Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i found this book really useful for my osce's
i bought the 11th edition macleod's for my first year osce's and found it really usefull. at the beginning of each section on each system there is a nice picture of a person and a numbered list that shows you the order in which to do the exam e.g with the CV, start with general observation, then look at the hands, then the bp and pulses etc etc. and so forth. overall a...
Published on 20 July 2005 by Louise

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bought at the Begining of my Clinical Years
Literally don't think I've picked it up since first looking at it. Goes into too much detail then required on the clinical examinations and it's often just easier to run through the exams with your friends/ housemates or hop onto youtube.

Maybe if you're really rusty/going for the all out distinction (knowing like a million cause of clubbing) then I'd say it's...
Published 14 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i found this book really useful for my osce's, 20 July 2005
i bought the 11th edition macleod's for my first year osce's and found it really usefull. at the beginning of each section on each system there is a nice picture of a person and a numbered list that shows you the order in which to do the exam e.g with the CV, start with general observation, then look at the hands, then the bp and pulses etc etc. and so forth. overall a really good book, would definitely recommend the 11th edition for any year medic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck for christmas presents?!! = ), 11 Nov. 2005
Macleod's 11th edition is an exceptionally helpful learning tool for using both throughout the year for reference and more importantly when the OSCE time starts to draw closer! Admittedly, I often struggle to keep up with all the coursework and it is so easy to feel like your 6 foot under! However, I find this type of study aid a blessing!
Macleod's is extremely well organised, clear and concise which makes it very easy to refer to the exact area you want to consolidate. Each chapter introduces the particular system followed by how to take a through history and examination. The examination sequence has been constructed in a stepwise form with displaying colourful sketches of the correct technique to adapt. There is also boxed information which covers key points for differential diagnosis and what signs you should expect to find. The pictures are particularly useful when trying to learn about rare clinical conditions that you are very unlikely to be presented with on your ward teaching sessions as a medical student!
This book is especially great at helping medical students to become competent in clinical examination and history taking because it comprehensive explanations enable you to grasp a basic understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beautifully presented, detailed but not laborious, 7 Nov. 2005
I used this title for many years and have recently acquired the latest edition.
I find it useful for developing a sound base in examining patients through its cocktail of physiologica, anatomical and practical information. Its very well presented and mostly comprehensive. The new edition is actually much better; with new chapters on examining ears and children, essential stuff nowadays.
The examination routines are not particlarly practical in the way they are presented and necessitate either a good teacher or another small more focused book.

The authors have also tried to make it more OSCE and MRCP freindly by including various abbreviated examination routines for partuclar instructions.
Having sat finals, and now approaching the MRCP i have to say its not a useful book for learning short cases or long cases. Its useful as a foundation but you need other books for cases. I still consult it when i forget exactly how the JVP is measured etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step by step guide to clinical med, 31 Jan. 2008
By 
LC6 (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must have for all medical students entering their clinical years. Read it early! I only discovered the gems contained within this book when my OSCE's were approaching as it had been collecting dust on the shelf and I was kicking myself that I hadn't read it earlier. Plenty of pictures and illustrations to clarify the procedures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Companion, 12 July 2010
By 
S. Fyyaz "SAF" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macleod's Clinical Examination: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Paperback)
This is without doubt a brilliant book. In the opening chapters, I found the "History Taking" to be exceptionally well covered, it was both concise and yet detailed to help me build on the basic structure I have acquired thus far at Nottingham. I don't doubt that I will refer to this chapter in the future.
In order to make the most of this book you will need to accustom yourself with the layout, which I found initially somewhat strange if/when I referred to it sporadically but once you've read a chapter through it all makes sense. The chapter is laid out such that you are initially introduced to the system with a diagram of the body identifying areas of examination and what to look for, leading on to a refresh of the anatomy and the symptoms/definitions relevant to that chapter. In this regard it is quite comprehensive and should comfortably get you through MedSchool OSCE's.
There are numerous diagrams and tables ideal for quick reference. The diagrams in particular are excellent, they're very clear, and this sort of text would not be complete without pictures dotted around. Importantly there is no excess of laborious text, which is very handy. For those who prefer to read paragraphs of solid text, the tables/diagrams may actually be somewhat irritating although I was comfortable with it.
I used this book for my second year OSCE's and found that the videos (on the DVD) were helpful (though a couple of them are insanely formal and thus quite patronising to watch), I can't see myself using the videos a lot in the future, somehow I don't feel they are all that detailed, but for the level I am currently at it was certainly useful, I suspect this aspect will be improved in the future editions.
In conclusion this book won't fail to give you a solid foundation to start with, and consequently serves its purpose. We've heard it said before that such skills are best learnt at the bedside, though an aid like this will not go astray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Investment!, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
Ms. Z. Ahmad (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a must, I have heard of other alternatives but this is very simple and easy to get through, the terminology isn't mind boggling and they do explain basic stuff, such as why we look for certain nail pathology, so it sticks!

Definately worth buying :) will easily get you through med school (in my opinion).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for OSCEs!, 17 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Macleod's Clinical Examination: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Paperback)
This has to be the must have clinical examination book! It is an incredibly thorough book which is very well illustrated - a must in a book explaining how to perform examinations! Key information is clearly presented and the sequences to performing the exam are clearly laid out (having a systematic approach tends to be very important in OSCEs!!) The key systems to examine have quick reference reviews of how perform the relevant exam at the start of the chapter. There is also plenty of additional information in the book which should cover you for when examiners ask for the numerous causes of clubbing or whatever!

Most importantly, this new edition features a DVD!!!- The DVD includes videos of how to perform examinations of key systems. This is a useful edition as it's another way to revise for exams, however it is not a great OSCE revision resource - the examinations tend not to be very focused and it is incredibly formal (examiners like friendly doctors!) - it would also have been nice to see a section on communications and taking histories! However, on the subject of performing focused examinations - the video may be poor but the book is excellent and there are now sections in chapters which tell you what to examine in a focused exam - say if the examiner has told you to examine for a pneumothorax - you'll find a list of these in the front which is very useful.

Overall, it's a must buy!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stuck for christmas presents?!! = ), 11 Nov. 2005
Macleod's 11th edition is an exceptionally helpful learning tool for using both throughout the year for reference and more importantly when the OSCE time starts to draw closer! Admittedly, I often struggle to keep up with all the coursework and it is so easy to feel like your 6 foot under! However, I find this type of study aid a blessing!
Macleod's is extremely well organised, clear and concise which makes it very easy to refer to the exact area you want to consolidate. Each chapter introduces the particular system followed by how to take a through history and examination. The examination sequence has been constructed in a stepwise form with displaying colourful sketches of the correct technique to adapt. There is also boxed information which covers key points for differential diagnosis and what signs you should expect to find. The pictures are particularly useful when trying to learn about rare clinical conditions that you are very unlikely to be presented with on your ward teaching sessions as a medical student!
This book is especially great at helping medical students to become competent in clinical examination and history taking because it comprehensive explanations enable you to grasp a basic understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Become like Sherlock Holmes...., 17 Sept. 2009
By 
L. Robertson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macleod's Clinical Examination: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e (Paperback)
The last edition of Macleod must be a godsend for all medical students and junior doctors. Adopting a similar format to previous editions this book is a clear, consise resource teaching the art and science of clinical examintation. This edition sports even more illustrations than previous (including detailed diagrams of how to perform examinations/ellicit clinical signs and loads of photographs of abnormalities), has more chapters (including extremely useful information on the critically ill patient and confirming death) and boxes of sample OSCE scenarios (invaluable for those sitting clinical exams at both undergraduate and postgraduate level). In short this book contains everything you need to know about clinical examination! It will get you through medical finals, PACES and beyond. But more that that... have you ever made a spot diagnosis on the bus, known what was wrong in House before he did? This book is a reminder that there is an art to medicine and making diagnoses and that our reliance should be on clinical skill not batteries of tests. It brings the joy back into practicing medicine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL READING - CONFIDENCE AND COMPETENCE AT EXAMINATION, 29 Sept. 2005
I am a 4th year medical student in Scotland and find this book to be a real treasure. It is a vast improvement over the rather tiresome previous edition. Some of the same content, but far more pictures demonstrating examination technique, integration of great anatomy diagrams together with nice 'examination sequence' sections. These take you step by step through the process and make it easy to remember.The only criticism I have is that there may be too many diagrams and colour for some people who enjoy reading paragraphs of unhindered text, but for me it strikes a good balance.
Many incredible clinical pictures to remind you what exactly you are in medicine for. The pictures show many interesting signs of what you may find on examination and help you picture the signs that everyone looks for. This is the one textbook I goto when I am bored with wading through pages of black and white text. Well laid out and entertaining, it is ESSENTIAL for OSCE revision. Combining the vital points of history and examination, it will help you feel more confident when the big day comes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macleod's Clinical Examination: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e
Macleod's Clinical Examination: With STUDENT CONSULT Online Access, 12e by Graham Douglas BSc(Hons) MBChB FRCP(Ed) (Paperback - 11 Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £13.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews