Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bible for student nurses
Recommended to me by a psychiatric nurse this book is a must for all student nurses following the mental health programme. Easy to follow, the book is divided into chapters explaining the management and treatment of various psychiatic illnesses and the drugs used to treat them. The latter part of the book explains 'consent, liability and ethics. A convenient size, this...
Published on 4 Feb 2002

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but no need to buy if you have 4th edition
This is a useful book on psychopharmacology, but if you already have the 4th edition be warned that little has changed. It contains no new chapters, little new text, the colour scheme is different but the format basically the same... and the Introduction is the same as the 4th edition (2005) even though they have rather cheekily put 'Bangor, 2008' at the end to imply it...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by jonhaff


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good and useful book. Im studying Mental Health Nursing at uni and this is the most helpful psychiatric drugs book I have come across. Got all the information you would need and more. Good resource for having all the psych drug information in one place and well set out. Quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PSYCHIATRIC DRUGS ---- EXPLAINED, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good for all students who want to develop the skills on drugs, well elaborated books.

Even, the already qualified nurses found it very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explains psychiatric drus well, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think this book really makes understanding psychiatric drugs fairly easy. Good explanations which aren't too academic like in the writing. I would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good purchase. It is what I wanted, would gladly recommend it to my friends and colleagues? It is value for money and a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy going but not enough, 7 May 2012
This is an easy to read and use book that gives a brief introduction to many aspects of psychotropic drugs. As such it is as easy for the layperson like myself to read as well as professionals. Healy, although firmly in favour of the use of drugs to treat mental health problems is not without criticism both of the drugs and the issues surrounding them. I would recommend this book but I have at least one point to take issue with. When it comes to benzodiazepines the author states that the withdrawal can last up to a year but I can from personal experience and that of other patients and medical professionals categorically state that it can last indefinately. it is now 5 years since I withdrawn from benzodiazepines and I have had no let up in the symptoms caused by their withdrawal so I definately have to disagree on this fact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars student accessories, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Psychiatric Drugs Explained (Paperback)
Great condition. Easy to read. Contains history of drugs and usage. Will help enormously with my forthcoming studies. A must for Mental Health Nursing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!!, 21 Nov 2011
Brilliant!!! i'm a 2nd year mental health nurse student and this book is brilliant explains everything very helpful indeed. Divides and explain various illnesses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unmissable, 2 Nov 2011
Fantastic book, although a newer version is available this book is fantastic for mental health nurses needing to understand the psychiatric drugs quickly. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really easy to read and explains drugs in a way that you can understand without wasting time scratching your head! Well worth the money and I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome, holistic text on psycho-pharmacology, 12 April 2010
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used alongside the "British National Formulary", (dry, straightforward, but essential) this book gives an excellent balance in providing a perspective that celebrates the person centred approach which is the corner-stone of nursing. Nurses often have to assume various roles in their work, and I feel this text really does help to reinforce the holistic nature of our job. I speak as a qualified nurse for32 years, and I recommend this book to both students and qualified nurses alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Psychiatric Drugs Explained
Psychiatric Drugs Explained by David Healy MD FRCPsych (Paperback - 18 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: 7.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews