Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-written regency romance
This was my first book by Julie Anne Long and so I really did not know what to expect after buying it on impulse. I am glad to say that by the end I was very much a fan.
The story uses Pygmalion for its inspiration but although there are similarities - this is so much more than just a reworking of an old story.
Lily Masters is a skilled London pickpocket who...
Published on 11 May 2005 by josie82

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice read. 3.5 stars.
A nice story to while away the time. Yeh you have to suspend belief, but that's ok, it's a nice short love story that doesn't border on the wishy-washy, cringe worthy edge (well, maybe a little bit)!

TO LOVE A THIEF tells the story of Gideon Cole, a brilliant barrister, and Lily Masters, an orphan pickpocket from the slums of St. Giles, and how her...
Published on 15 Mar. 2012 by StarPlayer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, well-written regency romance, 11 May 2005
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love A Thief (Warner Forever) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was my first book by Julie Anne Long and so I really did not know what to expect after buying it on impulse. I am glad to say that by the end I was very much a fan.
The story uses Pygmalion for its inspiration but although there are similarities - this is so much more than just a reworking of an old story.
Lily Masters is a skilled London pickpocket who steals to support herself and her sister, and is good at what she does. Gideon Cole is a handsome barrister who has a desire to better his position in life and plans to do so by marrying the daughter of a marquis and so obtain a position in the government.
Gideon catches Lily trying to rob a man and in exchange for her freedom she must pose as the object of his affection to make the marquis's daughter jealous enough to accept his proposal. So Lily and her sister move to Gideon's estate and as she is polished into a lady, they find themselves drawn to each other and start to fall in love.
Lily is spirited and feisty without being a stereotype and is someone you can really root for. Gideon is your typical deliciously rugged male who despite his desire to marry high to better his life, is not single-minded and makes a convincingly troubled hero. Together, the pair have chemistry that jumps off the page and this makes you more than interested in their story.
The basic story is not new, but with the quality of the writing it really shines through as an original. The character development shows you the characters struggling with their feelings and you can really see why they act the way they do and feel their happiness and pains. At times the book is poignant and touching but is also witty, and on occasion laugh-out-loud funny. The secondary characters add depth to the book and are entertaining and realistic but never overpowering.
All in all I was thoroughly impressed with the book and will be seeking out Ms Long's first book and any she writes in the future. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a sweet, well-written regency romance that is similar in style to Julia Quinn or Sabrina Jeffries - I'm sure you will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
very adventurous and romantic .full of charm and funny twists in a very well written story.
I would recommend it greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
Very enjoyable read. Good hero and heroine. A nice heart warming story well written and entertaining. Love the way this author writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 7 Nov. 2012
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
I absolutely adored this book, the emotions were so beautifully written that I constantly felt like I was being hit in the solar plexus, the story was romantic to the extreme and rendered perfectly. I read one of this authors other books reduced and bought this at full price because I loved the way she wrote, brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A nice read. 3.5 stars., 15 Mar. 2012
By 
StarPlayer (B'ham England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
A nice story to while away the time. Yeh you have to suspend belief, but that's ok, it's a nice short love story that doesn't border on the wishy-washy, cringe worthy edge (well, maybe a little bit)!

TO LOVE A THIEF tells the story of Gideon Cole, a brilliant barrister, and Lily Masters, an orphan pickpocket from the slums of St. Giles, and how her transformation into a lady of high society changes both of their lives forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
A very good read, the story was charming and the plot was thrilling couldn't turn the page fast enough, worth the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun read, 1 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love A Thief (Warner Forever) (Mass Market Paperback)
JAL delivers original plots, great characters and very witty dialogue. The hero grooms a pick pocket to become a rival for the affections of the lady he is determined to marry. Although he resists the attraction he is forced to throw away his careful plans and concede that the pick pocket is the lady he'd rather marry. I was worried this would be a predictable My Fair Lady type story but it was not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: To Love a Thief (Kindle Edition)
Great follow on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

To Love A Thief (Warner Forever)
To Love A Thief (Warner Forever) by Julie Anne Long (Mass Market Paperback - 16 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews