Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic aid
I found this book on the shelf at Waterstones and knew it was a book I'd been looking for for ages. As a second year massage therapist student(soon to study osteopathy) I've been reading G D Maitland's Periferal Manipulation & Vertebral Manipulation as a diagnostic help. In this book the authors (who quote Maitland extensively and as he says in the foreword of this...
Published on 20 Mar 2001 by Retro HiFi

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Repetitive
The chapters are repetitive. The book gives you an idea of how to assess without going into specific details about why we do what we do and what to do with our findings.
Published on 13 Mar 2008 by Stephen Ward


Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic aid, 20 Mar 2001
I found this book on the shelf at Waterstones and knew it was a book I'd been looking for for ages. As a second year massage therapist student(soon to study osteopathy) I've been reading G D Maitland's Periferal Manipulation & Vertebral Manipulation as a diagnostic help. In this book the authors (who quote Maitland extensively and as he says in the foreword of this book) 'have brought together a field that has grown almost out of recognition over the last 50 years'. For every joint there is a comprehensive set of tests and assessment techniques to evaluate soundly and confidently; with excellent photographic, clear & concise illustrations (unlike the Maitland books which are pencil drawn and not as clear)and step by step procedure it really is a fantastic aid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strongly Recommended, 29 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Unquestionably this book is core reading material for assisting students and newly qualified therapists alike. Its systematic and logical approach clearly guides the reader through step by step without any complications. Many of my physio colleagues can only praise the author for this and all her other editions. The subjective and physical examination chapters sufficiently contain all the necessary criteria for the initial and follow up assessments with comprehensive literature and illustrations. The extensive use of photographic images for every joint test and assessment technique not only visually stimulates the reader, but also makes it so much easier to perform the techniques. The appealing presentation and layout suggest the book is very reader friendly and is one of the better therapy publications on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Repetitive, 13 Mar 2008
By 
Stephen Ward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The chapters are repetitive. The book gives you an idea of how to assess without going into specific details about why we do what we do and what to do with our findings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good book!, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It has almost everything that you need in order to perform a good neruromuscular examination! It covers lots of areas and it's so useful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 11 Feb 2012
covers everything you need, when assessed, and what to ask, forms to use, what is the route of the problem just a shame you have to buy another book to learn how to treat it! Still a great book though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive and not useful beyond a months reading, 7 Aug 2011
By 
Daniella How (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was part of our physiotherapy course and we were in fact under the tuition of Ms Petty. It has some good information to start you out, but chapters repeat themselves far too much, especially in the introduction to each of them. Specific special questions to each area are not highlighted enough and lost in the repeated text. The layout leaves a lot to be desired as text is extensive and not user friendly. Not enough detail is covered in some areas and if you purchase this you will likely need the accompanying text about the principles of testing (by the same author).
Also to be clear it will not assist you with any diagnosis and as such is a good introductory text to assessment techniques, as are many other texts, but will not assist you as you move further into your course or work. Probably best first borrowed from your university library, and wait until you have found a more suitable text to purchase through placement or rotations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bsc Sports Therapy student, 14 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book a must for a Sports Therapist or physio student or clinician. All the major tests explained and with good diagrams. Great learning resource, the new book by this author is out! worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't include Muscle tests!, 7 July 2006
By 
Mr. Ross Kettle "BSc Sports Therapy Student" (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the synopsis for this book and was lead to believe that this would help me prepare for my practical examination and assessment of lower limb injuries. It didn't, it contains absolutely no information on manual muscle testing!!!! which is one of the core parts of examination and assessment. All the book does is refer you to other books with the muscle tests in them, in every chapter!! i was thoroughly dissapointed and am now going to have to spend another 30 pounds getting a book that includes the muscle tests.

Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review for neuromusculoskeletal examination and assessment, 8 Feb 2012
Firstly, the layout of the book is exceptional. Very simple to go through but at the same time containing very informative diagrams and tables. The photos used to demonstrate specific techniques are particularly useful. The content contained within the book is also good, containing information on how to assess and sectioning each joint into a separate chapter. However, the book does lack the more specific points on assessments but there is enough to keep you going. Overall i would definitely recommend the book for students and newly qualified professionals, especially physiotherapists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neuromusculoskeletal Examination and Assessment: A Handbook for Therapists (Physiotherapy Essentials)
Neuromusculoskeletal Examination and Assessment: A Handbook for Therapists (Physiotherapy Essentials) by Ann P. Moore PhD GraddipPhys FCSP DipTP Cert Ed MMACP (Paperback - 15 May 2001)
Used & New from: 11.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews