Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Lies, Revenge and Redemption
Olivia Grace married for love, and was deliriously happy, until scandal and divorce ruined not only her name, but her entire life. Five years on she's hiding under a false name, working for an odious woman in Belgium on the eve of battle. She's grown good at keeping secrets over the years, but when she finds her own husband on the battlefield, gravely injured, she knows...
Published on 8 Oct 2010 by Book Gannet

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair story, but some characters were irritating
Jack Wyndham, the Earl of Gracechurch, went against his family's wishes and married a young lady called Olivia, who had no title or money. His family continued to resent her, and Jack's own cousin decided to get rid of her. He spread lies about her and Jack believed him. He caught Olivia in the arms of her cousin and gave her no room to explain herself. Jack then kills...
Published on 9 Feb 2011 by britgirl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love, Lies, Revenge and Redemption, 8 Oct 2010
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) (Mass Market Paperback)
Olivia Grace married for love, and was deliriously happy, until scandal and divorce ruined not only her name, but her entire life. Five years on she's hiding under a false name, working for an odious woman in Belgium on the eve of battle. She's grown good at keeping secrets over the years, but when she finds her own husband on the battlefield, gravely injured, she knows she must save him. Despite him wearing a French uniform.

When Jack Wyndham, Earl of Gracechurch, wakes he's delighted to find his wife by his side. After their argument he's missed her terribly - except Olivia is strangely cold - but then in his mind it's still 1810, and nothing terrible has happened. Except he has memories he doesn't understand, and knows he is in danger, even if he can't remember why. There are people looking for him, but all he wants is to love his wife. Except the secrets in her eyes might turn out to be the most dangerous truths of all.

Eileen Dreyer opens her DRAKE'S RAKES series, and historical romance career in excellent style (she's beter known as award winning Silhouette author Kathleen Korbel). Starting in Belgium at the infamous Duchess of Richmond's ball, the action runs through Waterloo and the days that follow, tending the wounded and recovering the dead, before finally returning to London.

Olivia is an exceptional heroine, who has been forced to make some painful choices in order to survive. Her reactions to Jack, despite everything, prevent her from ever appearing too hard or unsympathetic. Then there are Grace, Lady Kate and Lady Bea to support her - three very different women with powerful stories to tell.

Into this comes Jack, a curious hero, wounded yet handsome, tender yet confused, and made hard by things he cannot remember. I'll admit I raced through this, dying to see how things would work out. How could Jack earn Livvi's forgiveness? Did he even deserve a chance? I almost didn't care about the traitor plot.

A complicated tale of love, lies, traitors, revenge and redemption, Dreyer handles all of this and more with a skilful touch. Nothing feels rushed or forced (though there are a few things that seem to get forgotten - like the flask. What did Gervaise mean about the flask?), the characters are beautifully crafted and the setting excellently researched. This book needs to be read more than once, and I think the next time I read this I'll enjoy it even more.

Dreyer is an exciting addition to the genre, I cannot wait to see what she does with a marriage of convenience plot. Grace's tale - Never a Gentleman - is up next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 1 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was a bit dubious about buying this book as I knew nothing about the author.
But I was delighted with a wonderful read, well reasearched and brilliant characters.
Some of the secondary characters including Bea were excellent. I highly reccomend this
and look forward to the follow up.

Excellent book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exciting and satisfying, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) (Mass Market Paperback)
An excellent adventure and romance. I got a bit irritated that the heroine forgave the hero so quickly but at least she took a couple of months; more acceptale than the usual capitulation in 5 minutes that is usual in these stories. Apart form that I enjoyed everything about this book: engaging story that was not too predictable; a range of interesting characters; believable love; and context well drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair story, but some characters were irritating, 9 Feb 2011
This review is from: Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) (Mass Market Paperback)
Jack Wyndham, the Earl of Gracechurch, went against his family's wishes and married a young lady called Olivia, who had no title or money. His family continued to resent her, and Jack's own cousin decided to get rid of her. He spread lies about her and Jack believed him. He caught Olivia in the arms of her cousin and gave her no room to explain herself. Jack then kills Olivia's cousin and goes on the run. Olivia is on the run herself from his family, who have made sure everyone knows about her alleged affair with her cousin. Jack's father arranges a divorce and Olivia finds herself alone and has no money. She finds friendship in Lady Kate, who has knowledge of Jack and his family, and her servant, Grace. They are busy in Belgium helping nurse injured soldiers back to health, when they discover Jack injured on the battlefield. Olivia remembers how harshly he treated her, instantly believing his cousin that she was cheating, and tossed her out whilst she was pregnant with their child. But when Jack awakes after his wounds are tended to, he still believes it is five years ago and they are still happily married. The doctor tells them not to tell Jack about his past and he must find it out himself. So Olivia finds herself playing the role of his wife again, despite her initial worries that he will discard her again once he remembers. He does begin to remember some things, and overhears a conversation relating to his past. Eventually, she decides she must tell him the rest, as his family learn where they both are and she fears they will take her son and he will believe them again.

Overall, the book is OK. I found it annoying how Jack instantly decides to believe his family against his wife without letting her explain anything. Also, we learn that he has memories of a lady called Mimi, who Olivia assumes was his lover after their divorce. There are only vague references to her and then she suddenly makes an apperance at the end of the book. I would have thought she would have played more of a part during the story. Where was she this whole time? Why suddenly announce her at the end? It may say what she does, but it doesn't seem to fit the story to simply throw her in at the end.

This is the first story I have read by this author. I may read her books again, but only from a library.

3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn ....Yawn, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) (Mass Market Paperback)
Barely a lady captured me to begin with just because the cover interested me Immensely but sadly it did not Captivated me as i had hoped for me it had let down written all over .

Are story begins with our heroine Olivia Grace most of the way through the novel she is called livvie which is tiresome,at the start of this we find out that livvie has been divorced kicked out of her home because she had been Allegedly gambling and also she had been having an affair with her cousin those where the main things she had been accused of by her horrible nasty piece of work ex husband who is are hero i know shocked i had no idea how the author was going to make me fall in love with bitter man who had cast his wife and child into the cold believing his snotty family and pervy cousin who does some deadly things to are livvy unthinkable things ,so back to the main plot with are heroine and some rather boring support characters and then bam we meet jack who had amnesia and stil thinks him and livvie are married .

And in the missed of everything jack the hero starts talking crap about being in love with this girl mimi when just one moment ago he was claiming his undieing love for livie .And as for passion do not hold your breath there was very little
and could have been alot better ,livvie is a what i would call a class A Mug reminds me of the mordern day footballers wife talking all the crap and just accepting it hardly any back bone cant say a good word about the jack fellow
but his nasty cousin villan gervaise or something was very entertaning and thrilling only part i enjoyed .

A few factors i liked where the history terms and some nice quotes to go by
Angie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes)
Barely A Lady: Number 1 in series (Drake's Rakes) by Eileen Dreyer (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Aug 2010)
6.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews