Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 April 2009
McGeown has produced a Physiology book that is perfectly aimed at undergraduate level Physiology for Medical students and similar degrees.As a second year who has been lectured by this author, I can confirm that the level this book is written at is perfect for the level that Physiology is taught in undergrad Medicine during the pre-clinical years.

I originally bought Textbook of Medical Physiology: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access and found it to be a great book. The problem with Guyton was the detail and depth it went into was far beyond anything I needed, and was very daunting. McGeown gently introduces Physiology, and can be used alongside more detailed Physiology books as a quick reference guide if necessary.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
Bought this textbook to help with the physiology module of my pharmacy degree. It is well set out and covered most of the topics discussed in my lectures. Has helped me get back into the understanding of biology related topics which i had forgotten about during my gap year. A definite purchase if you have a physiology module in your degree course.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
One of the best physiology books for medical students. Easy to understand, explains concepts thoroughly with multiple choice and essay practice questions at the end of each chapter. Great for anyone studying for their medical exams
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2011
I'm a first year medical student at Queen's university, Belfast and have found this book an invaluable help (especially because McGeown is one of my lecturers).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
The book was exactly the right book, description good, in excellent condition, description matched the condition of the book, no differences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
This book is really well put together, and presents Physiology topics in a way that makes it easy to learn and understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Too complex for what I needed. Shame it doesn't have many pictures of what kind of stuff it includes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
An great book to supplement your standard textbook for class.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2008
I found Master Medicine Physiology an excellent round up and summary of all of the bread and butter physiology you'd be expected to know in exams. Despite the lack of colour, it gives you all the essentials in an organised and easy to understand format. If you like the down to earth, no nonsense format typical of the master medicine family, its ideal.

I particularly feel it comes into its own in the revision period- its ideal when your just trying to cover everything in moderate depth but don't have hours to spend trawling through physiology textbooks that break your back lifting them up alone. Moreover, at the ends of the chapters there are questions to check your knowledge which are essential in the run up to exams and are usually lacking in quality and suitability in most texts. There are a good variety of exam type questions from modified essay questions to short notes and multiple choice; they are all common and hence very relevant exam questions. I think this is quite important as many physiology self test questions go into extreme and unnecessary detail or are too highly focused. This is exam style so makes best use of time.

Although not a substitute for detailed larger physiology textbooks, it is a great little book for getting bag to basics and then building on it. Its ideal as a springboard to start looking into a subject and after drawing on more detailed resources, it provides excellent self assessment material to round up your studies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)