Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trash your preconceptions about sales and learn the truth!
Even if you are not in sales, or don't think you are, you should still read this book. Blair points out that we are all in sales, whether you think it or not. We are constantly selling to those around us everyday and the more successful people tend to be the ones better at sales. Ever wondered why someone else got promoted over you, well perhaps they can sell themselves...
Published on 20 July 2003 by James Leo

versus
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for People New to Sales and Sales Management
$ales Dogs has two potential applications: (1) As an introduction to the ways that people sell and (2) as a humor book for those who have been involved in selling as a career.
Since this book came in as an adjunct to the Rich Dad, Poor Dad series, it also has to be evaluated in terms of how well it fits. That is where the book falls down. Although Mr. Kiyosaki is...
Published on 16 Sept. 2001 by Donald Mitchell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trash your preconceptions about sales and learn the truth!, 20 July 2003
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
Even if you are not in sales, or don't think you are, you should still read this book. Blair points out that we are all in sales, whether you think it or not. We are constantly selling to those around us everyday and the more successful people tend to be the ones better at sales. Ever wondered why someone else got promoted over you, well perhaps they can sell themselves better to the manager than you.
Blair also shows that the "double-glazing salesman" image we have of most sales people is wrong. Most truely successful sales people, the ones that earn hundreds of thousands, do not sale in this way. They build relations with their customers over years and would never dream of ripping them off.
This book has shown me that I can also be a successful salesman and in the short time since I have finished this book I have discovered this to be true. This has been after years of being told by others that I would not be a good salesman because I don't have a killer instinct. Perhaps not, but I have great sense of smell and can pick up a scent at 100 yards and why would I want to kill my customers, then I can't sell to them again. Oh yes, I am a SalesDog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helpful for People New to Sales and Sales Management, 16 Sept. 2001
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
$ales Dogs has two potential applications: (1) As an introduction to the ways that people sell and (2) as a humor book for those who have been involved in selling as a career.
Since this book came in as an adjunct to the Rich Dad, Poor Dad series, it also has to be evaluated in terms of how well it fits. That is where the book falls down. Although Mr. Kiyosaki is correct in describing that his rich Dad said to him, "If you want to enter the world of business, you must first learn how to sell," this book doesn't pick up enough on that perspective. It is a cross between a book for someone already in sales, and someone new to sales management. Although there is a little material in here about how people new to sales can learn, that isn't really the focus.
The strength of the Rich Dad, Poor Dad series is that each book is extremely simple and focused. $ales Dogs tries to be too much like a standard book on sales.
The book's basic point is that sales people start out tending to emphasize one of five selling styles: "sheer power and fearlessness" -- the pit bull; "customer service is everything" -- the golden retriever; "incredibly well connected . . . Ultimate Marketing Dog" -- the poodle; "technical wizards" -- the chihuahua; and the "trustworthy . . . strength of personality and personal rapport" of the basset hound.
Readers are then encouraged to learn lessons from the best traits of the other styles. If you put them all together, you can be a "SuperMutt." Within all of these styles are people who prefer to shoot for the big sale, and they are Big Dogs -- meaning they want a big deal or no deal.
The book does a nice job of explaining some of the mindsets and key skills that help in sales and sales management. However, each is explained so briefly that the information will only be helpful to those who have not been exposed to these ideas before. Mastering the art of delivering powerful presentations is something that you can never learn enough about, and this is often the topic of entire books and courses. So I graded the book as a three because it was too much of a compromise between too many different types of books. As a result, it gives too little to any particularly type of reader.
I should mention that the illustrations are terrifically funny for those who want to use this as a humor book who have been involved in sales for some time. I can see these being taped all over the sales offices across America.
After you finish reading this book, think about what one thing would make you more effective in making sales. If you're not sure, go ask the last people who did and did not buy from you what they would suggest.
Build on your instinct to help . . . to get the stamina you need to persevere in your sales challenges!
Donald Mitchell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read for sales managers and rookie salespeople alike, 1 Jun. 2006
By 
Harun Rabbani "The Persuader" (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
I've enjoyed reading this book and found it to be probably more useful to rookie sales people and sales managers. Most sales managers think that a cookie-cutter version of themselves will lead to the ideal sales man or woman. Not true! This book helps demystify this old chestnut. Sales managers with any desire to learn how to motivate their team should use this book as a starting point for their own personal development.

On the downside, 'Salesdogs' could have been a bit more exciting to read. Unfortunately, it looks too similar to other sales books. Singer seems to have a great experience and skills in the selling, but I'm sure he could spice up this book a touch more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, good ideas, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
It rams the point home a bit, but is very useful for seeing yourself and others in a new light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now I Understand, 3 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
After a very long and hard search for this book it is definately proving to be worth the wait! Even though I am still reading it, what I have read so far has boosted my confidence in my own abilities to succeed. I now understand why I never ever felt comfortable with any type of sales or selling before. I have even sold a few items! This book is a book I will be handing down to my children so they can understand and benefit from the easier to understand information, hints and tips as well. Whether you like it or not everyone is in sales (even if you are trying to get yourself a job!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 17 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income (Paperback)
Great book for everyone who want to be a great seller! But also like a life project or an opportunity to be something more. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rich Dad's Advisors: Sales Dogs: You Don't Have to Be an Attack Dog to Explode Your Income
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews