Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Making of Trump - Good Read
Trump talks you through his path to creating a huge amount of wealth. It's interesting to hear his story develop from the age of 27 when he decided to move to Manhattan renting a not so great flat but nevertheless was in the heart of the city he desired to develop. The book talks through each project Trump embarked on and goes into interesting detail on all the...
Published on 6 Oct 2007 by Phil

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you would probably expect
If your looking for a book to give you advice this is not it! This book follows Donald Trumps usual style. He is very successful and he shows you some of the great investments that he has made.
He doesn't allow you into his mind much or his thought process.
Published on 14 Oct 2009 by Mr. Ja Ojo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Making of Trump - Good Read, 6 Oct 2007
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
Trump talks you through his path to creating a huge amount of wealth. It's interesting to hear his story develop from the age of 27 when he decided to move to Manhattan renting a not so great flat but nevertheless was in the heart of the city he desired to develop. The book talks through each project Trump embarked on and goes into interesting detail on all the obstacles he faced during his early career. If you will, imagine you desire to build something like the Trump Tower in New York...it took him several years and he was considered a joke by many, but like the title suggests he struck deal after deal until he secured the build. Great book, teaches you the value of persistence...and how to lock in a deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiring read..., 15 Jan 2010
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
I have read this book twice now. Once a few years ago and once late last year. The first time I read it, it inspired me to start investing in property (Which I did)... this time it has renewed my interest in property investment.

The book is surprisingly honest and forthright given intimate details of Trump's thoughts on his upbringing, the reasons be got started and even going surprisingly close to the bone on some of his run in's with city mayors and other business acquaintances.

If you are interested in investing in property then this is a great way to get inspired. If you are interested in what can be achieved in business, it's a must read and if you just want to understand why Donald Trump has been so successful then this is the definitive book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trumping The World, 26 Jan 2013
By 
T. T. Rogers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
In 'The Art of the Deal', Donald Trump gives an account of his day-to-day business life. While I cannot say I am an admirer of the author, I have to say this is one of the better books I have read on real estate. And while that might not seem much of a compliment - real estate is quite a disreputable genre, even among the self-help literature - it's genuine praise for a book that is detailed and intelligently-written. Having said that, this is not so much a 'how-to' book, more a kind of memoir focused on what Trump does and what it is like to work as a premier real estate investor. Trump does give us some insight into his thought processes (the chapters on Trump Tower, the gaming industry, Wynn-Fall and Central Park South, are particularly good in this respect), but these are not going to be of general application because most of us will not spend our time brokering deals at that level. In any case, it would very wrong to assume that Trump is some kind of great real estate investor. He's an average-to-good real estate investor who has gone through three or four corporate insolvencies. He is seen as 'successful' only because he is well-known and does his work at a certain altitude. His real talent is as a showman and that's really what this book is about. In 'The Art of the Deal', Trump is at the centre of everything, his ego is all-consuming and he leverages everything from sky-scrapers to casinos to an ice rink.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Iqbal Mohammed "Nights" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great book and I picked it up from a Amazon seller 'as new' for a bargain price. Whatever one thinks of Trump (I personally am reminded of a massive whale with an equally massive mouth), you cannot deny the simple and engaging storytelling of the art of the deal. I found it hard to put the book down from page one. In fact, I only bought it as a result of previewing the first three pages on Amazon. While it is set in the 80s, I don't think it has lost any of its relevance, going through Trump's experiences, deals, business attitude so well. I think the messages of the book are relevant even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what you would probably expect, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Ja Ojo (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your looking for a book to give you advice this is not it! This book follows Donald Trumps usual style. He is very successful and he shows you some of the great investments that he has made.
He doesn't allow you into his mind much or his thought process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!, 22 Aug 2005
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is as smooth as its namesake author. Long before "You're fired!" entered the popular lexicon, "The Donald" was piecing together deals that changed Manhattan's skyline. The book includes a diary of Trump's typical week. He flirts with a hostile takeover of Holiday Inn (which nets him tens of millions of dollars), has a friendly conversation with radio personality Don Imus, selects Christmas decorations for the Trump Tower atrium, chats with NBC executives, talks with Ivan Boesky just two weeks before Boesky pleads guilty to insider trading, meets with a top New York banker who begs him for his business, has a conversation with Missouri senator John Danforth and speaks with international designer Calvin Klein - all by Tuesday. If you conclude that Trump is a self-promoting, silver-spooned name-dropper, take your shirt off now and hand it to him - before he tears it off your back. Trump plays for keeps. Tony Schwarz has done his usual masterful job of co-authoring this book. (If nicely spun anecdotes could be used as collateral, Schwarz could be a real estate magnate himself.) Of course, some of the less rosy chapters in Trump's career are downplayed, and his major bankruptcy problems (and bounce back) happened after this book's initial publication. We strongly recommend it to anyone who wants an entertaining look at some of the actual reality show behind Donald Trump's towering success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the world most influencial investors, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
It's good to read from the best how investment deals are done and its a preasurable read, this is one of those books that i can't put down. For those interested investment and how to make you assets grow this is truthly inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Well, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well.. its my personal opinion, but the book is not very smart :)) judge for your self. It was a waste of money for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a great item and I would most certainly recommend it to others.
It is worth every penny paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars trump, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trump: The Art of the Deal (Mass Market Paperback)
Really good a nice book with a great deal of info on the brain that is trump and also how real estate works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trump: The Art of the Deal
Trump: The Art of the Deal by Donald Trump (Mass Market Paperback - Dec 1988)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews