only disappointment with this book was the ending was a bit rushed or so I felt, no real closure.
Published 4 months ago by Janeg23


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L Is for Lawless, 23 April 2006
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L Is for Lawless (Paperback)
I think that out of all of the Kinsey Milhone Alphabet Mystery books that I have read, and than includes ones that come after this one in the series, "L is for Lawless" remains as one of my personal favourites. The mix of puzzling mystery, thrilling danger and almost slapstick comedy makes for a real page turner of a book.

Kinsey is settling down to a quiet couple of days before the Thanksgiving holidays. Apart from the fact that it is a public holiday, her landlord Henry Pitt's brother, William is getting married to Kinsey's local restaurateur Rosie. It promises to be quite something of a wedding as Henry's other octogenarian siblings (and even nonagenarian siblings) have made the journey to be at the wedding and Kinsey herself is to be a bridesmaid.

As a favour Henry asks Kinsey to help out a neighbour of theirs, Bucky Lee whose grandfather has just died. The family, consisting of Bucky's wife Babe and his father Chester think that Grandfather Johnny was a war veteran and should be eligible for a war veteran's burial allowance. When the military deny that Johnny was ever a serviceman the family are suspicious and suspect that someone or something is being covered up. One of Johnny's supposedly old service colleagues Ray Rawson has also turned up on the scene and when he is beaten up and a burglary takes place at Bucky's it really does seem like something is going on.

Kinsey, ever the all action heroine, manages to follow one of the burglars and the trail takes her on a flight to Dallas where she has to hole up in a very dodgy looking mock-medieval castle hotel to try to find out the story behind the crime. Needless to say things aren't what they seem and when Kinsey gets to the bottom of Johnny's past she discovers that Ray isn't the ex-service friend he made out.

As I say I really do like this book for the exciting roller coaster ride that Kinsey has to take across the states to discover the various goings on and the range of characters she meets on the way are similarly engaging. I especially liked Ray's mother Helen who really was Hell on Wheels!

The book also has the nice story about Henry's brother's wedding in the background and I especially liked the twist when Kinsey who had so fervently rejected her newly found cousin's approaches in the beginning of the book has to eat more than a little humble pie when she really needs help. A slight disappointment that the book, like a lot of the Alphabet series it must be said, is wrapped up in a lightening fast final chapter when a little more detail on the various thread closures would be appreciated. Still a brilliant addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best of the 'alphabet' series, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: L Is for Lawless (Paperback)
This is a brilliant addittion to the MIllhone series. It is so wonderfully exciting i read about 250 pages in one non-stop sitting, hardly pausing. THe plot is exciting, and intriguing, (Why do the millitary records department have no record of Johnny, who, his family know, had been in service with them for many yearas?)and the denouement is unusually surprising. So why only four stars? For the simple reason that she does not keep up the excitement past about page three hundred, and it gets quite slow and steroetypical. (Considering the theme). However, that does not let the book down very much at all. And any damage is made up by the wonderfull epilogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smooth, well written and gripping, 5 Oct 2000
By 
Mrs. K. A. Wheatley "katywheatley" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L Is for Lawless (Paperback)
Grafton is an extremely polished writer and it shows with this effortless piece of writing. I do suggest starting from the beginning of the alphabet murders if you want to know Kinsey Millhone properly. Each book reveals more of her character until you feel genuinely affectionate for this hard to pin down character. This time we are out of her native town and find her floundering in her new environs. Lots of twists and turns and plenty of uncertainty make for a splendid read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 12 April 2014
By 
G. Condie (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all the Sue Grafton alphabet books they are individual stories but reading A - W Kinsey Millhone, the female Private Detective grows and not only do you read about the case in question but it follows her love life or lack of at times and are really enjoyable reads. This is my third time going through the series as I first had them in books and are now transferring to my kindle and I know in future I shall read them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars L is for lawless, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
L is for lawless is up to the same great standard of all Sue Grafton's books. They are all Good reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have enjoyed all the other books in this series so far, my only disappointment with this book was the ending was a bit rushed or so I felt, no real closure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one!, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
L is for Lawless both a name and a way of life! As ever Kinsey gets drawn into matters that don't concern her directly. This time she's not even getting paid for it! I am working my way from a onwards - thought I had read them all but I don't remember this one! It was a bit of fun and another episode I the enthral long life of Kinsey. No sex, no violence (well only a little bit) but a good read nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
up to Sue graftons usual standard.
If you've read the other you'll love this.
get it today it won't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Delivered straight away, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Added this to my Alphabet collection of books and found it to be as good as the rest I've read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, 17 May 2013
By 
Barbara Round (South Croydon UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is s rattling good tale as true of the alphabet series ing general.. Where are the last few latters?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9d30624)

This product

L Is for Lawless (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries)
L Is for Lawless (Kinsey Millhone Mysteries) by Sue Grafton (Mass Market Paperback - Sep 1996)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews