Customer Reviews


374 Reviews
5 star:
 (296)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Dead, all dead but me, and I am dead to the world”
The confrontation among the different candidates to the throne in this third book in the series is heating up, and the supernatural elements begin to have more and more relevance. Joffrey Baratheon is currently sitting as acting king, but there are several challengers to his power, including his “uncle” Stannis, Robb Stark, the king in the north, and the last...
Published on 28 Nov 2005 by Sebastian Fernandez

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a build up for what's to come
This book bridges the gap from one set of leading characters to a whole new set. Ending one story and setting up for a new one.
Published 10 months ago by ramabastet


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beginning to wear a bit thin, 3 Sep 2011
By 
D. R. Cantrell (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So, on to book three in the series, and as expected the quality is just a little bit less than the book before. It's still good, still enjoyable, but it's beginning to look a bit worn around the edges. Like the previous volume, the sheer number of people and factions gets confusing, and the amount of magic in the story is slowly increasing. Magic is a crutch for bad fantasy writers and for good writers who've run out of ideas, it's just Treknobabble dressed in bearskins. The first book didn't really have any of it at all, but in this one there's quite a bit. It's still stuck lurking on the edges, and not having any significant impact, but more importantly, it's not having any impact at all that couldn't have been achieved without. Therefore it only detracts from the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As dark a fantasy novel as you can get, 30 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Storm of Swords (Paperback)
I must say that when I read A game Of Thrones I was astounded by the sheer complexity Martin brought to the characters in it. A Clash Of Kings went a little further in that direction as it added more suspense and intrigue. But with A Sword Of Storms I think he out did himself completly as the plot has gone multifaceted to the extreme. A spellbinding saga it joins the dark, cunning and evil texture of character ie ( the lannisters and the greyjoys ) with the more heroic and sensitive side of what is generally seen as the "good" characters ie. ( the starks ). It's brilliance though lies in it's sort of grey area where you can't decide if the character is just plain evil or of a very weak temperment. But for all it's fantastic achievements in the genre of epic/heroic fantasy it can be very irritating.In these three books just like in Jordans series some of the characters don't fit so well into the plot and when they do pop up thay can cause the plot to falter and lose some of it's flow. And also with this book the disregard held for the "so called" main characters is incredable. I'm telling you now you have no idea what is going to happen to anyone in these books. Nothing is an immpossiblity. But for the few irregularities in the books the raptly paced writing and excellent character devotion martin brings fort make this a must read to the many readers of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a fast reader so bought the two in one thinking it might last me a while. Unfortunately that meant I barely slept for a week because I couldn't put it down. It's so exciting... I hardly wanted to talk to anyone, I just wanted to gobble this book up.
The book has started splitting from the tv series in these books whereas the first is almost identical. It's good to see some changes and other characters. The most impressive thing is that the author can write books of such staggering size whilst keeping the stories so riveting and the characters so interesting. I've read other books in similar format, where one persons story is so much more exciting you want to skip other people's chapters to get back to it - but that's not the case here. There also isn't an overwhelming number of people - the next book 4 is the first point this storey starts sagging. If you love book one, then get this and you will not be disappointed. You'll then perhaps need to gather yourself for book 4, and I can't comment on book 5 as I'm slogging my way through book 4 at the mo :). I think I can only compare this series to Robert Jordan Wheel of Time series because of the size and fantasy - but as enjoyable as Robert Jordan is - this series is much more impressively written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter is closer than ever, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing read that really brings a new depth to the setting, plot and most of all, the characters. It's nearly impossible to put the book down, especially if the previous novels are still fresh in your mind. I'm on to read the next book immediately. I highly recommend this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Song of Ice and Fire is one of the greatest saga's I've read. There is so much going on in this and to say more would spoil it. But there are more twists and turns and you just don't know who is going to live or die. A fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starting to lose its edge, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still a great book and if you've read the first two, you'll still really enjoy this one. However, the story is starting to slow down and I felt there are a few too many characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 and counting..., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great to have the two books in one. Makes for a longer read.
Had it not been a Kindle version, I'd probably go for the separate books just to fill the bookshelf.
Great story with new twists and turns. Much more exciting and upbeat than book 2 which many friends struggled with. Gets you back into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My first, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to read this book after getting hooked on the first two tv series. It took a while to get attached to this book following the transition from tv and seems all the fun happeneds in the second half of the book. I found it overly descriptive on parts where I just wanted to get on with it but it is well well worth the wait as the good bits are awsome. Can't wait to see how the scenes look on the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed but not as good as previous 2., 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed reading this but not as much as the previous two simply because I don't enjoy reading from Sam's point of view but other than that it was a good read :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story is really enjoyable BUT no X-Ray feature on Kindle on this version, 25 Mar 2013
The story is great and I'm really enjoying it. However, the beauty of reading the 2 previous books in the series on the Kindle as against in paperback form is the X-Ray feature that you can use to remind you of who's who. It isn't available on this version but this wasn't made clear before purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 338 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Storm of Swords (Song of Ice and Fire)
A Storm of Swords (Song of Ice and Fire) by George R. R. Martin (Audio CD - 27 Mar 2012)
59.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews