Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for degree level
I used this for my clinical biochem and pathology modules at uni - explains the tests, techniques, reference ranges and also goes into genetics of disease. Brilliant basically - really easy to understand and a lot of information included - also pretty thin so nice and light for dragging around lectures!
Published on 28 April 2009 by S. Tillotson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clinical Biochemistry
The product was in excellent condition and this book is a very good revision guide. However as a learning guide it is not very useful as there is not a lot of detail in the book. The case studies that ar present for every topic are fantastic as they closely relate to the kind of case studies that are received in a clinical laboratory.
Published on 27 Mar 2011 by Duchess89


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for degree level, 28 April 2009
By 
S. Tillotson (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
I used this for my clinical biochem and pathology modules at uni - explains the tests, techniques, reference ranges and also goes into genetics of disease. Brilliant basically - really easy to understand and a lot of information included - also pretty thin so nice and light for dragging around lectures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 9 Aug 2011
By 
G. Collins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
Clinical biochemistry is one of those core topics that spans across all specialties of medicine and also spans through pre-clinical through to clinical medicine, and an understanding of clinical biochemistry is absolutely crucial for the trainee doctor. During my life as a medical student, my learning experiences in lectures, in reading textbooks and on the wards does not compare to this clinical biochemistry textbook. The way it seamlessly links pre-clinical and clinical biochemistry across all specialties comes as a real breath of fresh air to me. What is often portrayed as a complex and difficult topic is made so simple and easy to grasp, with each double page spread covering a single topic. After studying that double page spread the anxiety from years of confusion is lifted and that subject is finally understood. Phew!

The reader is taught using easy-to-follow text, as well as fantastically simple images that include flow-charts, diagnostic algorithms, physiological processes, histopathology slides, graphs and chart, molecular structures and pictures of stereotypical patients. Furthermore, on nearly every double page spread is a clinical case, which calls on the reader to apply what they've learnt to a real clinical scenario (discussion of the cases are at the end of the book and are really useful). In "Clinical Biochemistry" the topics covered start with the back-to-basics approach to core biochemistry, followed up application of that knowledge in more specific sections about endocrinology and specialised investigations. I honestly couldn't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GAW, 9 April 2009
By 
Ms. K. A. Scott (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
This book is great for explaining complex biochemistry in ley terms. A great starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
This is probably one of the best books I have purchased. It is great to look at, easily digestible, concise and informative. I also have a copy of Crook's 'Clinical Chemistry and Metabolic Medicine' which is a lot more expensive and supposedly better but I find myself always referring to Gaw. Most topics are covered in an illustrated double page spread and the colour is a refreshing change and great motivator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Basic Text Book, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
Very basic book that gives a good incite into topics that you may need to further research. Found it useful for my clinical chemistry module. Covers kidney function, liver, glucose metabolism, Calcium, and other endocrinology including many other topics involved with biochemical investigations. Very good book to carry around at university as it is not too big and easy to refer to when times are desperate. Great book, but not detailed. Do not rely on this alone for your final exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book very useful, 2 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
One of my modules is Clinical Chemistry and i have 2 books however, I love this one although basic the visual representations are great and provides a great basic knowledge on the subject. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone studying the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clinical biochem, 24 Jan 2010
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
good book for my clinical biochem module. well layed out and compact. im happy with it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Basic, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
I found this book to be really basic, was disappointed with the content and would not recommend it for degree level
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clinical Biochemistry, 27 Mar 2011
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
The product was in excellent condition and this book is a very good revision guide. However as a learning guide it is not very useful as there is not a lot of detail in the book. The case studies that ar present for every topic are fantastic as they closely relate to the kind of case studies that are received in a clinical laboratory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not great, 24 Feb 2009
By 
A. King (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e (Paperback)
This book has proved useful sometimes, but doesn't go into as much depth as i would have hoped about some aspects of biochemistry. It is more of an overveiw,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e
Clinical Biochemistry: An Illustrated Colour Text, 4e by Denis St. J. O'Reilly MSc MD FRCP FRCPath (Paperback - 6 Jun 2008)
Used & New from: £8.64
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews