Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! Definitely worth reading.
Being a nice and generous person is universally a beautiful thing but unfortunately it does not always pay off in our society. People easily abuse, take advantage or even often do not take you serious. This is very sad but unfortunately part of reality. This book does not tell you to be a bad person or to completely change the way you are towards other people, it simply...
Published on 2 May 2012 by LovingBooks

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars being nice makes people treat you like a doormat
It's a useful book.

9 mistakes that nice people make, including: trying to be perfect; taking on too much; not saying what YOU want; suppressing your anger; giving advice.

We're brought up to be nice to people, to put them first, to think of others. You hold doors open for people, and they don't even thank you for it; you lovingly clean the house...
Published 20 months ago by Cee Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book! Definitely worth reading., 2 May 2012
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
Being a nice and generous person is universally a beautiful thing but unfortunately it does not always pay off in our society. People easily abuse, take advantage or even often do not take you serious. This is very sad but unfortunately part of reality. This book does not tell you to be a bad person or to completely change the way you are towards other people, it simply does underline certain self destructive insecurities, beliefs and attitudes which so called nice people often carry within them. It is well written and illuminates psychological conflicts that nice people often struggle with. Rather than giving the advise to completely change, this book successfully transfers the meaning that being nice and good is a beautiful characteristic but it has to be in the right context and it has to be within certain limitations so that the nice person does not destruct himself but can respect and understand himself in a better way. It tells you to know when it is right to be nice and when not because in the long run, if you merely comfort others than yourself than you will be deeply unsatisfied and this will lead to a chain of unhappy events for you and the people around you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing what can I say!, 28 Nov 2010
By 
B. Medniene "Lilly" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
The book is just AMAZING, irreplaceable masterpiece for a person having lots of inner discussions why this or that happens in his/ her social life with friends family and work colleagues! It is what everyone needs in order to be happy if they have some little or large social 'miscommunication s'.
I was wondering where I was before not to get the book earlier! It changes your life because it WILL give you a deep insight into all your social problems,misunderstandings, etc (you name it),the roots where they come from.One can shout out loud EURECA when reading the book!!
I eventually realized the reasons for my anxieties, insecurities, lack of self esteem and confidence,-such a commons factors for nearly everyone. Now I understand!! I eventually realized what was it all about in my life,why I was the way I was and why others are the way they are. The book gives you so much understanding that you start to gain an insight straight from reading the the first page...and changing.
Thanks to the author writing such a masterpiece on self-help! A person does not need any psychologist or psychotherapist,- he can just get all he needs from this book -an inner change ,an insight, how to break free, how to deal with 'it'(and go out to try one's knowledge what he learned from it:) )...
The book is easy to read and well to understand. Delivery from Amazon was quick, like always, without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars being nice makes people treat you like a doormat, 18 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
It's a useful book.

9 mistakes that nice people make, including: trying to be perfect; taking on too much; not saying what YOU want; suppressing your anger; giving advice.

We're brought up to be nice to people, to put them first, to think of others. You hold doors open for people, and they don't even thank you for it; you lovingly clean the house but everyone else just leaves their mess for you to deal with. Your niceness encourages them to take advantage of you. Being nice to them doesn't make them be nice to you.

The chapter on learning to STOP giving advice is particularly helpful. You give advice because you want to help people: however, it often backfires on you. Learn how to give INFORMATION instead of advice. You'll still be nice, but you won't be imposing your will on others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cover Too Nice for the Content., 18 Jan 2013
By 
K. Harvey "allykatharvey" (Dorset UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
This isn't a book for those who are shy and lack confidence or make themselves victims and doormats. This is designed to make you see your faults about being too pushy, giving unrequested advice and generally being a bit of a well-meaning bossyboots. The author is a preacher and tells us not to tell others what they should and should not do. He then proceeds to do just that very thing over the next few hundred pages. It didn't make him very popular with me. So there - he's RIGHT. Which he knows he always is anyway. On the last page, he tells you to tell other people about what a marvellous book this is so that they will buy it too....

Feeling a bit low even though you are good to others? Dale Carnegie's classic, "How to Win Friends and Influence People" is a better, light-hearted book that won't preach and make you feel worse. There! I have TOLD you something, which I am not meant to do or it might make me unpopular! But I hope it helps you.

I sold my copy of "Too Nice" and was glad to be rid of it. One star for the nice cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
I found the book really helpful when my mother threatened suicide. I'd been trying to be the perfect daughter, but had not realised that being "nice" does not have to mean always supporting someone even when you think she's wrong, and if it starts to impact on your own health, as this was, you have to draw a line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars are we really that nice.?, 31 Jan 2010
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
I found this to be a very positive book. It does not aim for us to break relationships which are difficult or destructive, but realistically guides us to managing relationships with difficult people (who may be important to us). When reading this book, look out for the little admonishing remarks which can be painfull for the too nice a person I suppose, but which, if taken as a lesson, will help us become an easier, nicer person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for a change?, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
If you are struggling with being too nice, this book is great to help you see what you might be doing and make a change!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim and am really glad I did i have read it over and over again it is really helpfull especially when you recognise yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
This book was bought for my husband who is really enjoying it and says its all about how you read the book.
A good buy and a gift very much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you want from it, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes (Paperback)
There were some things in it that were relevant but I felt it wasn't what I needed. Wasn't what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Too Nice for Your Own Good: How to Stop Making 9 Self-Sabotaging Mistakes
8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews