Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner for sure
I have just read Forget me not in one go. Both Gabe and Helen are great characters and the dynamic between them is electric. The book not only is nicely paced with good action scenes thrown in, but more importan, explores the relationship and the changes in both characters over the year Gabe has spent in captivity. They have to work to trust and find each other again...
Published on 5 July 2006 by B. Hall

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book that defines Melton's style.
If you want to decide if Ms. Melton's books are for you, this is the one to start with. From my (limited) research, this is the book that got the reviews, and cemented her reputation for this sort of thing.

Before we begin: A caveat. Ms. Melton's male characters are SEALS. This is a big deal. While you wait for your books in the post, read up on what the US...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by jazzy pom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The book that defines Melton's style., 7 Nov 2007
By 
jazzy pom "jazzypom" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs) (Mass Market Paperback)
If you want to decide if Ms. Melton's books are for you, this is the one to start with. From my (limited) research, this is the book that got the reviews, and cemented her reputation for this sort of thing.

Before we begin: A caveat. Ms. Melton's male characters are SEALS. This is a big deal. While you wait for your books in the post, read up on what the US Navy SEALS do, and how they do it. Read up about what a platoon is, and who does what. The books are peppered with terms like BUD/S, XO, PO1, PO2, Coronado, HALO jumps and the like. I for one appreciate the fact that these terms aren't spelt out, because it assumes that you know, and the tone of the book is very authortative as a result of that. If you don't do the background reading, it doesn't detract from your enjoyment of the books, but the background reading makes you understand the mindset of the men that much better.

Synopsis: Gabe Renault is a SEAL: one of the few, the brave, the proud. He's disappeared, and after a year, the Navy thinks he's dead. In the year that he's been presumed dead, Helen Renault, his (estranged) wife has moved on with her life. She's independent now, living for herself and her daughter. Only to find that Gabe isn't dead, and the world that she's built for herself and her daughter is rocked to the core.

In addition, it seems that Gabe has amensia, and doesn't remember about their past, and is thrown off by his wife's turns of cool reserve and heated resentment. In addition to that, it seems that if he gets his memories back, his family will be in danger as well.

To her credit, Ms Meliss actually makes the problem sound plausible, and there is no quick fix to Renault's pyschological and domestic problems either. As he muddles through his past, he tries to atone for his actions, and tries to reach out to his family. At times, you do feel bad for Gabe, but then you can't really blame Helen, because she's been burnt before. His relationship with his teenage stepdaughter is treated relatively well. Not too pat, and with a prickle on both sides as they try to come to an understanding.

The tension in the book is not only between the two main protagonists, but in Gabe and his relationship with his superiors. There's the tintilling suspcision of the whodunit, and the reader wonders if Gabe will remember his enemies in due time. And if he does, will he be too weak to fight them off, because his fitness isn't what it used to be? Will his platoon believe him or dissmiss his suspicions as PSTD? Wowzers.

The secondary characters are pretty cool, too. If you're a new reader to Ms. Melton, you know that the secondary characters are just as important to her as the characters in the forefront (because they get their own stories eventually). We met Vinny DeInnocentis (yay, my crush on this guy is embarassing), Luther Lindstrom and Chase Westy to name a few, and you're gladdened to see the genuine affection between Gabe and his fellow SEALS.

The main grouse with this book is the author's writing style and its tendency to be a tad uneven. When writing action sequences, Melton's pretty good. The prose flows, and can be exciting. Where she fails is her attempt at wordsmithing, where she tries to narrate highs of emotion for the reader's consumption.

The prose attempts to be purple, but ends up embarrassingly hackneyed at times. To wit, "Labor Day gave Echo Platoon an excuse to celebrate their victory over corruption." Ha, ha, what? Or, Helen's eyes being compared to "amber pools". Bleurrgh. Or when Helen compares the pop of a bubble to her affection towards the hubby.

Thankfully, this sort of writing doesn't overtake the novel, but it comes up at enough corners to be annoying and can mar the enjoyment of a chapter. Melton seems to be getting better at it in her later books, so here's to a four star review in 2008.

Overall, a good read. I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Page Turner for sure, 5 July 2006
By 
B. Hall (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs) (Mass Market Paperback)
I have just read Forget me not in one go. Both Gabe and Helen are great characters and the dynamic between them is electric. The book not only is nicely paced with good action scenes thrown in, but more importan, explores the relationship and the changes in both characters over the year Gabe has spent in captivity. They have to work to trust and find each other again. Some nice secondary players round out what is a wonderful read. I can't wait to read the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 12 Jun 2007
By 
Sian Louise (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first Marliss Melton book and I LOVED it! I enjoyed it so much that I ordered the second and third one in the series.

The characters were very well written and all through the book you are wondering who are the bad guys - what does Jaguar know that he can't remember? And the love story between him and his wife Helen was superb, you really end up rooting for them to stay together.

What I love about this series of books also this book is not the end of their story, if u continue reading the other books you will notice that "In The Dark" they have their story in it as well so everything is linked up together really well.

So if you are looking for a new author to try definately go for thsi, it was excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another great author similar to Gennita Low. Could not put the book down read it in two days can't wait for the next one I have ordered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Avid reader, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
liked this book good action scenes a story you could follow with believable characters who had as many faults as good points
look forward to reading more from this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hooked, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Will be reading the rest of Marliss Melton's navy seals adventures, can not put it down, and can not wait to start book 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really like Marliss's writing style, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really like Marliss's writing style. Her characters draw you in to the story making this book, one I couldn't put down. Why Amazon is Navy Seals book 2 not available on Kindle, have skipped to book 3?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awful book, no passion. No spark. Will not read anything by this author again. It could have been so much better. This book felt like a manual. Factual and drab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Forget me not, 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Forget me not

Very good read kept you in suspense right to lat last chapter, I just love Seal novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs)
Forget Me Not: Number 1 in series (Navy SEALs) by Marliss Melton (Mass Market Paperback - 24 Dec 2004)
£4.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews