Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, I learned a lot.
After reading it I have to ask, why are we supporting this bunch? The book makes it plain they're an expensive and bizarre anachronism. One criticism, the subject of paedophilia, so often associated with the Royals, wasn't touched upon. Was this by accident, did the subject never come up, or was it by deliberate ommission? Whichever, all monarchists should read this...
Published 8 months ago by Bill Kruse

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the royals kitty kelly
If you like a racy read and are not too worried about unattribuated sources -you'll enjoy this for what it is
Published 1 month ago by PETER METCALFE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, I learned a lot., 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals (Paperback)
After reading it I have to ask, why are we supporting this bunch? The book makes it plain they're an expensive and bizarre anachronism. One criticism, the subject of paedophilia, so often associated with the Royals, wasn't touched upon. Was this by accident, did the subject never come up, or was it by deliberate ommission? Whichever, all monarchists should read this factual and entertaining book. I doubt they'll be monarchists for long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the royals kitty kelly, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals (Paperback)
If you like a racy read and are not too worried about unattribuated sources -you'll enjoy this for what it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An everyday story of royal folk, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Royals : (Hardcover)
It may be a guilty pleasure but I've enjoyed Kitty Kelly's books in the past. His Way was an almost surgical dissection of Sinatra and Jackie Oh thankfully trashed the Kennedy hype. However as a warts and all saga of a family who still believe they're defending (the) faith a lot of it feels like reheated gossip and conjecture.

But the real problem here is the sources. It's not whether they're lying it's the equal weight given to them. Thus we have endless supporting quotes from worthless trash like Taki and Paul Johnson to which we're meant to nod sagely. The parliamentary outcries of Dennis Skinner and someone called Anthony Benn (surely it's either Tony or Anthony Wedgewood) are supposed to mean that the political establishment is rising up as one to proclaim a republic. And when all else fails a joyless pun pretending to be a Sun headline stands as proof of what the man on the Clapham omnibus is thinking. Plus an endless parade of unnamed 'close friends' and palace insiders provide a lot of amusement but generate more heat than light.

I'm not saying it's a bad read, enjoy it by all means but don't inhale. I gather the powers that be originally banned its publication in the UK. They needn't have bothered: The anti-roylists (and I include myself here) will want to be citizens rather than subjects even if Margaret and Fergie had taken holy orders. And the pros will continue adoring the monarchy regardless of the queen mum's political views or the contents of Diana's handbag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good gossip but oh, so unpleasant, 20 April 2011
This review is from: The Royals : (Hardcover)
I ended up reading far more of this book than I expected to.. there is something undeniably interesting about badmouthing famous people. The main drawbacks of this book are that Kitty Kelly appears to be driven mainly by bile and spleen. Almost every sentence contains a sneer, and after a while it gets wearing. Further, it eventually achieves the opposite of the effect intended, and engenders sympathy in the reader for the royal family which they may or may not deserve. However bad they are, they cannot possibly be worse than the book's writer.

Read the book by all means but don't bother to believe any of the statements in it. They are either public record or completely false, or just completely unverifiable but still presented as facts. I read most of it but ended up wanting to handle the book with gloves on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars On the surface it's funny, but really rather sad., 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This was rather like a Private Eye gossipy expose of the Royal Family. Parts of it are very funny, but seem more like a Spitting Image version than the real thing. Controversial bit now-I work in mental health- and Diana's longing to be loved keeps reminding me of so many working class East End children that I work with, who also came from broken homes and are emotionally very needy, as she was. If she hadn't been beautiful would anyone have taken her part, or bought this book?
You need mental strength to live in a goldfish bowl and I don't know how many of us would be able to withstand the degree of intrusion into our lives that the Royal Family have to withstand.
This book is about mutual incomprehension: mass society cannot fathom a family built around duty and loyalty and they-in turn-were outplayed in the publicity stakes by someone who did not share their values. On the surface, it is funny, but at a deeper level, it's a tragic document in some ways. It says as much about us as them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kitty Kelly books, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals (Kindle Edition)
I have read this book 4 times. Each time I find something different about the royal family. If u Ike the royals this book is for u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book luv it, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals (Paperback)
Great book gives information from a different outlook could not put it down. A must read if you are interested in Royalty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What the UK Royal Family Don't Want You To Know - Deliciously Scandalous!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals (Paperback)
A corker of a book - the Royal family's closet is stuffed full of skeletons. Could never regard them as "special" ever again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals : (Hardcover)
I loved this book It is well written Probably not for you if you are a fan of the Royal Family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Royals, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Royals : (Hardcover)
excellent reading and much enjoyment for this insight into the royals they areafter all human beings i have lent the book to my friends and familily
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb8f77d68)

This product

The Royals
The Royals by Kitty Kelley (Paperback - 29 Oct 2010)
10.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews