Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read book for leaders & leaders-to-be.
This book outlines the nuts & bolts of how to lead/manage. It gives general principles and backs them up with detailed examples from Lincoln's life. I wish the author would have gone further in discussing the history surrounding each example. That was a chaotic time in our histroy, more so than today. When you see how Lincoln handled the problems of that time,...
Published on 28 Dec 1997

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and dull
The genius of the book is in its title - who wouldn't want to learn about the leadership secrets of one of the greatest men of the last two centuries. And, if I had not read anything about Lincoln before I might have given it 2 or3 stars -although written as if the author was in a hurry to publish, it's not a bad intro to elements of Lincoln's story. But if you've read...
Published on 20 Oct 2012 by ARN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-read book for leaders & leaders-to-be., 28 Dec 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
This book outlines the nuts & bolts of how to lead/manage. It gives general principles and backs them up with detailed examples from Lincoln's life. I wish the author would have gone further in discussing the history surrounding each example. That was a chaotic time in our histroy, more so than today. When you see how Lincoln handled the problems of that time, you'll gain insight about resolving modern-day problems.

If the author had given further historical detail, the nature of the problems would be much clearer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful insights into the life of a great man and leader, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
I had bought this book along with a number of others, and it is my nature to read more than one book at a time. This book however was not put down until finished and no other book shared my reading time during that period. Enjoy it and learn from the life of one of the greatest leaders the world has known. The writing style makes you feel that you are actually there during the civil war, contemplating with Abe how to handle a particular situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons For Historians and Leaders, 2 Sep 2013
By 
James Gallen (St. Louis, Missouri, U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
I listened to "Lincoln On Leadership" more to get a better understanding about how Lincoln worked than to learn leadership techniques for personal use. I got both. Author Donald T. Phillips organizes his book along several lessons of leadership. In each chapter he draws on Lincoln's practices, reflects on how they show leadership techniques and then concludes with Lincoln's principles.

This book begins with a chapter on getting out and seeing the troops. It cites instances in which Lincoln visited, literally, troops in the field to get a sense of their conditions and to help them identify with them. Like any successful leader, Lincoln was able to build strong alliances, particularly among his cabinet whose initial impressions of Lincoln were unfavorable. Examples of how Lincoln maintained his integrity when dishonesty might have seemed more expedient and overlooked slights to advance the greater good compel admiration. One chapter that must resonate with any reader is the one on how Lincoln handled unjust criticism without lashing out at his critics. His ability to communicate and inspire through stories and speeches is an exalted standard to emulate.

I have just listed a few of the topics addressed in this book. I found it an interesting historical read and am left with lessons to ponder. I will think about them at work tomorrow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best buy!, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
The book was new when I brought it, the delievery was good. I love this book!
The book was recommened by a friend and I was happy to get hold of it. I may buy another one, becoz my copy is getting old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The relevance of the content remains as powerful today as when Lincoln applied it., 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
The way that the author has related the characteristics of Lincoln to practical applications for each reader makes this book not only interesting but helpful in how we engage with other people. I hope to distill the messages and use them in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lincoln's Low-Key Leadership, 9 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Abraham Lincoln was the President of the United States during one of the most challenging times in our history. Most would agree that he was one of our best presidents, but fewer have considered the basis of his success. Lincoln was not an outgoing, dynamic leader in the mode of today's hard-driving CEOs or media-savvy politicians. He practiced the virtues of Leading Quietly.

Donald Phillips has distilled Lincoln's leadership style into fifteen principles, each elaborated in its own chapter with examples and supporting sub-principles. The author organizes them into categories of People (3), Character (4), Endeavor (5), and Communication (3). These major principles are listed below.

1. Get out of the office and circulate among the troops.
2. Build strong alliances.
3. Persuade rather than coerce.
4. Honesty and integrity are the best policies.
5. Never act out of vengeance or spite.
6. Have the courage to handle unjust criticism.
7. Be a master of paradox.
8. Exercise a strong hand--be decisive.
9. Lead by being led.
10. Set goals and be results-oriented.
11. Keep searching until you find your "Grant."
12. Encourage innovation.
13. Master the art of public speaking.
14. Influence people through conversation and storytelling.
15. Preach a vision and continually reaffirm it.

These principles are described and illustrated so that the readers can decide how--and if--each can be adapted to their personal styles. Phillips may fall victim to his own version of the "Lincoln Myth" by emphasizing Lincoln's strengths without due attention to his weaknesses. But this is not a serious weakness, particularly for readers who become more familiar with Lincoln's life through one or more of the biographies in the author's recommended readings.

This book is highly recommended for readers who want to understand Lincoln's understated style and develop their own. Readers who enjoy learning from Lincoln may also benefit from Fred Kaplan's Lincoln: The Biography of a Writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Endorsed by Countless Renowned Leaders!, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Hassans (New Malden, Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lincoln On Leadership (Hardcover)
This book may impact anyone who is striving to become a cherished leader. After reading this book, I couldn't disagree with the endorsements on the initial pages of the book. The book clearly and intelligently elaborates and matches the examples of Lincoln with today's issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Superficial and dull, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times (Paperback)
The genius of the book is in its title - who wouldn't want to learn about the leadership secrets of one of the greatest men of the last two centuries. And, if I had not read anything about Lincoln before I might have given it 2 or3 stars -although written as if the author was in a hurry to publish, it's not a bad intro to elements of Lincoln's story. But if you've read anything about Lincoln, I'd avoid this book. It's superficial. Instead head towards the wonderful Team of Rivals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times
Lincoln on Leadership: Executive Strategies for Tough Times by Donald T. Phillips (Paperback - 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews