Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Rich Quick Fever Wrecks Havoc on Scammers!
Do you play the lottery? If so, you'll feel an affinity with appropriately named, JoLayne Lucks, the heroine of this novel.
How would your life be changed if you suddenly won $14 million? Naturally, you would find good use for it. But what negative consequences would follow? If you favor your privacy, personal safety and sanity, you will find Lucky You presents a...
Published on 6 Sep 2004 by Donald Mitchell

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of steam...
This was the first Hiaasen novel I read, and, since then have read 5 more; in my opinion, Lucky You is the weakest of the six. Don't get me wrong: this is a good book, which I enjoyed reading. But it seems to lack the spark of the other Hiaasen novels I've read, and I began to lose interest a bit in the final quarter. Also, while Hiaasen's wit was present, it was not...
Published on 31 Jan 2000 by Khalid Hayat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Runs out of steam..., 31 Jan 2000
By 
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
This was the first Hiaasen novel I read, and, since then have read 5 more; in my opinion, Lucky You is the weakest of the six. Don't get me wrong: this is a good book, which I enjoyed reading. But it seems to lack the spark of the other Hiaasen novels I've read, and I began to lose interest a bit in the final quarter. Also, while Hiaasen's wit was present, it was not as prominent as in his earlier novels. In the process, Lucky You ended up reminding me of a weak Elmore Leonard novel. Leonard and Hiaasen are my favourite authors, and, while there is undoubtedly some similarity between their work, they both have their own unique voice. As a seasoned Leonard reader, however, I couldn't really discern Hiaasen's voice in this one. If you have never read any of his works, I would suggest that you probably start elsewhere - I recommend Stormy Weather and Native Tongue. I would also suggest that you read anything you can by Elmore Leonard [but don't start with the Get Shorty sequel "Be Cool", because I think that was distinctly under par].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Rich Quick Fever Wrecks Havoc on Scammers!, 6 Sep 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
Do you play the lottery? If so, you'll feel an affinity with appropriately named, JoLayne Lucks, the heroine of this novel.
How would your life be changed if you suddenly won $14 million? Naturally, you would find good use for it. But what negative consequences would follow? If you favor your privacy, personal safety and sanity, you will find Lucky You presents a living nightmare of all the things that can go wrong.
Naturally, lottery winners become targets for all kinds of fraud. In fact, some will even try to claim that they own the winning tickets. But how often do envious people actually try to steal the ticket? That's the premise of this book.
The plot line though is merely an excuse for the ever satirical Mr. Hiaasen to unloose his humor on those who operate beyond the fringes of legal and ethical behavior including purveyors of fake religious miracles, crooked officials, cheating spouses, white supremacists, racists, the mob, counterfeiters and thieves. In addition, the humor spills over to include those who marry too quickly and unwisely, overeager managers and law clerks, and the overconfidence of men. Those who enjoy reading about writing will be thrilled by the many satirical references in the book to the degradation of the written word in small town newspapers.
Mr. Hiaasen is at his best when he focuses narrowly on fields of endeavor that he knows well. There his humor is sharp, on target and original. When he moves outside of his arena, the humor moves into burlesque and broad strokes that tend to belabor an obvious point past its potential. That's the weakness of this book. He's mostly off solid ground for his humor. Because his targets are people for whom we feel little sympathy, the humor sort of works.
This book contains one of Mr. Hiaasen's favorite themes: the significance of natural beauty being marred by greedy people. But there's no Skink here to take the story line to its usual brilliant potential.
If you are, however, a fan of Mr. Hiaasen, I definitely recommend this book to you. Just realize that this isn't one of his most brilliant efforts.
Appreciate what you have and live in harmony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, in a nasty sort of way, 18 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
I read this in one session whilst I was suffering the flu, and it made the time fly by. Great characters, not that I approve of many of them, but they were so strong that though various plot lines kept alternating, it wasnt hard to keep on top of it all. The Religious aspect of Grange was very funny, and the book certainly lived up to all the praise quoted on the cover. An exciting funny thriller, and having finished all the Janet Evanovich thrillers, I'm delighted to have found another humourous crime novelist whose books I can now work my way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Think twice before buying your next lottery ticket..., 2 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
The author appeared with Jeremy Paxman a few weeks ago on 'Start the Week' and was so entertaining I felt compelled to buy the book. I wasn't disappointed. It's an exciting read as a crime novel but you also start wondering about the state of certain sections of US society. It's a goodies v baddies story with against a partial background of the extremity of US religion which you wouldn't believe unless you'd heard the radio interview. The author was new to me and I intend to sample some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get Rich Quick Fever Wrecks Havoc on Scammers!, 6 Sep 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lucky You (Mass Market Paperback)
Do you play the lottery? If so, you'll feel an affinity with appropriately named, JoLayne Lucks, the heroine of this novel.
How would your life be changed if you suddenly won $14 million? Naturally, you would find good use for it. But what negative consequences would follow? If you favor your privacy, personal safety and sanity, you will find Lucky You presents a living nightmare of all the things that can go wrong.
Naturally, lottery winners become targets for all kinds of fraud. In fact, some will even try to claim that they own the winning tickets. But how often do envious people actually try to steal the ticket? That's the premise of this book.
The plot line though is merely an excuse for the ever satirical Mr. Hiaasen to unloose his humor on those who operate beyond the fringes of legal and ethical behavior including purveyors of fake religious miracles, crooked officials, cheating spouses, white supremacists, racists, the mob, counterfeiters and thieves. In addition, the humor spills over to include those who marry too quickly and unwisely, overeager managers and law clerks, and the overconfidence of men. Those who enjoy reading about writing will be thrilled by the many satirical references in the book to the degradation of the written word in small town newspapers.
Mr. Hiaasen is at his best when he focuses narrowly on fields of endeavor that he knows well. There his humor is sharp, on target and original. When he moves outside of his arena, the humor moves into burlesque and broad strokes that tend to belabor an obvious point past its potential. That's the weakness of this book. He's mostly off solid ground for his humor. Because his targets are people for whom we feel little sympathy, the humor sort of works.
This book contains one of Mr. Hiaasen's favorite themes: the significance of natural beauty being marred by greedy people. But there's no Skink here to take the story line to its usual brilliant potential.
If you are, however, a fan of Mr. Hiaasen, I definitely recommend this book to you. Just realize that this isn't one of his most brilliant efforts.
Appreciate what you have and live in harmony!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surreal??, 27 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
This book houses some superb characters and Hiaasen is so clever that when he writes scenes, he manages to put you inside the mind of the character at that particular time...amazing..Not the first book I've read by him and definetely not the last...excellent for those who appreciate surreal scenarios and exquisite character development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant fun, 4 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
My first Hiaasen novel but certainly not my last. A superbly written thriller with plenty of laugh-out-load moments to boot. The two redneck villians, although cruel and obnoxious, must be two of the most inept, and therefore hilarious, criminals in modern fiction. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff !, 8 May 2004
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
This is my first read of Carl Hiaasen and I'm glad to say that I'll be seeking out his other titles.
In 'Lucky You' he creates rounded and believable characters and places them in extreme and extremely comic situations; turtles, stigmata, divine road-markings, arson, a nifty self-defence thumb manoeuvre, and some old-fashioned rom-com thrown in for good measure.
I would compare his snappy and comic style with Ben Elton - both writers produce entertaining, funny and laugh-out-loud situations and one-liners.
All in all, a great page-turner which I polished off in 3 sittings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you win the lottery, cash it in quick!!, 16 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
Another great story from one of the funniest crime writers around. The mix of a $28m lottery win, shared between two crazed wannabe white supremacists and a veterenary nurse who lives in a small town where weeping statues, a case of stigmata and road spills that resemble the face of Jesus are commonplace allows Hiasen to write this sarcastic yet hillarious tale comprising of ridiculous situations where chaos and greed reign supreme.
The dry wit flows from the pen of Hiassen dropping the reader smack in the middle of a story of how things can go from good to bad, very quickly, if you are greedy. If you have read any other books by the author, Skin Tight; Tourist Trap; Native Tongue to name a few, you will know exactly what to expect - he does not dissapoint. For the reader who hasn'e been exposed to Hiassen's slick writing this is a thoroughly enjoyable book which serves as an insight into how to write a funny and cynical tale of everyday human greed. His dark sense of humour is amazingly funny and the sharp writing makes it a very easy and worthwhile read. Give it a go, you shouldn't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky readers, 3 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lucky You (Paperback)
Carl Hiaasen has never disappointed me, and I don't whether it's just recently, but this may be his best yet. All the usual Hiaasen themes are there: who else could combine lotteries, right-wing militias, statues of the BVM that weep Charlie perfume, ecology, and the evils of the press? It is also extremely funny. Unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucky You
Lucky You by Carl Hiaasen (Mass Market Paperback - Oct 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews