Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read made excellent if you have read the previous bks
Note: I give nothing away about the plot in the review below.
I had been waiting for this book for a long time after reading all the previous titles in the series, and I wasn't disappointed. It is the only book I have ever read in a single day - my desperation to see what happened next ensured I raced through it. Truly, Pendergast has never faced such a powerful...
Published on 17 Jun 2005

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying
I am an enormous admirer of Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, both as collaborators and as solo writers. With the adventures of Vincent D'Agosta, Agent Pendergast and others they have created some fabulous suspense fiction; coming up with plots that are cunning, intelligent and brimming with atmosphere. Unfortunately Dance of Death, their latest effort, just isn't up to...
Published on 1 Aug 2005 by C. Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read made excellent if you have read the previous bks, 17 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dance of Death (Hardcover)
Note: I give nothing away about the plot in the review below.
I had been waiting for this book for a long time after reading all the previous titles in the series, and I wasn't disappointed. It is the only book I have ever read in a single day - my desperation to see what happened next ensured I raced through it. Truly, Pendergast has never faced such a powerful adversary. A good book in it's own right, I feel it would be best appreciated if you have read the previous novels from which it directly follows, beginning with Relic, Reliquary, Cabinet of Curiosities, Still Life With Crows, and Brimstone. I was pleased to encounter a number of familiar faces, some of who had significant roles in other Preston/Child novels, namely: The Ice Limit and Mount Dragon.
An excellent and recommended read, every bit as good as the previous novels, with the exception of Still Life With Crows, which was a masterpiece. Muh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unsatisfying, 1 Aug 2005
By 
C. Green "happily low brow" (Quenington, Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dance of Death (Hardcover)
I am an enormous admirer of Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child, both as collaborators and as solo writers. With the adventures of Vincent D'Agosta, Agent Pendergast and others they have created some fabulous suspense fiction; coming up with plots that are cunning, intelligent and brimming with atmosphere. Unfortunately Dance of Death, their latest effort, just isn't up to the high standard of their best work such as Still Life With Crows, a fantastic American-gothic thriller, or Riptide, a chinese puzzle box of a novel.
Following on directly from the events of their previous book, Brimstone, Dance of Death finally introduces a character referred to in past novels, Pendergast's diabolical younger brother Diogenes. Regular Preston & Child readers will know that Diogenes, the yang to Pendergast's ying, has pledged to pull off a perfect and terrible crime and faked his death years earlier in order to be free to prepare for it. In Dance of Death he finally brings his plans to fruition.
The problem is that when finally revealed both Diogenes & his fiendish plot are little more than damp squibs. It could be argued that, after so much anticipation, both character and crime would have been hard pressed to meet readers' expectations, a situation that cannot be blamed on the authors. It is undeniable however, that in the character of Diogenes Preston & Child have come up with one of their weakest villains yet, despite having so much time to work on both him and his machinations.
Described as a perfect criminal mind, without any sense of morality or mercy and with a predeliction for torture, Diogenes should be the stuff of nightmares. Instead he comes across as nothing more than a spoilt child and despite his much touted intelligence he makes several basic errors that endanger a plot he has supposedly taken decades to plan. A plot, it should be said, that is hardly as dastardly as expected, although it does threaten some much loved characters from previous books, placing them in real jeopardy at times.
With Diogenes providing such a weak core to the story however, the whole book is undermined and no amount of tense set-pieces or sense of iminent danger can rescue it. Not even the reintroduction of hitherto unrelated characters from other novels such as the engmatic Eli Glinn from The Ice Limit can resucitate what for two such talented authors is a weak effort at best. To cap it all they even contrive to end the story on yet another open ended note, obliging readers to obtain the inevitable follow-up in order to discover what happens.
The three stars awarded reflect the fact that, even when coasting as they appear to be with Dance of Death, Preston & Child are still able to create thrillers that are far more entertaining and original than most. It must be hoped however, that for their next effort they try a little harder and rely less readers' obvious affection for the characters they have created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit annoying..., 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dance Of Death (Mass Market Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down. It was more about the odd murder and a plot than about a creepy serial killer (Cabinet of Curiosities) or dangerous treasure (rip tide) or exciting mutant things (reliquary). However it was nice to catch up with D'Agosta, Margo Green, Smithback, Nora Kelly et al. and also nice to find out about some of the skeletons lurking in the Pendergast family cupboards. I was really glad I had read cabinet of Curiosities first even though i have not read the book directly before this.
I did have one major grumble though hence only 4 stars. So I couldn't put this down and read it through only to find that while it is not "to be continued" it is certainly not the end of the story and there is still a lot to clear up. The next book is not publlished yet so I have an agonising wait.
This book is a must read, but maybe wait until "Book of the Dead" is out so you don't have to suffer not knowing what happens!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about sibling rivalery!, 3 Aug 2005
This review is from: Dance of Death (Hardcover)
I must admit I cannot be an objective reviewer when it comes to this writing team, they are awesome! In Dance of Death FBI Special Agent, Aloysius Pendergast (from Brimstone, Cabinet of Curiosities) is back in action. He is up against his Evil, diabolical brother Diogenes, who is murdering Aloysius's friends, and framing the murders on Aloysius! Pendergast ends up on the run from the Feds while he tries to figure out a way to defeat his evil brother, who is always one step ahead of him.
This is typical Preston/Childs non-stop action with plenty of twists and turns. If I were to fault the book at all is it does not develop the historical/archeological/scientific plot typically found in earlier novels-which I always enjoy. New York City and the hall of the Museum of Natural History does play a role but this quickly fades in importance as the "dance of death" between the brothers plays out. The monumental struggle between the two brothers however-an epic fight between good and evil-is more than enough to carry the story. I also think the ending could have been a tad better, but it is also a great set up for the next book!
All in all this is another great Preston/Childs collaboration that fans will be pleased with (it is worth the hardback price). If you like Preston/Childs do check out "A Tourist in the Yucatan" very cool thriller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
On the line of the other books of Pendergast, interesting ! Always a pleasure to read Preston & Child books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not read yet, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the second book in the trilogy of three. at the end of the first one can't want to see where the author will take me on this journey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great mystery., 23 Mar 2013
By 
W. Y. Marples - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it has twists and turns in it, the charactures are really great, could not put it down. always a pleasure to read preston and childs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 17 April 2011
I enjoy these authors. Excellent book. Would like to know what book follows up from this one as the finish leaves a whole new story!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun, Fast-Paced Continuation Of The Trilogy Begun With Brimstone!, 11 Jun 2010
By 
bobbewig (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dance of Death (Hardcover)
What you get when you mix the interesting character of Aloysius Prendergast wih his brilliant, diabolical brother, Diogenes Prendergast -- both of whom have a deep hatred for each other, is a crime story that represents a very successful continuation of the thrilogy begun with Brimstone. Dance Of Death, while at times goes overboard in terms of credibility, is a story filled with thrills and excitement. It's the type of plot readers have come to expect from Preston & Child -- one that will keep you fully absorbed in order to see what will happen next. If you've read some this writing team's other books, such as Relic, Reliquary, The Cabinet Of The Curiosities & Brimstone, you'll be familiar with, and glad to see again, some of the characters featured in Dance Of Death. Book two in the trilogy is well-worth reading and is every bit as good as the first book, Brimstone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Poor, 30 Dec 2009
By 
I am keen on both authors and some of their joint books such as "Cabinet of Curiosities", "Still life with Crows", "Thunder Head" and "Relic" are outstandingly good and leave a lasting impression. Unfortunately this book does not seem to have the same suspence or twists as the other and the ending is particularly flat. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabdacca8)

This product

Dance Of Death
Dance Of Death by Lincoln Child (Mass Market Paperback - 16 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews