Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars9
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£38.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2006
There are many part 1 books on the market. They all fit in with the latest trend; give a short clinical scenario and then a best of five.
However, this book differs fundamentaly from the others available in that it is the only one which makes the reader have to weigh up the info and reach a reasoned conclusion. Many other books just give you a clinical blurb and then ask a question totally unrelated to the scenario. Try any pastest book to see this phenomenon.
The real MRCP part 1 has become more like the part 2 without pictures and requires the candidate to use every last bit of info. Rather like an episode of neighbours, nothing happens without a reason.
Indeed many of the questions in this book are lifted straight from the only authorized release from the college i.e. the May 2002 paper available from their website.
The effect of copying a few questions is positive- the rest of the questions are tailored to the actual exam format. MRCP examiners spend a great deal of thought honing questions.
In summary if you want to practice for the real exam then this is the only book (Plus the college publications!)
The other books are useful as a means of revision but for the most part don't reflect the real exam.
22 comments13 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2004
I have used just about all the part one books on the market over the last 2 years. This new book is definately the best. The questions are very similar to the exam and the answers are incredibly thorough.The strength of the book is in the explanations, especially when several answers seem correct. It explains why each answer could be feasable and then why the answer in particular is the best of those available. It contains lots of useful lists and covers some of the tricky subjects (such as porphyria) in an easy to remember way. I have only just started to use this book but expect it will become THE essential part one book.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2011
Although it can't take the place of a more complete text like Kalra or compete with the larger question bank available to OnExamination, it is integral to revision if even just to hone the mind to sift through all the details and pick up clues to the answer. The explanations are concise and informative. This is for those moments when you don't want to read a textbook and you're sick of sitting in front of a screen mindlessly skimming questions and hitting next continuously.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
Best of five style revision book for the MRCP part one. 350 well selected cases with informative answers and some great teaching points. The book is extremly easy to read and you feel that you are covering alot of material in a relatively shot time period. Worth getting for anyone revising for the MRCP but also medical students entering the final years of their training.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
One of the best Part 1 practice books on the market. In addition to providing a large bank of practice questions this book stands out in that it really make you think about why the best answer is the correct answer. It provided me with a good structure for use in the exam. I passed first time!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2005
An excellent book, one of the best medical books I have ever read. It has given me the opportunity to reflect about very important aspects of different diseases not only highlighting the common features of different pathologies but,at the same time, emphasizing the slight differentation we could find in them.
I have been using this book for my preparation for MRCP part I and I am sure that I will achieve very good results with it.
For this reasons, I strongly advice "Best of Five" not only to doctors who are studying for their exams but also to any doctor who really wants to reason when being in contact with patients.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
A good book, but I would suggest using the online question banks to achieve best results for this exam
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2006
I have enjoyed reading this book so much. the detailed explanations are not only very helpful for the exam purpose, but also for the real life practise. I have worked with Dr Dalton since I was medical student, he is an Excellent teacher and I was not surprised to see his book very helpful. i would highly recommend it to every doctor doing the MRCP exam, and It should difenetely be on their revision list
0Comment1 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2007
two things

number one - if you want to learn Gastro work under harry dalton - he will squeeze you and push you to the edge but in the end you learn quite a lot

number two - he was kind enough to autograph this book for me while i was his gastro SHO in his porta cabin so i hope i pass it , i might not get the answers right the first time but with enough explanation i might be able to in the exam this may..:)

I DID A POST TAKE WITH HIM THE OTHER WEEK END AND HE WAS BLAZING FAST..YEE HAAAAA..:)
0Comment0 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Over 3,100 Practice Questions. Written By Clinical Experts At BMJ.
  -  
MRCP II Written Courses with Professor Sanjay Sharma
  -  
2,400 BoF questions based on themes from past papers